Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more


by Garth Nix

Part of the The Old Kingdom Series

Sci-Fi and Fantasy

LoveReading View on Abhorsen

This absorbing sensational trilogy finishes with ‘Abhorsen’ directly continuing the story from ‘Lirael’ and the powerful prologue sets the pace of this novel, so hold on tight! Lirael, Sam and their oh so wonderfully intriguing companions continue to battle the force of evil that is attempting to annihilate their world. Nix has been steadily accelerating the chill of foreboding, Lirael and Sam are learning quickly but will it be enough? Prepare yourself, prepare for shock and sorrow, prepare for a compelling and utterly overwhelming ending…

‘Clariel’, the prequel to this trilogy and set 600 years before ‘Sabriel’ starts is a wonderful glimpse into the past and an absolute must for anyone who has loved The Old Kingdom.

Liz Robinson

Abhorsen Synopsis

Besieged on all sides, Lirael, Sameth and the Disreputable Dog are in for the fight of their lives. Chlorr of the Mask, under the control of the enormously powerful Necromancer Hedge, is determined to free Orannis the Destroyer - the greatest and most powerful Free Magic creature in the history of the Old Kingdom.

Only Lirael, newly come into her inheritance as the Abhorsen-in-Waiting, and only just beginning to understand her powers as a Remembrancer, has any chance of stopping the Destroyer - although she has no idea how. To make matters worse, Sameth's best friend, Nick, seems to be helping the Destroyer, and there has been no word from the Abhorsen Sabriel or King Touchstone for days.

With only a vision from the Clayr to guide her, and the rather mixed help of her companions, Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the Destroyer. The Old Kingdom - and the world - is depending on her...

If you loved this, you might like these...

Bear Head
The Thief on the Winged Horse
Starve Acre

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471409677
Publication date: 03/09/2020
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471409677
Publication date: 3rd September 2020
Author: Garth Nix
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Genres: Sci-Fi and Fantasy,
Categories: Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage),

About Garth Nix

Garth Nix was born in 1963 in Melbourne, Australia. A full-time writer since 2001, he has worked as a literary agent, marketing consultant, book editor, book publicist, book sales representative, bookseller, and a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve. Garth's books include the award-winning fantasy novels SABRIEL, LIRAEL and ABHORSEN and the science fiction novels SHADE'S CHILDREN and A CONFUSION OF PRINCES. His fantasy novels for children include THE RAGWITCH; the six books of THE SEVENTH TOWER sequence; THE KEYS TO THE KINGDOM series; and with Sean Williams, the TROUBLETWISTERS books and SPIRIT ANIMALS: BLOOD TIES. More than five million copies ...

More About Garth Nix

More Books By Garth Nix

Cover for Lirael by Garth Nix
Cover for Sabriel by Garth Nix
Cover for Clariel by Garth Nix
View All Books By Garth Nix

Share this book