LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Run, Rebel

by Manjeet Mann

'new gen' - Great Books for Young Adults Family Drama Poetry Sharing Diverse Voices

LoveReading View on Run, Rebel

This debut novel was inspired by the author’s work creating Run the World, an organisation that empowers women and girls from marginalised backgrounds through sport and storytelling and the authenticity of this, at times harrowing story, is palpably evident. As is the skill of the accomplished writing which makes great use of typography and layout to really make every word count. This speeds the reader through the narrative, but it also cuts deep to reveal the emotions experienced by our narrator.

Amber Rai is only ‘truly alive’ when running and shows great potential. But her alcoholic, abusive, misogynistic father refuses to allow her on the track. She has seen her older sister Ruby denied university and married off against her will and her downtrodden, abused mother is literally powerless to help, trapped as much by illiteracy and lack of English as the violence of her equally illiterate, unemployed husband. Amber has friends and teachers who believe in her, but she cannot explain what really goes on at home. She is a complex and believable character with very real flaws that she painfully recognises: ‘inflicting pain on others/halves your own hurt’. 

But the story is cleverly structured on The Anatomy of a Revolution and inspired by her reading about revolutions for history, Amber, Ruby and her mother gradually empower each other to take small steps to freedom. This is an important, rewarding, highly empathetic read which, despite the dark subject matter, offers hope but no simplistic solutions.

Joy Court

Run, Rebel Synopsis

I am restless, my feet need to fly.

Amber is trapped - by her father's rules, by his expectations, by her own fears. Now she's ready to fight - for her mother, for her sister, for herself.

Freedom always comes at a price. Run, Rebel is a trailblazing verse novel that thunders with rhythm, heart and soul - perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Elizabeth Acevedo and Rupi Kaur.

Win a Signed Copy Of Witch!

Win a Signed Copy Of Witch!

Closing date: 01/11/2020

To celebrate the release of the debut YA novel Witch by Finbar Hawkins we have 5 signed copies to give away!  "A gobble-it-up fiery and intense yet thoughtful debut novel about family, betrayal, and witchcraft." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st November 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Run, Rebel Press Reviews

Praise for Manjeet Mann’s Stage Work;

A powerful piece   ArtsScene 

Honest and raw  Salisbury Journal 

Touching and poignant  FemaleArts 

A justly furious rallying call   WhatsOnBirmingham

Rhythmic and conversational   BehindTheArras

Moving, inspiring and challenging    Redbrick 

If you loved this, you might like these...

Cane Warriors
Witch
Punching the Air
Mad, Bad & Dangerous to Know

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241411421
Publication date: 05/03/2020
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241411421
Publication date: 5th March 2020
Author: Manjeet Mann
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 496 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Family Drama, Poetry, Diverse Voices,
Categories: Poetry (Children's / Teenage), Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage), School stories (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: self-awareness & self-esteem (Children's / Teenage),

About Manjeet Mann

Manjeet is an actress, playwright, screenwriter and director. She is the founder of Run The World - an organization that works with women and girls from marginalized backgrounds and helps to empower them through sport and storytelling. She lives in Kent.

More About Manjeet Mann

Share this book