LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Hot Mess

by Lucy Vine

Modern and Classic Literary Fiction

Hot Mess Synopsis

Hot Mess [n.] - someone attractive, who is often in disarray.

Have you ever shown up to Sunday brunch still smelling of Saturday night?

Chosen bed, Netflix and pizza over human contact?

Stayed in your mould-ridden flat because it's cheap?

Meet your spirit animal, Ellie Knight.

Her life isn't turning out exactly as she planned.

She hates her job, her friends are coupling up and settling down, and her flatmates are just plain weird.

Some people might say she's a hot mess but who really has their sh*t together anyway?

For fans of Fleabag and Girls, this is a fresh and funny coming-of-age story with a single-girl heroine that will speak to millennials everywhere. 

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win a year's worth of reading with our 2019 Star Books!

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win a year's worth of reading with our 2019 Star Books!

Closing date: 06/12/2019

WE LOVE BOOKS! LoveReading is the UK’s leading book recommendation website. Our mission is to promote a love of books and reading to all by offering the tools, advice and information needed to help our members and browsers to find their next favourite book. We have a panel of editorial experts that select books right across the genres and read the latest releases to keep you fully updated. Their reviews and recommendations make it easy for you to choose the perfect book to read next. Search by author, genre or book title to find the next book for you - and once you are a member, you can sign up to receive regular newsletters and save all the books you want to read or have read to your own digital bookshelf. Membership of the site is free and delivers a helpful range of unique online tools, including 10-15 page opening extracts and listening to samples of audiobooks from specially selected titles. You can also subscribe to our personalised newsletters to help you keep on top of all the new releases while having recommendations tailored just for you. Our Star Books are a selection of our personal favourites from the books we've read each year. The ones that have really stood out from the crowd for us. We always say if you're only going to buy a few books this year, take a look at our Star Books selection. We have a HUGE giveaway for you to really end your year on a high. We're giving you the opportunity to win all the books selected as Star Books this year! That's around 40 books that you can keep for yourself, share with friends and family or give as Christmas gifts. A year's worth of reading and some of our favourite books published this year, for you, for free! What are you waiting for? This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 6th December 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Hot Mess Press Reviews

More sassy than Carrie Bradshaw, more 2017 than Bridget Jones, this is a funny, satisfying read for anyone who doesn't have all the answers to the perfect life -- Aine Toner - WOMAN'S WAY

A more realistic, relatable Bridget Jones for this generation - GRAZIA

This laugh-out-loud book reminds you that you aren't alone. A Bridget Jones for the Tinder generation - CLOSER

Hot Mess has a laugh-out-loud moment on every single page. Hilarious and real - if you like Fleabag and Broad City, then you'll love this book. -- Issy Sampson - HEAT

This is refreshingly realistic and combines laughs with tear jerking moments -- Deirdre O'Brien - SUNDAY MIRROR

An irreverent, zingy novel about how there's far more to life than finding The One -- Kerry Potter - GLAMOUR

A hilarious read that singletons everywhere will relate to. Perfect for the summer. -- Natasha Harding - THE SUN

This book is getting a lot of Bridget Jones comparisons, but thanks to her disastrous Tinder dates and single-life fails, we think lead character Ellie Knight is even better. And funnier. This is must-pack holiday reading that'll have you snorting into your pina colada and passing it onto your mates. -- Giselle Wainwright - LOOK

A breath of fresh air, deftly subverting some of chick lit's biggest cliches. You're guaranteed at least one moment of total recognition per chapter - Stylist

A laugh-out-loud comedy of errors -- Sarra Manning - Red Magazine

Bad dates, bad mates, figuring yourself out and f**king it up - the laugh out loud literary equivalent of Trainwreck-meets-Fleabag - Glamour

The funniest thing I have read in a very,very long time. Ellie Knight is your new single soul sister and the perfect antidote to nosy relatives constantly asking when you're going to meet someone nice - Cosmopolitan

Lucy Vine is always hilarious and with Hot Mess she's channelling her uniquely pithy tone into shining a light on the daily toils of being single and millennial. I'd swipe right for Hot Mess - Grazia

Hot Mess is one of the funniest, warmest books I've ever read. Heroine Ellie is a loveable, likeable everywoman and I laughed and sighed with recognition as I turned every page. It's a gorgeous story about all relationships, friendships, family and romance. If it doesn't make you laugh out loud, I could never be friends with you. A truly lovely and lively debut - I'm hooked on Lucy Vine's writing. - Daisy Buchanan, author of How To Be a Grown-Up

If you love dirty jokes, dating horror stories and hilarious dialogue, this book is for you. Hot Mess will make you feel less alone and proud to be the imperfect hero of your own life - Emma Gannon, author and podcast host of Ctrl Alt Delete

The most relatable book I've read in years - funny, real, filthy, if you liked Fleabag and Broad City, you'll love this - Heat

Praise for the hottest new release of 2017: I'd need the fingers and toes of all the Tinder dates that Ellie Knight goes on in Hot Mess - and then some - to count the times I laughed out loud while reading this bawdy broad of a book. More lifestyle-affirming than Bridget Jones, less jab-a-fork-in-my-eye weepy than Love, Actually - this is a rom-com for a new generation. I loved it! - Sarah Knight, bestselling author of The Life Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck and Get Your Sh*t Together

If you loved this, you might like these...

Dear Edward
Saving Missy
Don't Look At Me Like That
The God Child

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409172208
Publication date: 11/07/2017
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409172208
Publication date: 11th July 2017
Author: Lucy Vine
Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Genres: Literary Fiction,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Lucy Vine

Lucy Vine is a freelance journalist based in London, who regularly writes and edits for the likes of Grazia, Heat, Cosmo, Stylist and Marie Claire. She also writes a weekly newsy column for Grazia Daily. Fed up of seeing the happily-ever-afters in films, she decided to write her own and her debut Hot Mess is the result. Follow her on Twitter @Lecv

More About Lucy Vine

Share this book