Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

You Were Made for This

by Michelle Sacks

eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on You Were Made for This

“If you saw us you’d probably hate us...The perfect little family, living the perfect little life”, explains Merry, one of the three flawed narrators of this gripping debut. She and husband Sam have left New York and set up home in a picture-book-perfect little red wooden house in rural Sweden “What more could I hope for. What more could I need?” she asks rhetorically. Sam praises his perfect “busy little wife” who’s seemingly taken to rustic domesticity and motherhood like it’s all she was born for, but the cracks are visible from the early chapters. Sam is the epitome of toxic masculinity and controls Merry’s every move, while a visit from Merry’s high-flying, egoistical childhood friend disclosures her own desperate troubles. 

Teeming with duplicity, treachery and tragedy, this strident debut chills to the bone.

 

Joanne Owen

You Were Made for This Synopsis

A bold, sharp, gripping debut about a couple whose perfect life in the Swedish countryside is not what it seems...

In an idyllic house in a Swedish wood, Merry and her husband are building their new dream life with their young baby, far away from events that overshadowed their old life in New York. And they're happy, aren't they? Blissfully, blissfully happy. When Merry's childhood friend Frances comes to stay, Frances barely recognises her old friend Merry, pureeing baby food, baking, living the Swedish dream. But little by little, cracks begin to show in her carefully constructed fairy tale. And Frances starts to see things others might miss. Dark and treacherous things. And then a terrible tragedy unfolds...

You Were Made for This Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Dark & disturbing, a story from three point of views, every single one of the characters being extremely unlikable, however at the same time you just won’t be able to put this down! I read in one sitting... what a brilliant debut novel from Michelle Sacks! Full review

Lucy Hall

'You were made for this' is perfect for fans of 'Gone Girl'. Michelle Sacks' writing is a breath of fresh air. I can't wait to read what she writes next. Full review

Reba Khatun

A bold domestic thriller. Sacks is a brave writer to write such a harrowing tale, confronting every mother's worst nightmare... Full review

Saarah N

An interesting read with well rounded and believable characters. The plot was intriguing and written in an unusual way. I didn't find it particularly tense or exciting but it was am easy read. Full review

Michelle Mckernan

Creepy but gripping psychological thriller about the secret dark side of people and their dysfunctional relationships. Deeply disturbing but utterly compelling story! Full review

Lynne Manton

You Were Made For This is so atmospheric, dark and twisted. I read two-thirds of the book in one sitting and only stopped because I just had to go to work. Full review

Siân Spinney

Easy to read but perplexing. Full review

Margaret Quirke

Intrigue on an idyllic Swedish island. Michelle Sack's debut novel is packed with intrigue and suspense. Full review

Heather Byrne

You Were Made for This Press Reviews

'Dark, unsettling, and utterly absorbing ... I loved it from first page to last.' - Amanda Jennings

'Bloody Nora! If dark toxic relationships are your thing, this is one for you. Unsettling intensity with each page turned, arresting and intriguing. I read it holding my breath.' - Nina Pottell

'You Were Made For This has everything a psychological thriller needs...toxic and stifling, the story drew me in and kept me up turning the pages long after I should have gone to bed.'  - Lisa Hall

'Absolutely addictive. A dark exploration of motherhood and friendship - visceral, unputdownable, and original. You'll never look at Sweden the same way again!'  - Phoebe Morgan

'A haunting first novel... an unblinking look at beautiful people with ugly secrets, it has the voyeuristic fascination of a Bergman film.' - Publishers Weekly

'An insightful and skilfully constructed novel... will keep readers rapt to the final page.'  - Booklist

Sacks first novel expertly portrays the dark side of domesticity and motherhood. Fans of dark and twisted psychological thrillers will be swept up in the appearance of domestic bliss and maternal perfection, only to be left off-kilter and breathless with each costume change.' - Library Journal

'The savage beauty of Michelle Sacks's prose nestled within the most chilling of stories will leave you shaken and bereft. It is a stunning accomplishment.' - Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence

'A taut novel of deception, full of heart-wrenching twists and turns...richly compelling.'  - Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author of The Winter People

'A sinister, razor's edge of a book. I was, in turn, totally gripped, completely unsettled, and not just a little freaked out by these brutal characters and the damage they did to themselves and each other. Whatever you feel while reading this dark, twisting story, you definitely won't be able to put it down.' - Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of THE RED HUNTER

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Thing She Told Me
The Cult on Fog Island
Skin Deep
The Lingering

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008261245
Publication date: 28/06/2018
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008261245
Publication date: 28th June 2018
Author: Michelle Sacks
Publisher: HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Exclusive Pre-Publication, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thriller / suspense, Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Michelle Sacks

Michelle Sacks was born and raised in Cape Town. She is currently based in Switzerland but spends much time in the UK and the rest of Europe. She has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize in 2014, and had two short stories shortlisted for the 2007 and 2011 South African PEN Literary Award.

More About Michelle Sacks

Share this book