Call It What You Want

by Brigid Kemmerer

Children's & YA Fiction Family Drama

LoveReading Expert Review of Call It What You Want

Brimming with the promise of fresh starts through swirls of uncertainty, this is YA at its thought-provoking, heart-pounding finest.

Rob and Maegan both have a whole lot on their plates. Rob’s rich dad attempted suicide after he was caught embezzling their community and he’s now severely disabled, unable to speak or do anything for himself. Until eight months ago, “Everyone wanted to be me,” but now Rob’s an outcast, tainted by his father’s fraud, which is something Maegan also knows a thing or two about. Previously an academic overachiever, pressures led her to cheat in last year’s exams, which in turn led to hundreds of her peers’ marks being invalidated.

Connected by a Calculus project and their dads (Maegan’s cop father was first on the scene when Rob’s dad shot himself), the two outcasts strike up an unlikely friendship, and more. Alongside their romance and the gripping twists, I loved the moving camaraderie between Rob and Owen, whose single mom was thrown into crippling financial hardship by Rob’s dad.

For a book that packs-in plenty of big issues, it’s also an entertaining page-turner - the perfect YA package with the overriding messages that “one mistake doesn’t define you”, and “one choice doesn’t determine your whole future.”

Joanne Owen

Call It What You Want Synopsis

From the author of the Zoella Book Club-pick Letters to the Lost comes another emotionally complex, romantic story about two teens struggling to unpick the grey area between right and wrong, perfect for fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven.

Rob had it all - friends, a near-guaranteed lacrosse scholarship to college and an amazing family - but all that changed when his dad was caught embezzling funds from half the town. Now he's a social pariah. Maegan always does the right thing. But when her sister comes home from college pregnant, she's caught between telling their parents the truth about the father and keeping her sister's trust. When Rob and Maegan are paired together for a project, they form an unexpectedly deep connection. But Rob's plan to fix his father's damage could ruin more than their new friendship ...

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781526605344
Publication date: 27th June 2019
Author: Brigid Kemmerer
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Primary Genre Children's & YA Fiction
Other Genres:

What To Read After Call It What You Want

The Fault in Our Stars
Moonrise
Furious Thing
Becoming Dinah

Brigid Kemmerer Press Reviews

Praise for More Than We Can Tell;

Readers looking for a different sort of coming-of-age story or teen protagonists grappling with complex situations will fall in love with this romance-tinged novel -- starred review - Booklist

A must-have for any YA collection. Give to teens who enjoyed A Child Called 'It' by Dave Pelzer or The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky -- starred review - SLJ

Family dysfunction, anxiety and PTSD from long-term abuse are all believably conveyed ... A timely, suspenseful, well-written page-turner with compelling main characters - Kirkus Reviews

Readers will find it easy to fall into Rev and Emma's lives as romance hovers between them and they confront the violence of their past and present - Publishers Weekly

The characters are well developed and ... anticipation and curiosity build throughout - School Library Connection

Praise for Letters to the Lost;

This book is going to fly off the shelves to all teens, but it will hold special interest for those looking for a tear-jerking romance, and serious readers of realistic fiction - VOYA

A great concept, delivered in a compulsively readable package ... romance readers will stay up late to finish this very satisfying and heartfelt read - Booklist

Explores the ideas of carving identity out of pain and the way perception colours expectations - BCCB

Readers will find themselves rooting for the real Declan to win Juliet's heart the same way his online persona did. Consider this tale of modern star-crossed love as a first purchase for YA collections - SLJ

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781526605344
Publication date: 27/06/2019
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Brigid Kemmerer

Brigid Kemmerer is the author of Letters to the Lost, More Than We Can Tell, and the YALSA-nominated Elementals series and the paranormal mystery, Thicker Than Water. She was born in Omaha, Nebraska, though her parents quickly moved her all over the United States, from the desert in Albuquerque, New Mexico, to the lakeside in Cleveland, Ohio, with several stops in between. Brigid is now settled near Annapolis, Maryland, with her husband and children.   Author photo © Nicole Daacke Photography

More About Brigid Kemmerer

More Books By Brigid Kemmerer

Call It What You Want
Call It What You Want
Call It What You Want
View All Books By Brigid Kemmerer

Share this book