The Sonnet Lover

by Carol Goodman

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Sonnet Lover

This has all the hallmarks of being a major success and it would come as no surprise were it to be made into a film. Written in a deftly assured manner it brings together passion and love, fantasy and legend - just who was the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets - as well as a chillingly suspicious death - had gifted student stumbled upon a literary coup worth killing for - with poetry from the great Bard himself. Incredibly atmospheric of time and place it criss crosses between both America and Italy until with bone-chilling intensity this seductive literary thriller reaches its climax. Fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth and Donna Tartt's Secret History will love it.

The Sonnet Lover Synopsis

As an undergraduate, Renaissance poetry lecturer Dr Rose Asher spent a year in Tuscany at the villa La Civetta and it was there that Rose began an ill-fated affair, with her married tutor. But when Rose's most gifted student, Robin Weiss, dies in mysterious circumstances - and amid accusations of plagiarism - Rose finds herself reluctantly agreeing to return. The villa was once the home of sixteenth-century poet Ginevra de Laura. Local legend insists that Ginevra is the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets. Robin's screenplay goes further - suggesting Shakespeare's love affair was conducted on Italian soil. But if Robin had discovered proof of Shakespeare's connections to La Civetta, was it a literary coup worth killing for?

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

If you loved this, you might like these...

Strange the Dreamer
In the Days of Rain
A Shiver of Light
Dreams of Gods and Monsters

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780749939007
Publication date: 03/07/2008
Publisher: Piatkus Books
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780749938314
Publication date: 05/07/2007
Publisher: Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd
Format: Paperback (c Format)

Book Information

ISBN: 9780749939007
Publication date: 3rd July 2008
Author: Carol Goodman
Publisher: Piatkus Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman graduated from Vassar College, where she majored in Latin. After teaching Latin for several years, she studied for an MFA in fiction. Her writing has been published in a number of literary magazines. She currently teaches writing and lives in Long Island, USA.   Author photo © Brian Velenchenko

More About Carol Goodman

More Books By Carol Goodman

Cover for Dark Possession: The Angel Stone by Carol Goodman
Cover for Incubus by Carol Goodman
Cover for The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman
View All Books By Carol Goodman

Share this book