Solstice at Stonewylde

by Kit Berry

eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

LoveReading View on Solstice at Stonewylde

The third in this series of paganism, folklore and magical happenings will not disappoint fans of the first two novels. These need to be read in order so don’t skip the first two in the Stonewylde series.


The Stonewylde series:-

1) Magus of Stonewylde
2) Moondance of Stonewylde
3/ Solstice at Stonewylde

Solstice at Stonewylde Synopsis

Solstice at Stonewylde continues the story of Sylvie and Yul, their developing love for each other, and their battle to survive the cruelty and domination of Magus. Yul was left hovering at the gates of death in the last book – now he is subjected to a terrifying ordeal in the Stone Circle at Samhain (Hallowe’en) as Magus attempts to negate the old prophecy.


The Villagers rally around Yul and ill-feeling towards Magus grows, fuelled by his appalling treatment of his own son. The evil Jackdaw returns to help Magus, now that Alwyn has fallen so ill. Yul has somehow, against all odds, blossomed into a strong young man with a will of steel and a burning passion for justice. His boyish charms have developed into something more adult, and his love for Sylvie runs deep. Desperate to keep her safe from Magus at the full moon, Yul inadvertently harms her himself. Sylvie has many problems to contend with; a concerted effort by Magus to undermine her self-confidence, and increasing hostility from the Hallfolk girls. After Yul’s apparent rough treatment of her at the Owl Moon, her faith in him is destroyed. Their young love falters as Sylvie becomes entranced by Magus’ charms.


Magus has been grooming Sylvie carefully, heaping luxury and privilege on her so that his true intentions are masked. Mother Heggy, the old crone, helps Yul to maintain his resolve – to overthrow Magus at the time of the Winter Solstice. But the wise woman has her own worries. She repeatedly sees five in everything, and knows that there will be five deaths at the Solstice. The question is – whose?


Sylvie, glittering with diamonds and starved into submission, realises her mistake in trusting Magus. But too late. She’s in his clutches and then his real unspeakable intentions are revealed. Clip rallies round and finally learns to challenge his evil half-brother, but is it too late? Is Magus unstoppable, now that his clever manipulation of the situation has ensured Sylvie’s compliance?

As the Winter Solstice approaches the tension mounts unbearably. The reader is held on a knife-edge as the plot gallops away, drawing in the characters towards a truly explosive climax. And as for those five deaths – they’re not who the reader would imagine and come as quite a shock. This third title does not disappoint, and exceeds the first two books in thoroughly ensnaring the reader in a web of intrigue and page-turning apprehension.

If you loved this, you might like these...

My Absolute Darling
Bad Blood
My Year of Rest and Relaxation
The Lost Letters of William Woolf

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780955143939
Publication date: 31/10/2007
Publisher: Moongazy Publishing
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780955143939
Publication date: 31st October 2007
Author: Kit Berry
Publisher: Moongazy Publishing
Format: Paperback
Genres: eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction,

About Kit Berry

Kit Berry was a Dorset school teacher for many years and found inspiration in the magical landscape all around her. She was interested in paganism, traditional rural crafts and folklore, and her research led her to create a series of books based in an enclosed community hidden away in Dorset. She is now a full time author, her children grown up, and she has recently remarried and moved to Reading, Berks. She is currently working on the fourth novel in the series of five.

More About Kit Berry

More Books By Kit Berry

Cover for Moondance of Stonewylde by Kit Berry
Cover for Magus of Stonewylde by Kit Berry
View All Books By Kit Berry

Share this book