Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

The Wanderer

by Michael Ridpath

Part of the A Magnus Iceland Mystery Series

Crime / Mystery Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Wanderer

There are those who will kill to hide the truth. The fifth in the Fire and Ice Icelandic series featuring Magnus Jonson. They follow each other and are best read in order to fully appreciate the protagonist who here takes a sideways step. The plot involves the discovery of an Icelandic shell necklace in an archaeological dig in Nantucket, so proving, some believe, that the Icelanders discovered America long before Columbus. Indeed there is documentation proving this in the Vatican that Columbus wrote to his brother recounting this. A TV documentary is being made about the controversy and now folks start dying. Magnus is put in charge of the investigation. Many believed that the last book, Sea of Stone, completed the series. How wrong they were. It completed a story arc but I think Ridpath will go on writing this highly atmospheric series for a very long time yet.

Sarah Broadhurst

The Wanderer Synopsis

From the million-copy bestselling author, perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson, Anne Holt, and The Killing. Michael Ridpath is trouncing the Scandinavians on their home turf. This is international thriller writing at its best. PETER JAMES Iceland, 2017: When a young Italian tourist is found brutally murdered at a sacred church in northern Iceland, Magnus Jonson, newly returned to the Reykjavik police force, is called in to investigate. At the scene, he finds a stunned TV crew, there to film a documentary on the life of the legendary Viking, Gudrid the Wanderer. Magnus quickly begins to suspect that there may be more links to the murdered woman than anyone in the film crew will acknowledge. As jealousies come to the surface, new tensions replace old friendships, and history begins to rewrite itself, a shocking second murder leads Magnus to question everything he thought he knew...

The Wanderer Press Reviews

This is international thriller writing at its best, fine characters, page-turning suspense and a great, fresh location - Peter James on Ridpath's Magnus Iceland Series

Never fails to deliver satisfaction and excitement. - Daily Mail on Ridpath's Magnus Iceland Series

A clever blend of murder mystery, myth and up-to-the-minute mayhem. - The Times on Ridpath's Magnus Iceland Series

Ridpath has that read-on factor that sets bestsellers apart - Guardian

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Hunting Party
The Woman in the Window
Past Tense (Jack Reacher 23)
Cassandra Darke

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781782398738
Publication date: 06/09/2018
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782398738
Publication date: 6th September 2018
Author: Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Crime & mystery,

About Michael Ridpath

Michael Ridpath spent eight years as a bond trader in the City before giving up his job to write full-time. He lives in north London with his wife and three children. Visit his website at www.michaelridpath.com.

More About Michael Ridpath

Share this book