LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Helen FitzGerald - Author

About the Author

Helen FitzGerald is one of thirteen children and grew up in Victoria, Australia. She now lives in Glasgow with her husband and two children. Helen has worked as a social worker for over ten years. She has published four other novels with Faber: Dead Lovely, My Last Confession, The Donor and most recently The Cry, which was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year.

 

Author photo © Anna Casci

Featured books by Helen FitzGerald

Other books by Helen FitzGerald

Worst Case Scenario

Worst Case Scenario

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 16/05/2019

The Cry

The Cry

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 28/01/2019

The Cry

The Cry

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2018

Now a major BBC 1 drama starring Jenna Coleman (Victoria, Dr Who) and Ewen Leslie (Top of the Lake, Safe Harbour), The Cry by Helen Fitzgerald brings a parent's worst nightmare to vivid life. Longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, Helen FitzGerald's acclaimed psychological thriller brings a parent's worst nightmare to vivid life. Taut, dark, and emotional, The Cry follows the story of a missing baby and the investigation that thrusts his mother and father into the spotlight-and threatens to reveal the unthinkable. On a grueling flight from Glasgow to Australia, Joanna copes with what most mothers dread: a newborn that will not stop crying. Ill herself, Joanna tries to soothe baby Noah to no avail, and to the consternation of her fellow passengers. Alistair is finally able to settle his son, but not too long before they have to disembark and begin a long drive to Melbourne. When Noah mysteriously disappears after the couple stops along a lonely roadside, the criminal inquiry becomes a white-hot, global media sensation. As the focus on them intensifies, lies, rumour and innuendo spread, and Joanna and Alistair slowly begin to turn on each other. Someone is hiding the truth. But will knowing the truth bring Noah back? Filled with stunning twists and all-too-realistic scenes from a relationship in crisis, The Cry offers gripping suspense and emotional drama that will keep you guessing all the way to its shocking finish.

Viral

Viral

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/08/2016

So far, twenty-three thousand and ninety-six people have seen me online. Su has always been the successful sister. It's Leah who is wild and often angry. But when they go to Magaluf to celebrate their exam results, Su disappears. Su is on the run, humiliated and afraid. There's an online video of her performing multiple sex acts in a nightclub. And everyone has seen it. Their mother Ruth, a prominent court judge, is furious. Can she bring justice to the men who took advantage of her daughter, and what will it take to bring Su home? 'Read it.' Stylist 'Gripping.' Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad 'A real psychological roller-coaster.' Scotsman

Viral

Viral

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/03/2016

Viral

Viral

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2016

So far, twenty-three thousand and ninety six people have seen me online. They include my mother, my father, my little sister, my grandmother, my other grandmother, my grandfather, my boss, my sixth year Biology teacher and my boyfriend James. When Leah Oliphant-Brotheridge and her adopted sister Su go on holiday together to Magaluf to celebrate their A-levels, only Leah returns home. Her successful, swotty sister remains abroad, humiliated and afraid: there is an online video of her, drunkenly performing a sex act in a nightclub. And everyone has seen it. Ruth Oliphant-Brotheridge, mother of the girls, successful court judge, is furious. How could this have happened? How can she bring justice to these men who took advantage of her dutiful, virginal daughter? What role has Leah played in all this? And can Ruth find Su and bring her back home when Su doesn't want to be found?

Ex

Ex

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: eBook Release Date: 11/05/2015

Eine Serienmonogamistin auf Rachefeldzug?Von Lampenfieber vor der Hochzeit gepackt, will Catriona ein letztes Mal ihre Exfreunde treffen. Das Problem: Sie beschliet, mit jedem noch einmal zu vgeln. Und am Morgen darauf sind alle Mnner tot. "e;Sie mssen nur sagen, ob er es ist"e; - beim Anblick des Penis ihres Exfreundes Achmed auf dem Leichentisch muss sie tatschlich auf lachen. Eindeutig kein guter Zeitpunkt. Catriona Marsden, erfolgreiche schottische Fernsehmoderatorin, landet im Gefngnis, angeklagt wegen Mordes an ihren drei Exfreunden. Dabei wollte sie doch nur ein letztes Mal mit ihnen schlafen, in einem nicht sehr wohlberlegten Plan, eine Woche vor ihrer Hochzeit mit den Geschichten von damals endlich abschlieen. Dass ihre Liebhaber kurz darauf tot sind und man ihnen mit einer Gartenschere die Genitalien abgeschnitten hat, bringt sie in Erklrungsnot. Mit Hilfe einer Journalistin versucht sie, ihr eigenes Vorleben noch einmal durchzugehen, um herauszufinden, wer der Mrder sein knnte. Doch der Versuch geht nach hinten los: Statt sich auf ihre Seite zu schlagen, macht ihre Biografin sie zur Psychopathin. Wer wird ihr jetzt noch glauben und was kann sie noch tun?Helen FitzGerald wechselt virtuos zwischen schwarzem Humor und psychologischer Einfhlung in ihre Charaktere. Am Ende bleibt kein Auge trocken und kein Schreckenunerlebt. FitzGerald'sche Angstlust vom Feinsten. "e;FitzGeralds Roman zeigt vor allem eines: Die interessantesten Bcher sind oft die, die sich eben nicht einordnen lassen wollen."e; (Irene Binal, Deutschlandradio)

My Last Confession

My Last Confession

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/09/2014

When she starts her new job as a parole officer, Krissie is happy and in love. Then she meets convicted murderer Jeremy, and begins to believe he may be innocent. Her growing obsession with his case threatens to jeopardise everything - her job, her relationship and her life. Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, My Last Confession is a dark and compelling psychological thriller that traces a young parole officer and her dangerous obsession with a convicted murderer. Helen FitzGerald is also the acclaimed author of The Cry, which was longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award. 'Thinking woman's noir.' Sunday Telegraph 'Cool, classy and sexy.' Daily Mirror 'A story that adeptly escalates to a satisfyingly shocking climax.' Big Issue

Dead Lovely

Dead Lovely

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/09/2014

Dead Lovely is the debut novel from Helen FitzGerald, the bestselling author of The Cry and My Last Confession. What happens when your best friend gets what you've always wanted? Krissie and Sarah - best friends for years - have always wanted different things from life. Krissie has no desire to settle down, whereas Sarah married a doctor in her early twenties and is dying to start a family. So when Krissie becomes pregnant after a fling and Sarah can't seem to conceive, things get a little tense. They decide to go on holiday along with Sarah's husband in the hope of getting their friendship back on track. But what starts as a much-needed break soon becomes a nightmare of sexual tension, murder and mayhem... 'Outrageous, clever, funny, poignant. Helen Fitzgerald really is one to watch.' Mo Hayder Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, Dead Lovely is a debut novel, a fast-paced thriller and a dark, enthralling examination of friendship. Helen FitzGerald's other books include The Cry, The Exit, My Last Confession and The Donor.

Die dunkle Treppe

Die dunkle Treppe

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: eBook Release Date: 14/02/2013

Wenn die Nacht am schwarzesten ist. Eine Frau, die um ihr berleben kmpft. Ein Buch, das den Atem stocken lsst. Helen FitzGerald geht bis zum uersten. Kurz bevor die achtzehnjhrige Australierin Bronny das Ergebnis eines Bluttests erfhrt, der ihr sagt, ob sie leben oder sterben wird, flieht sie nach Europa und landet in einem besetzten Haus in London.Zusammen mit ihren neuen Freunden holt sie dort nach, was sie bisher verpasst hat: Parties, Drogen, Alkohol und Jungs.Doch hin und wieder hrt Bronny seltsame Gerusche, die aus dem Keller zu kommen scheinen. Ihre Mitbewohner halten sie fr verrckt und glauben ihr nicht, zumal sich kein Eingang zu einem Keller finden lsst. Schlielich hlt sie die Gerusche selbst fr Nebenwirkungen ihrer Exzesse. Doch das sind sie nicht Zwei Meter tiefer sa, an einen Stuhl gefesselt, eine Frau. Der gelbe Polyesterstoff, mit dem sie geknebelt war, brannte. Die Frau hie Celia. Sie war achtunddreiig Jahre alt und hatte zwei Kinder. Seit vier Wochen war sie in diesem Keller gefangen."e;

Tod sei Dank

Tod sei Dank

Author: Helen FitzGerald Format: eBook Release Date: 16/02/2012

Humor, so schwarz wie ein OP-Saal bei Stromausfall.Ein verzweifelter Vater und zwei kranke Tochter. Eine Junkie-Mutter und ihr krimineller Liebhaber. Und keine Spenderniere weit und breit! Helen FitzGerald hat einen duster-komischen Familienroman geschrieben, der kein Auge trocken lasst. Will Marion ist alleinerziehender Vater der 16-jhrigen Zwillinge Georgie und Kay. Kay ist liebenswert und frhlich, Georgie aggressiv und verschlossen. Eines haben beide gemeinsam: Sie brauchen eine Spenderniere, sonst werden sie sterben. Und Will kann nur eine Niere vergeben. Nach langem Grbeln beschliet er, lieber doch nicht die Niere eines armen Filipino im Internet zu kaufen oder einen klinisch perfekten Selbstmord zu begehen. Stattdessen setzt er einen Privatdetektiv darauf an, Cynthia zu finden. Sie ist die Mutter von Georgie und Kay und vor 13 Jahren mit Heath, ihrem Dealer und Lover, abgehauen. Ihre Niere knnte nun das Leben einer der Tchter retten, glaubt Will. Doch Cynthia hat andere Plne, als sie nach Schottland zurckkehrt: Sie will Heroin, und sie will Heath aus dem Gefngnis freibekommen. Auerdem weigert sich der Arzt ohnehin, eine Junkie-Niere zu transplantieren. Will ist ratlos. Whrend es Kay immer schlechter geht und Georgie trotz Dialyse und Todesangst auf der Suche nach der groen Liebe ist, schreibt ihr Vater eines Nachts im Rotweindunst eine verzweifelte Liste: Pro und Contra, Georgie versus Kay In Helen FitzGeralds bisher bestem Roman, wie immer mit tiefschwarzem Humor und doch voller Herzenswrme, treffen die Schicksale ihrer Protagonisten auf dramatische und oft makabre Art zusammen. Sie erzhlt die Geschichte von zwei Mdchen und ihrem Vater, die verdammt bel dran sind und dennoch nicht aufgeben wollen.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://helenfitzgerald.wordpress.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more