Femlandia

by Christina Dalcher

Dystopian Fiction Modern and Contemporary Fiction Action Adventure Thriller and Suspense Literary Fiction Books of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Femlandia

Another twisty turny rollercoaster ride of emotion and thought-provoking themes.

In this her third dystopian thriller, Dalcher gives another chilling look into an alternative future where a woman and her daughter seek refuge in a women-only colony after the country sinks into total economic collapse.

Darker than her other reads, but still female-centric and speculative, this tells the tale of widowed Miranda Reynolds and her sixteen-year-old Emma whose only hope for survival is Femlandia, a male-free colony set up decades earlier by Miranda's estranged mother. 

It's another twisty turny rollercoaster ride of emotion and thought-provoking themes. It's raw, it's disturbing in places, the characters are incredibly flawed and I flew through it at pace. Pulled in from the very first few pages and hooked until the end, for me Dalcher is firmly becoming the queen of speculative fiction.

LoveReading

Femlandia Synopsis

The explosive new thriller from the bestselling author of VOX and Q

Miranda Reynolds has lost her home, her job and her husband - all thanks to an economic collapse that has brought America to its knees.

The shops are empty; the streets no longer safe. Miranda and her daughter Emma have nowhere left to turn.

There is one final hope, a self-sufficient haven for women who want to live a life free from men. Femlandia.

For Miranda, the secluded Femlandia is a last resort. Life outside the gates is fraught with danger, but there's something just as sinister going on within.

Welcome to Femlandia... It's no place like home.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008440329
Publication date: 28th October 2021
Author: Christina Dalcher
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 336 pages
Primary Genre Dystopian Fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After Femlandia

The Power
The Measure
The Bees
My Name Is Monster

Christina Dalcher Press Reviews

'The queen of dystopia.' Nina Pottell, Prima

Provocative, sinister, and fascinating, Femlandia is full of complicated characters, with a gripping plot to boot. I read it with my breath held, unable to stop until I'd reached the explosive ending. You will definitely want to discuss this one with your book club.' Stephanie Wrobel, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Recovery of Rose Gold

'Shocking, provocative, subversive, Femlandia is a fantasy of female empowerment that curdles into a nightmare. At once a breathless thriller and an astute study of the dangers of dogma, Femlandia proves once again that Christina Dalcher is not afraid to touch the third rail.' Kia Abdullah

'A story of what can happen when the darker, more controlling side of humanity takes over - something this author does so well - it's both gripping and terrifyingly disturbing in equal measures.' Lisa Hall

'A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Naomi

Alderman's The Power, and Kim Liggett's The Grace Year.' Library Journal

'Engrossing. Dalcher's novel is imaginative, urgent, and compulsively readable, not mention incredibly cool.' Amanda Montell, author of Wordslut and Cultish

Praise for Christina Dalcher

VOX

'Intelligent, suspenseful, provocative, and intensely disturbing' LEE CHILD

'A petrifying reimagining of The Handmaid's Tale' ELLE

'Extraordinary' LOUISE O'NEILL

'A fast-paced, twisting thriller that left me speechless.' DAILY MAIL

Q

'Terrifyingly plausible... I devoured it in a single day' LOUISE CANDLISH

'Powerful, devastating, shocking, brilliant' WOMAN & HOME

'a master class in dark dystopian fiction' ALICE FEENEY

'Shocking . . . A powerful tale' COSMOPOLITAN

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008440329
Publication date: 28/10/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Christina Dalcher

Christina Dalcher earned her doctorate in theoretical linguistics from Georgetown University, specializing in the phonetics of sound change in Italian and British dialects. She and her husband split their time between the American South and Naples, Italy. VOX is her debut novel.

More About Christina Dalcher

More Books By Christina Dalcher

Femlandia
Femlandia
Femlandia
View All Books By Christina Dalcher

Share this book