LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Gaudy Night

by Dorothy L. Sayers

Part of the Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries Series

Crime / Mystery

Gaudy Night Synopsis

The twelfth book in Dorothy L Sayers' classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Poirot and Margery Allingham's Campion Mysteries.

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . . At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the 'Gaudy' celebrations. But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice - and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help. 

Win a copy of The Lost Hours and Forgive me by Susan Lewis

Win a copy of The Lost Hours and Forgive me by Susan Lewis

Closing date: 01/05/2021

The Lost Hours by Susan Lewis is a "a satisfying and lively family drama, perfect for those who like a few twists and turns along the way." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of The Lost Hours we're working with HarperCollins to offer a give away a hardback copy of the book as well as a paperback of Forgive Me, also by Susan Lewis This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st May 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Gaudy Night Press Reviews

I admire her novels ...she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail - Ruth Rendell

She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller. - Minette Walters

Dorothy L Sayers is one of the best detective story writers - Daily Telegraph

She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit. - P. D. James

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Postscript Murders
The Silent Wife
The Source
Vera Kelly Is Not A Mystery

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781473621404
Publication date: 01/03/1987
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781473621404
Publication date: 1st March 1987
Author: Dorothy L. Sayers
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 576 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery,
Categories: Crime & mystery,

About Dorothy L. Sayers

Dorothy L Sayers was born in Oxford in 1893, and was both a classical scholar and a graduate in modern languages. As well as her popular Lord Peter Wimsey series, she wrote several religious plays, but considered her translations of Dante's Divina Commedia to be her best work. She died in 1957.

More About Dorothy L. Sayers

More Books By Dorothy L. Sayers

Cover for Whose Body? by Dorothy L. Sayers
Cover for Whose Body? by Dorothy L. Sayers
Cover for Whose Body? by Dorothy L. Sayers
View All Books By Dorothy L. Sayers

Share this book