LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Love Letter

by Lucinda Riley

Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Sagas and Romance

The Love Letter Synopsis

Keeping secrets is a dangerous game . . . 1995, London. When Sir James Harrison, one the greatest actors of his generation, passes away at the age of ninety-five he leaves behind not just a heartbroken family but also a secret so shocking, so devastating that it could rock the English establishment to its core . . . Joanna Haslam is an ambitious young journalist, assigned to cover the legendary actor's funeral. The great and the good of the celebrity world are there. But Joanna stumbles on something dark beneath the glamour: the mention of a letter James Harrison has left behind, the contents of which others have been desperate to conceal for over seventy years. As she peels back the veil of lies that has shrouded the secret, she realizes that there are other forces attempting to prevent her from discovering the truth. And they'll stop at nothing to reach the letter before she does. The Love Letter is a thrilling novel full of secrets, lies and unforgettable twists. from the internationally bestselling author, Lucinda Riley. *This title was originally published as Seeing Double.*

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win a year's worth of reading with our 2019 Star Books!

MEGA GIVEAWAY! Win a year's worth of reading with our 2019 Star Books!

Closing date: 06/12/2019

WE LOVE BOOKS! LoveReading is the UK’s leading book recommendation website. Our mission is to promote a love of books and reading to all by offering the tools, advice and information needed to help our members and browsers to find their next favourite book. We have a panel of editorial experts that select books right across the genres and read the latest releases to keep you fully updated. Their reviews and recommendations make it easy for you to choose the perfect book to read next. Search by author, genre or book title to find the next book for you - and once you are a member, you can sign up to receive regular newsletters and save all the books you want to read or have read to your own digital bookshelf. Membership of the site is free and delivers a helpful range of unique online tools, including 10-15 page opening extracts and listening to samples of audiobooks from specially selected titles. You can also subscribe to our personalised newsletters to help you keep on top of all the new releases while having recommendations tailored just for you. Our Star Books are a selection of our personal favourites from the books we've read each year. The ones that have really stood out from the crowd for us. We always say if you're only going to buy a few books this year, take a look at our Star Books selection. We have a HUGE giveaway for you to really end your year on a high. We're giving you the opportunity to win all the books selected as Star Books this year! That's around 40 books that you can keep for yourself, share with friends and family or give as Christmas gifts. A year's worth of reading and some of our favourite books published this year, for you, for free! What are you waiting for? This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 6th December 2019. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

The Love Letter Press Reviews

This page-turning, multigenerational sudser by best-selling Riley (The Storm Sister, 2016) will appeal to fans of Barbara Taylor Bradford and Penny Vincenzi.

--Booklist on The Angel Tree

A sweeping, poignant saga that will enthrall fans of The House at Riverton, Rebecca, and Downton Abbey.

--Shelf Awareness on The Orchid House

A bit of a ghost story, a little romance, some historical fiction, and plenty of family drama mix into one wonderful story. . . . A sure bet for fans of Lauren Willig, Kate Morton, or Maeve Binchy.

--Library Journal on The Midnight Rose

Riley has written another intricately plotted, compelling family saga, which presents historical and cultural attitudes of the time and place in which her characters live. . . . The story is elegantly sculpted and rich with history . . . will please fans of romance as well as historical fiction lovers.

--Library Journal on The Angel Tree

If you loved this, you might like these...

Dear Edward
Saving Missy
These Our Monsters
The Death of Mungo Blackwell

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781509825042
Publication date: 26/07/2018
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509825042
Publication date: 26th July 2018
Author: Lucinda Riley
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 624 pages
Genres: Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Adult & contemporary romance, Historical romance, Historical fiction,

About Lucinda Riley

Lucinda Riley was born in Ireland. She lives in Norfolk with her husband and four children.

More About Lucinda Riley

More Books By Lucinda Riley

Cover for The Butterfly Room by Lucinda Riley
Cover for The Moon Sister by Lucinda Riley
Cover for The Pearl Sister by Lucinda Riley
View All Books By Lucinda Riley

Share this book