Edge of the Grave

by Robbie Morrison

Part of the Jimmy Dreghorn series Series

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Crime and Mystery Historical fiction Thriller and Suspense Literary Fiction

Edge of the Grave Synopsis

Shortlisted for The Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year 2021 Longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2021 and the HWA Debut Crown 2021 

Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city's wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case - despite sharing a troubled history with the victim's widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow's gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner 'Bonnie' Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer - or lose his own life in the process?

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529054033
Publication date: 2nd September 2021
Author: Robbie Morrison
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Win a Bitter Lemon Press book bundle!

Closing date: 07/11/2021

We are teaming up with translated crime fiction aficionados Bitter Lemon Press to offer a brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include a copy of all six 2021 releases. The titles up for grabs are: Crocodile Tears by Mercedes Rosende The Measure of Time by Gianrico Carofiglio How To Betray Your Country by James Wolff The Basel Killings by Hansjo?rg Schneider The Transparency of Time by Leonardo Padura The Foreign Girls by Sergio Olguín This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 7th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After Edge of the Grave

The Book of Air and Shadows
The Dead Can Wait
The Crystal Crypt
The Printer's Coffin

Robbie Morrison Press Reviews

A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city and the men and women who live and die in it. I can't wait to spend some more time with Jimmy Dreghorn and Archie McDaid. Robbie Morrison has produced an astounding debut -- Mark Billingham

A mesmerizing debut - raw, brutally violent but immensely human. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off -- Peter James, number one bestselling author of the DS Roy Grace series

Robbie Morrison serves up a delicious slice of 30s gangster noir set in the grim and greasy, sodden and savage streets of Glasgow when it was the Empire's Second City. Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read -- Adrian McKinty, bestselling author of The Chain

A Glaswegian version of Peaky Blinders, with razor gangs brawling in the street and festering family secrets . . . it's a dark and powerful story - Sunday Times

A hugely impressive debut - Evening Standard

Wonderfully gritty, violent and nasty in all the right ways -- James Oswald, bestselling author of the Inspector McLean series

The atmosphere Morrison conjures is so captivating it's hard to believe this is his debut crime novel . . . You should grab Edge of the Grave at the soonest opportunity. This is without doubt the most evocative and engaging Scottish crime novel we've come across in a very long time -- Crime Fiction Lover Brilliant - The Times

Meticulously researched and dripping with violence, written with brutal panache -- Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year, The Other Mrs Walker

Sharp and lethal as a cut-throat razor. Deeply researched, with strong characterisation and a fluent narrative, Robbie Morrison's first novel is a book to savour -- John Harvey, bestselling author of the Charlie Resnick novels

1930s Glasgow portrayed in all its ragged glory -- Alan Parks

Robbie Morrison really is a breath of fresh creative air in crime fiction. Edge of the Grave is a stunning debut: razor sharp prose and a superbly crafted sense of place and time. A great Glaswegian page-turner: I could smell the smog and feel the grit throughout -- Craig Russell, author of the LENNOX series

The dark heart of 1930s gangland Glasgow is brought back to vivid, violent life in Robbie Morrison's brilliant first novel. Fast moving and evocative, the prose cuts like a razor, straight through to the heart -- Martyn Waites

Fantastic historical crime thriller set in 1930s Glasgow with a great detective duo and loads of brilliant period detail - poverty, wealth, gangs, religion and so much more -- Amer Anwar

Powerful and moving . . . Morrison's portrait of Glasgow and its denizens - both the vicious and the virtuous - is superb - Literary Review

This deftly plotted novel is a more than worthy successor to William McIlvanney's Laidlaw novels: the title is a homage to them. I am very glad that this book is the first in a projected series - Historical Novel Society

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529054033
Publication date: 02/09/2021
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781529054019
Publication date: 04/03/2021
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

More Books By Robbie Morrison

Edge of the Grave
Edge of the Grave
Edge of the Grave
View All Books By Robbie Morrison

Share this book