LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Ashes Synopsis

A deeply touching novel about two young women whose differences, which once united them, will tear them apart forever, during Hitler's Nazi occupation of Belgium and France. Based on true events.

For fans of All The Light We Cannot See and Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Belgium, July 1939: Simone Lyon is the daughter of a Belgium national hero, the famous General Joseph Lyon. Her best friend Hava Daniels, is the eldest daughter of a devout Jewish family. Despite growing up in different worlds, they are inseparable.

But when, in the spring of 1940, Nazi planes and tanks begin bombing Brussels, their resilience and strength are tested. Hava and Simone find themselves caught in the advancing onslaught and are forced to flee.

In an emotionally-charged race for survival, even the most harrowing horrors cannot break their bonds of love and friendship. The two teenage girls, will see their innocence fall, against the ugly backdrop of a war dictating that theirs was a friendship that should never have been.

Ashes Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

A story of friendship, loyalty and the horrors of war. Full review

Sue Packer

Ashes by Christoper De Vinck is following the trend to read about all things from world War Two but is told from a different perspective. An interesting read and should do well. Full review

Glenda WORTH

A beautiful, emotional telling of two young women's journey to escape the Nazi invasion. Full review

Neil Williams

Ashes is a poignant read with a message that we must never forget. Full review

Heather Byrne

A descriptive story showing the joys and horror of friendship, loyalty and war. Full review

Rebecca Unsworth

A deeply moving novel about friendship, and survival, that will stay with me for a very long time. Full review

Lisa Rowsell

An emotionally charged tale of friendship and courage against adversity. Based on real events in the authors' family history. An emotional, but unmissable story. Full review

Vanessa Breaks

Ashes was inspired by the experiences of the author’s family members during the invasion of Belgium in WWII. The Nazis invaded Belgium in May 1940 and within hours there was a mass exodus of people trying to flee Brussels. Full review

Alison Burns

A fascinating and captivating read about the horrors of World War Two that touches your heart. Full review

Nicola Coen

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Saracen's Mark
Hamnet
The Mirror and the Light
House on Endless Waters

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780310111986
Publication date: 28/05/2020
Publisher: Harper Inspire an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780310111986
Publication date: 28th May 2020
Author: Christopher de Vinck
Publisher: Harper Inspire an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Debuts of the Month, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical fiction,

About Christopher de Vinck

Christopher de Vinck is a teacher and the author of eleven books and numerous articles and essays for publications such as the Wall Street Journal and Reader's Digest. He delivers speeches on faith, disabilities, fatherhood, and writing, and has been invited to speak at the Vatican. He is the father of three and lives in New Jersey with his wife. His essays on everyday life have been published in the Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, USA Today, Reader's Digest, Good Housekeeping, The Chicago Tribune, The Dallas Morning News, The National Catholic Reporter, and used in high school and ...

More About Christopher de Vinck

Share this book