10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Leeward

View All Editions

£9.99 £8.99

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

About

Leeward Synopsis

For whatever we lose, it is our self we find in the sea.

'The best swashbuckler of the year ... There are echoes of Horatio Hornblower in Nightingale's introspection and doubts. The gay love story is beautifully written and the evocation of life on board the Scylla is equally good' The Times

'An extraordinary work, absolutely breathtaking ... it beggars belief' Conn Iggulden, New York Times & Sunday Times bestselling author

'Achingly beautiful. A delightful, romantic, queer historical adventure' Mackenzi Lee, New York Times bestselling author

Captain Hiram Nightingale is a veteran of the wars which have raged throughout Europe and the Americas. But a grand victory at the Battle of the Nile in 1798 comes at a devastating cost. Plagued by wounds both physical and mental, he attempts to recover by accepting command of HMS Scylla. His task is to hunt down a mutinous ship and bring the crew to justice.

However, it soon becomes clear that the mission is just one danger in an immense web. Nightingale finds himself in the middle of a network of secrets that will affect everyone onboard the Scylla. He has to battle against the perils of the war-torn seas, a crew who he fears does not accept him, and meddling, powerful figures from his past.

And in the centre of all this, his new lieutenant, the popular Arthur Courtney, stirs up long repressed feelings. On his journey, Nightingale must confront his own demons. For it seems, during his dangerous adventure, his greatest enemy might just be himself.

A deeply poignant tale of naval warfare, political intrigue and a love between two men that stands tall in an unaccepting world. Perfect for fans of Hornblower, Sharpe and Outlander.

Praise for Leeward

'There is a weight of human insight here that is quite dazzling. A story told with such panache deserves a bestseller mass audience' Conn Iggulden

'One of the best debut novels I have read in many years. A magnificent, compelling read' Ben Kane, Sunday Times bestselling author

'Profound, intricate, artful. A truly original story of forbidden love and adventure. I urge you to sail into the storm!' A. J. West, Sunday Times bestselling author

'A stunning book. In an utterly authentic voice, Katie Daysh brings to life the terrifying power of the sea, and the bonds of both love and duty that tie a captain to his ship' Damion Hunter, author of Shadow of the Eagle

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781804365700
Publication date: 2nd November 2023
Author: Katie Daysh
Publisher: Canelo Adventure an imprint of Canelo
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Series: Nightingale & Courtney
Primary Genre Political / Legal Thrillers
Other Genres:

You Might Also Like...

Scarlet Town

Leonora Nattrass

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

City of Ghosts

Ben Creed

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

The Eagle and the Cockerel

Alan Rhode

Hardback

In Stock

£15.29 £16.99

The Judge's List

John Grisham

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

City on Fire

Don Winslow

Paperback

In Stock

£8.99 £9.99

The Pelican Brief

John Grisham

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99