LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Wanderer

by Michael Ridpath

Part of the A Magnus Iceland Mystery Series

Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Wanderer

There are those who will kill to hide the truth. The fifth in the Fire and Ice Icelandic series featuring Magnus Jonson. They follow each other and are best read in order to fully appreciate the protagonist who here takes a sideways step. The plot involves the discovery of an Icelandic shell necklace in an archaeological dig in Nantucket, so proving, some believe, that the Icelanders discovered America long before Columbus. Indeed there is documentation proving this in the Vatican that Columbus wrote to his brother recounting this. A TV documentary is being made about the controversy and now folks start dying. Magnus is put in charge of the investigation. Many believed that the last book, Sea of Stone, completed the series. How wrong they were. It completed a story arc but I think Ridpath will go on writing this highly atmospheric series for a very long time yet.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Wanderer Synopsis

From the million-copy bestselling author, perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson, Anne Holt, and The Killing. Michael Ridpath is trouncing the Scandinavians on their home turf. This is international thriller writing at its best. PETER JAMES Iceland, 2017: When a young Italian tourist is found brutally murdered at a sacred church in northern Iceland, Magnus Jonson, newly returned to the Reykjavik police force, is called in to investigate. At the scene, he finds a stunned TV crew, there to film a documentary on the life of the legendary Viking, Gudrid the Wanderer. Magnus quickly begins to suspect that there may be more links to the murdered woman than anyone in the film crew will acknowledge. As jealousies come to the surface, new tensions replace old friendships, and history begins to rewrite itself, a shocking second murder leads Magnus to question everything he thought he knew...

Signed set of Will Carver Books!

Signed set of Will Carver Books!

Closing date: 01/12/2019

Nothing Important Happened Today by Will Carver was published on the 14th November and to celebrate we have three signed sets of Will  Carver's books published by Orenda (Good Samaritans and Nothing Important Happened Today). "If you like your books to be a little twisted, dark, and provocative, then *waves frantically* stop right here!" Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer on Nothing Important Happened Today. This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 1st December 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Wanderer Press Reviews

This is international thriller writing at its best, fine characters, page-turning suspense and a great, fresh location - Peter James on Ridpath's Magnus Iceland Series

Never fails to deliver satisfaction and excitement. - Daily Mail on Ridpath's Magnus Iceland Series

A clever blend of murder mystery, myth and up-to-the-minute mayhem. - The Times on Ridpath's Magnus Iceland Series

Ridpath has that read-on factor that sets bestsellers apart - Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Dark Matter
The Home
Long Bright River
Local Legend

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781782398738
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782398738
Publication date: 6th September 2018
Author: Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Crime & mystery,

About Michael Ridpath

Michael Ridpath spent eight years as a bond trader in the City before giving up his job to write full-time. He lives in north London with his wife and three children. Visit his website at www.michaelridpath.com.

More About Michael Ridpath

Share this book