LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Dear Edward

by Ann Napolitano

Books of the Month Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Family Drama Modern and Contemporary Fiction Relationship Stories Star Books

LoveReading View on Dear Edward

An exquisitely written and beautifully emotional novel that will remain in my heart and thoughts. Edward survives a plane crash in which every other person, including his parents and brother, die. As the only survivor he becomes the lodestone for the relatives of the other passengers. Ann Napolitano writes with huge compassion as she explores overwhelming grief, and the tragedy is sensitively and skilfully handled. Knowing what is coming, in no way prepares you for the journey. Two time frames travel together, the first immediately leading up to the crash, the second as Edward learns how to survive the aftermath. Scattered within are smaller, intense, briefly short stories that added to, and intertwined with the overall tale. I was allowed to find my own way, to consider and contemplate as I walked alongside Edward. I felt the most profound heartache and joy as I sank into the lives of the passengers, not only incredibly thoughtful, it is also a thought-provoking read. Dear Edward has been chosen as one of our LoveReading Star Books, it is a must-read and truly deserves to be a huge success. 

Liz Robinson

Dear Edward Synopsis

A luminous, life-affirming novel about a 12-year-old boy who is the sole survivor of a deadly plane crash

One summer morning, a flight takes off from New York to Los Angeles. There are 216 passengers aboard: among them a young woman taking a pregnancy test in the airplane toilet; a Wall Street millionaire flirting with the air hostess; an injured soldier returning from Afghanistan; and two beleaguered parents moving across the country with their adolescent sons, bickering over who gets the window seat. When the plane suddenly crashes in a field in Colorado, the younger of these boys, 12-year-old Edward Adler, is the sole survivor.

Dear Edward depicts Edward's life in the crash's aftermath as he struggles to make sense of the meaning of his survival, the strangeness of his sudden fame, and find his place in the world without his family. In his new home with his aunt and uncle, the only solace comes from his friendship with the girl next door, Shay. Together Edward and Shay make a startling discovery: hidden in his uncle's garage are sacks of letters from the relatives of the other passengers, addressed to Edward.

As Edward comes of age against the backdrop of sudden tragedy, he must confront some of life's most profound questions: how do we make the most of the time we are given? And what does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live?

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/06/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! Not only is a bundle of Orenda Books up for grabs, we also have a £15 voucher for the winner to use on Orenda's new look website! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from April to June. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Source be Sarah Sultoon - Published 15th April Facets of Death by Michael Stanley - Published 29th April The Assistant by Kjell Ola Dahl - Published 13th May This is How We Are Human by Louise Beech - Published 10th June Everything Happens for a Reason by Katie Allen - Published 10th June One Last Time by Helga Flatland - Published 24th June This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th June 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Dear Edward Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Wow. Just once in a while, a book comes along that resonates, affects and captures my imagination and Dear Edward was one of these. Full review

Sharon Wood

An unputdownable novel which evoked many emotions. A work of genius! Full review

Val Rowe

As 12-year-old Edward is the sole survivor of a plane crash there is huge interest in him. How he recovers, and how he faces the future, makes for a gripping read. Read it in one sitting, just not on a flight. Full review

Alison Burns

This is a lovely book that shows us how another person can have an impact on our life with a simple gesture. It deals with grief and loss in a beautiful way and I enjoyed reading it and thoroughly recommend it. Full review

Rebecca Kirkby

Stunning. Full review

Charlotte Walker

Ann Napolitano has written a thought-provoking and tender novel that openly confronts and challenges us to talk about grief and loss and to understand the power that connections between people truly have. Full review

Clare Reynolds

Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano is one of the few books that instantly captures your heart, then shatters it into hundred pieces and teaches you many life lessons at the same time. Full review

Ivana - Diary of Difference

Dear Edward Press Reviews

'A rich, big-hearted tapestry. Fans of Room and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close will be spellbound by Dear Edward' Chloe Benjamin, author of The Immortalists

'A profoundly beautiful, page-turning story of mystery, loss, and wonder' Hannah Tinti, author of The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley and The Good Thief

'Dear Edward is a masterpiece that should be at the top of everyone's reading list.' J. Courtney Sullivan, bestselling author of Saints for All Occasions 

'I loved Dear Edward so, so much. It made me laugh and weep. Magnificent!' Lily King, author of Euphoria

'Astonishing' Marian Keyes

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Motion of the Body Through Space
Bitterhall A Novel
Sharks in the Time of Saviours
Unsettled Ground

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241985892
Publication date: 04/02/2021
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780241384077
Publication date: 20/02/2020
Publisher: Viking Books, an imprint of Penguin
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241384077
Publication date: 20th February 2020
Author: Ann Napolitano
Publisher: Viking Books, an imprint of Penguin
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Books of the Month, Reader Reviewed Books, Family Drama, Modern and Contemporary Fiction, Relationship Stories, Star Books,
Collections: Our Favourite Books of 2020,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Ann Napolitano

Ann Napolitano is the author of the novels A Good Hard Look and Within Arm's Reach. She is also the Assistant Editor of One Story literary magazine. She received an MFA from New York University; she has taught fiction writing for Brooklyn College's MFA program, New York University's School of Continuing and Professional Studies and for Gotham Writers' Workshop. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two children.

More About Ann Napolitano

More Books By Ann Napolitano

Cover for Dear Edward  by Ann Napolitano
View All Books By Ann Napolitano

Share this book