LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Firewatching

by Russ Thomas

Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

Firewatching Synopsis

ONE WRONG MOVE

A body is found bricked into the walls of a house. From the state of the hands, it's clear the dead man was buried alive. Soon, the victim is linked to an old missing person's case and DS Adam Tyler is called.

WILL IGNITE

As the sole representative of South Yorkshire's Cold Case Review Unit, Tyler recognises his role for what it is - a means of keeping him out of the way following an 'incident'. When this case falls in his lap, he grabs the opportunity to fix his stagnating career.

THE CITY

And then Tyler discovers he has a connection to the case that hopelessly compromises him. He makes the snap decision not to tell his superiors, certain that he and only he can solve the crime. But now Tyler must move carefully to find out the truth, without destroying the case or himself.

Meanwhile, someone in the city knows exactly what happened to the body. Someone who is watching Adam closely. Someone with an unhealthy affinity with fire. . .

A taut investigative thriller bursting with character and tension, introducing an enigmatic, fresh lead detective unlike any you have met before - Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler - for fans of Adrian McKinty, Tana French, Steve Cavanagh and Sharon Bolton.

Win A Signed Copy of Seven Lies!

Win A Signed Copy of Seven Lies!

Closing date: 16/04/2020

Elizabeth Kay's Seven Lies is out on the 16th of April.  To celebrate the release of this debut novel we have a whopping 10 signed copies up for grabs! "Well! This is an absolute corker of a debut, different and intelligent, it wormed its way into my thoughts and then proceeded to hunt them down." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 16th April 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Firewatching Press Reviews

'In the clever and compulsiveFirewatching, DS Adam Tyler navigates a complex cast of villains and victims in a cold case that suddenly turns very, very hot' LOUISE CANDLISH

'A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new . . . I loved it' LEE CHILD

'Devoured in three days. A cracking read with a terrific new detective lead. Red hot debut for 2020' SARAH HILARY

'I loved Firewatching. Russ Thomas is a bold and brilliant new voice in crime fiction, his talent blazes as fiercely as the flames that rage through his book. Really wonderful, imaginative writing' KATE RHODES

'A fantastic read with a plot that left me guessing and a cast of very real and well-imagined characters.' JAMES DELARGY

'A great read. Totally absorbed me' CASS GREEN

'Intelligent, pacy and compelling, it's everything you could want from a crime novel' SARAH WARD, author of the DC Childs mysteries.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Gilded Cage
The Gilded Cage
Hunting Evil
A Conspiracy of Bones

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471180927
Publication date: 20/02/2020
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471180927
Publication date: 20th February 2020
Author: Russ Thomas
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Crime & mystery, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Russ Thomas

Russ Thomas was born in Essex, raised in Berkshire and now lives in Sheffield. He grew up in the 80s reading anything he could get from the library, writing stories, watching large amounts of television, playing videogames, and largely avoiding the great outdoors. He spent five years trying to master playing the electronic organ and another five trying to learn Spanish. It didn't take him too long to realise that he'd be better off sticking to the writing. After a few 'proper' jobs (among them: pot-washer, optician's receptionist, supermarket warehouse operative, call-centre telephonist and storage salesman) he discovered the joys ...

More About Russ Thomas

Share this book