Louise Fein - Author

About the Author

Louise Fein holds an MA in Creative Writing from St Mary's University. Prior to studying for her master's, she ran a commodity consultancy business following a career in banking and law. She lives in Surrey with her family. People Like Us is inspired by her family history, and by the alarming parallels she sees between the early 30s and today.

Featured books by Louise Fein

The Hidden Child

The Hidden Child

Author: Louise Fein Format: Paperback Release Date: 12/05/2022

Thought-provoking, challenging, and hugely compassionate, this historical family drama pierces emotions as it combines fact and fiction. Eleanor and Edward Hamilton have a bright future in the eugenics movement, however their world begins to crumble when their daughter is diagnosed with epilepsy. Author Louise Fein takes a difficult subject and creates a world that feels all too real. The eugenics movement, which was widespread in the UK and US before it moved to Nazi Germany is difficult to fully process. The thoughts of the time seem so very distant, and yet look around today and more than echoes remain which ensures this is a riveting yet disturbing theme. The personification of epilepsy as it travels alongside the family is interesting and creates an intimacy. The main characters feel incredibly authentic, they couldn’t be anything other than flawed, yet the writing is such that you can still connect with them. The inclusion of real characters alongside what has obviously been meticulous research ensures this novel creates an unsettling edge, and yet hope blossoms. The fascinating Author’s Note brings even more understanding. The Hidden Child is a touching and powerfully compelling story as it explores a time in history that should never be forgotten. 

Liz Robinson's Picks of the Month
People Like Us

People Like Us

Author: Louise Fein Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/03/2021

Powerful and poignant, moving and provocative, this beautifully eloquent novel is set before and during the Second World War. People Like Us highlights love, humanity and kindness in the terrifying face of intolerance and hate. Hetty’s father is an SS officer and she passionately believes in Hitler, as anti-semitism grows Hetty finds herself falling in love with Walter. Walter is blonde and blue-eyed, Walter saved her life when she was seven, Walter was best friends with her brother who has joined the Luftwaffe, Walter is a Jew. Hetty narrates her own story, creating a bond, a link to this child who is raised as a Nazi. Louise Fein builds Hetty’s world for us from 1933, I could feel Hetty growing through the years, her voice changing as her thoughts formed, hesitated, altered. Hetty and Walter are relatable, believable, touchable. It is absolutely fascinating to see this life, from this viewpoint, one that you can consider and wonder, ‘what if that had been me’. People Like Us was: “inspired by [the author’s] own family history, and by the alarming parallels she sees between the early thirties and today”. The author’s note at the end sent goosebumps shivering down my arms. As well as being a stunner of a read (you may want tissues handy), People Like Us has huge impact and deservedly sits as a LoveReading Star Book and Debut of the Month, this is one to climb the rooftops and shout about.

Audiobooks of the Month

Other books by Louise Fein

The Hidden Child

The Hidden Child

Author: Louise Fein Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/09/2021

*An International Bestseller from the author of People Like Us, shortlisted for the RSL Christopher Bland Prize and the RNA Historical Romantic Novel Award 2021* From the outside, Eleanor and Edward Hamilton have the perfect life, but they're harbouring a secret that threatens to fracture their entire world. London, 1929. Eleanor Hamilton is a dutiful mother, a caring sister and an adoring wife to a celebrated war hero. Her husband, Edward, is a pioneer in the eugenics movement. The Hamiltons are on the social rise, and it looks as though their future is bright. When Mabel, their young daughter, begins to develop debilitating seizures, they have to face an uncomfortable truth: Mabel has epilepsy - one of the 'undesirable' conditions that Edward campaigns against. Forced to hide their daughter away so as to not jeopardise Edward's life's work, the couple must confront the truth of their past - and the secrets that have been buried. Will Eleanor and Edward be able to fight for their family? Or will the truth destroy them? 'Shocking, emotive, and compelling, but ultimately a story of hope. I loved it' - Deborah Carr, bestselling author of The Poppy Field 'A poignant rendering of love and motherhood, human frailty and redemption, exquisitely told against the backdrop of the unthinkable... Fein deftly takes the reader back to a terrifying turning point in history and, with grace and compassion, reminds us of the importance of standing up for what we believe in our souls to be true' - Judithe Little, bestselling author of The Chanel Sisters 'The Hidden Child is the thought-provoking and compelling tale of one family and the battle to survive their daughter's illness. A reminder that ordinary people can so often be responsible for some of the most shocking episodes in history' - Louise Hare, bestselling author of This Lovely City 'An astonishing story about an aspect of British history that's long been swept under the carpet - surprising, moving and poignant' - Frances Quinn, bestselling author of The Smallest Man 'I was completely under its spell in this powerful, engaging, and ultimately heart-warming story. Bravo, Louise you've done it again!' - Gill Thompson, author of The Oceans Between Us 'The Hidden Child is a fascinating and thought-provoking story which is hard to put down' - Caroline Bishop, author of The Other Daughter 'The Hidden Child is a story of hope and redemption, of humanity and growth... both intimate and universal in scope. I loved this compelling read and its complex, flawed, but deeply human characters' - Addison Armstrong, author of The Light of Luna Park

People Like Us

People Like Us

Author: Louise Fein Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/08/2020

Shortlisted for the RSL Christopher Bland Prize and the RNA Historical Romantic Novel Award 2021 'A compelling tale of forbidden love set in 1930's Leipzig' Independent 'Terrifying, yet tender. I loved it' Irish Examiner 'Heart-breaking, thought-provoking story' Adele Parks 'I nearly drowned and Walter rescued me. That changes everything.'Leipzig, 1930s Germany Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it. Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew. Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself... Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief. Why people love People Like Us:'People Like Us is also a reminder that - even in the darkest times - the extraordinary power of love can light the way' Fiona Valpy 'A powerful, unforgettable love story' Gill Paul 'A heartbreaking, beautiful story' Jenny Ashcroft 'This is historical fiction at its absolute best' Liz Trenow 'An outstanding and heart-breaking story of Nazism seen from the 'other side': blind indoctrination is transformed into true heroism by the power of love' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter 'People Like Us is part romance, part character study, part call to arms' Lizzie Page 'People Like Us is an incredibly moving, utterly captivating, beautiful story of love, courage, and the strength of the human spirit. It was both heartbreaking and hopeful at once. The ending had me in tears' Rhiannon Navin 'A heartbreaking and thought-provoking story about forbidden love during Nazi Germany. Had me gripped to the very end' Luke Allnutt, author of We Own the Sky 'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more