LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crossfire

by Malorie Blackman

Part of the Noughts and Crosses Series

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults

LoveReading View on Crossfire

Former Children’s Laureate Malorie Blackman makes a brilliant return to her best-selling Noughts and Crosses series with an all-guns-blazing story of prejudice, love, ambition, politics and violence. In the series launch title, Sephy, a Cross, and Callum, a Nought, challenged the divisions in their society. They paid a heavy price for doing so but they did make changes; racial and class barriers were brought down and the future would be brighter. Or so they thought. But a generation on, while superficially things look better, the prejudices are never far away and where they are, violence follows. When the first Nought Prime Minister is framed for murder he turns to his old friend Callie Rose, daughter of Sephy and Callum to defend him. But crossing the racial divide is still unpopular and both have ruthless enemies. As corruption spills into violence the next generation, Troy and Liberty, are terrifyingly caught up in the conflict. Malorie Blackman’s scope is huge in terms of characters and time- frames in this hard hitting socio-political commentary which has obvious resonance for today.

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E.

Crossfire Synopsis

Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power.

Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly. Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire. 

Crossfire Press Reviews

Praise for Noughts & Crosses:

'The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be' - Stormzy

'The most original book I've ever read' Benjamin Zephaniah

'Blackman gets people . . . she gets humanity as a whole, too' Guardian

'Powerful' Sunday Times

Blackman gets people . . . she gets humanity as a whole, too - The Guardian

Powerful - The Sunday Times

Packs some powerful political punches...But Blackman never compromises the story, which is dramatic, moving and brave - Guardian

Blackman's absorbing but alarming novel deals with themes of racism and prejudice . . . Unforgettable - Independent

If you loved this, you might like these...

Chinglish
Only the Ocean
The Black Flamingo
The Boy in the Black Suit

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241388433
Publication date: 08/08/2019
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241388433
Publication date: 8th August 2019
Author: Malorie Blackman
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 464 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction,
Categories: Romance & relationships stories (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: racism & multiculturalism (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues: family issues (Children's / Teenage),

About Malorie Blackman

Children's Laureate 2013-2015 Malorie Blackman had a variety of jobs before she became a full time writer and spent many years working as a Database Manager for Reuters travelling extensively within Europe and the United States.  After 82 rejection letters, her first novel, Not So Stupid!, was a selected title for the 1991 Feminist Book Fortnight, and Malorie participated in the first BBC TV Black Women’s Screenwriting Workshop in 1991.  She has written a number of books for young readers including the Whizziwig series, which have been dramatised successfully for children’s television. Her dystopian novel series Noughts ...

More About Malorie Blackman

More Books By Malorie Blackman

Cover for Chasing the Stars by Malorie Blackman
Cover for Knife Edge by Malorie Blackman
Cover for Double Cross by Malorie Blackman
View All Books By Malorie Blackman

Share this book