LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Coffin Cove

by Jackie Elliott

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Crime and Mystery Thriller and Suspense Literary Fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Coffin Cove

Living up to its arresting title, this female-fronted thriller boasts a richness of tension, twists and murderous mystery.

With a title like Coffin Cove - arresting and in-your-face-evocative - readers will most likely come to this thriller with high expectations, and Jackie Elliott certainly doesn’t disappoint in delivering a gripping, twisty, murder mystery set around the seen-better-days backwater fishing village of Coffin Cove.

The first in an eponymous series, we’re introduced to former rising star investigative journalist Andrea Silvers (Andi) in the messy aftermath of her being let go by the newspaper she worked for - and by her lover. As a result, Andi’s taken herself to Coffin Cove on the Vancouver coast, and taken a job at the local rag, the Coffin Cove Gazette. Brooding over the fact that she’d screwed up an assignment at her last job (hence her sacking), and angry at her lot (and the world), Andi’s first day in her new job takes an unusual turn when two dead sea lions wash up - they’ve been shot, which is a federal offence. What’s more, as her new boss explains, “this is the biggest story for the Gazette in twenty years. Looks like you arrived in Coffin Cove at exactly the right time.”

Andi is a classic flawed investigator - a heavy-drinking, do-whatever-it-takes kind of reporter, and both her backstory and present-day personal strife provide plenty of intrigue. Then there’s the mystery itself - what links the dead sea lions to the murder of a teenage girl that took place 20 years ago? Amidst an escalating situation (another body turns up), the author takes time to create a strong sense of place, and to bring her cast of characters to life, making for a novel that’s as driven by detail as it is by pace and the riveting unravelling of a murder mystery.

Joanne Owen

Coffin Cove Synopsis

AN ADDICTIVE MUST-READ WHODUNNIT FROM THE NEWEST TALENT IN CRIME FICTION

A new life.

A new town.

A dead body.

Andrea “Andi” Silvers needs a fresh start. Once a star reporter, she’s been dumped by her lover and by the paper they both worked at.

Andi moves to the tiny fishing village of Coffin Cove, on the Vancouver coast, where she lands a job at the local Gazette. Expecting bake sales and unpaid parking tickets to be the biggest news items, she quickly discovers the small town holds dark secrets.

Two sea lions wash up on the shore. They’ve been shot dead. Activists point the finger at local fishermen. Then things get far worse . . .

A dead body turns up.

How does it all relate to a fifteen-year-old girl’s tragic death twenty years ago? The girl was found drowned with her arms and legs tied together.

The deeper Andi digs, the more dirt she finds.

Discover a web of murder and mystery laced with humour and a thread of romance in this fast-paced whodunnit set on the gorgeous coast of Western Canada.

Fans of Joy Ellis, L.J. Ross, Peter Robinson, Thomas King, Louise Penny and Shari Lapena will devour this mesmerizing debut crime thriller.

About This Edition

ISBN: B09166V4F7
Publication date: 8th April 2021
Author: Jackie Elliott
Publisher: Joffe Books
Format: Ebook
Primary Genre Crime and Mystery
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

What To Read After Coffin Cove

The Silent Listener
Knife Edge
Hades
The Last Snow

Other editions of this book

ISBN: B09166V4F7
Publication date: 08/04/2021
Format: Ebook

ISBN: 9781789317541
Publication date: 06/04/2021
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

Share this book