LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

When Darkness Calls

by Mark Griffin

Part of the The Holly Wakefield Thrillers Series

Crime / Mystery

When Darkness Calls Synopsis

Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job - but she keeps that to herself.

When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they're going to kill again - soon.

Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she's kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past...

The first book in a bestselling new serial killer series. For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith and the TV's Luther and Line of Duty.

Win a Signed Will Carver Book Bundle!

Win a Signed Will Carver Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/08/2020

"Twisty-turny and oh-so provocative, this is the type of book that will stick a sneaky foot out to trip you up. " Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the publication of Hinton Hollow Death Trip by Will Carver we have 3 signed sets of Carver's Good Samaritans, Nothing Important Happened Today and Hinton Hollow Death Trip to give away! This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st August 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

When Darkness Calls Press Reviews

Meticulously plotted and devious in its execution, Mark Griffin's debut novel is utterly compelling. I can't wait to read the rest of the Holly Wakefield series -- Lesley Kara, bestselling author of The Rumour Wow.

I read this in less than a day. As many twists and turns as a rollercoaster! A fascinating lead character with a deliciously dark secret. It's the kind of writing which grabs you and won't let you go -- Amy Lloyd, bestselling author of The Innocent Wife

Mark Griffin is a thrilling new talent, destined to become a big name in British crime writing -- Peter James

Mightily impressive . . . deviously plotted, with a bleak thread of intriguing twists - Daily Mail

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Night Swim
The Night Swim
When She Was Good
Blood Red City

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780349420738
Publication date: 02/05/2019
Publisher: Piatkus Books an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780349420738
Publication date: 2nd May 2019
Author: Mark Griffin
Publisher: Piatkus Books an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense,

About Mark Griffin

Mark Griffin began his writing career when he was a teenager, with three successive years of gold medal awards in the Hampshire Writing Festival. In 1996 he moved to Los Angeles, where he turned his attention to acting, script writing and development. After returning to England, Mark continued in this profession, and in April 2017 was shortlisted in the top five out of 3500 entrants in a national crime thriller writing competition sponsored by Random House Publishing and the Daily Mail for his debut, When Darkness Calls. When Darkness Calls is the first book in his crime thriller series starring criminal psychologist Holly ...

More About Mark Griffin

More Books By Mark Griffin

Cover for When Angels Sleep  by Mark Griffin
Cover for All That Heaven Allows  by Mark Griffin
Cover for When Angels Sleep  by Mark Griffin
View All Books By Mark Griffin

Share this book