The Camel Bookmobile

by Masha Hamilton

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Book Club Recommendations eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Camel Bookmobile

An idealistic American girl is swept up in the passion of taking the written word to the African tribes of Kenya, and joins a mobile library scheme. We are introduced to each important character chapter by chapter. Simple stories unfold, some full of ancient lore, some full of longing, some with just contented people once happy with their lot, now bewildered. Initially I thought this had the easy charm of Alexander McCall Smith’s Botswana series but then it turned into something a great deal deeper as the argument for and against educating a semi-nomadic tribe and introducing them to Western ideas developed. It is an impressive tale, simply told and highly recommended.


Comparison: Alexander McCall Smith, Tony Hillerman, Marilyn Heward Mills.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Camel Bookmobile Synopsis

A superb novel of a travelling library, the Kenyan landscape - and the threat to a fragile way of life. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith Deep in the heart of the dusty Kenyan desert a train of heavily laden camels wind their way slowly through the bush. The camels are not carrying grain or medical supplies, but books of every imaginable variety. Into the remote nomadic settlement of Mididima comes an unexpected wealth of literature - tips for surviving an avalanche, the adventures of Tom Sawyer, vegetarian cookbooks - and all are eagerly devoured under the blazing Kenyan sunshine. Volunteer Fi Sweeney, her heart filled with passion and possibilities, is surprised to discover that the project divides friends and neighbours. To Kanika, who reads every book she can lay her hands on, the Camel Bookmobile brings hope. But to some it represents the inevitable destruction of a fragile way of life ...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781474615754
Publication date: 9th January 2020
Author: Masha Hamilton
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Recommendations:
Win One of Ten Hardback Copies of Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun

Win One of Ten Hardback Copies of Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun

Closing date: 11/11/2021

"Taking in the absurdities of life, misfortune and tragedy, Kwon Yeo-sun’s Lemon is an engaging, read-in-one-sitting novella of remarkable intensity." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of Lemon, we have 10 hardback copies of Lemon to give away thanks to Head of Zeus.  This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 11th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Camel Bookmobile

Of Mice and Men
The Red Tent
Thin Blue Smoke
26a

Masha Hamilton Press Reviews

'Hamilton vividly sketches the landscape of Africa the novel's greatest strength is in the way it puts forward a balanced argument about the significance of the written word, capturing its power to delight and liberate at the same time as acknowledging its limitations in a world where shelter and food are not certainties.' NEW STATESMAN

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781474615754
Publication date: 09/01/2020
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780753823828
Publication date: 12/06/2008
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Masha Hamilton

Masha Hamilton worked as a foreign correspondent for The Associated Press for five years in the Middle East, where she covered the intefadeh, the peace process and the partial Israeli withdrawal from Lebanon. Then she spent five years in Moscow, where she was a Moscow correspondent for the Los Angeles Times, wrote a newspaper column, "Postcard from Moscow," that ran in about 35 U.S. newspapers, and reported for NBC/Mutual Radio. She wrote about Kremlin politics as well as life for average Russians under Gorbachev and Yeltsin during the coup and collapse of the Soviet Union. She traveled to Afghanistan ...

More About Masha Hamilton

More Books By Masha Hamilton

The Camel Bookmobile
View All Books By Masha Hamilton

Share this book