likeyoulove
Search our site
White Bodies by Jane Robins Read the opening extract of the brand new Jane Robins book before its publication on 03/05/2018

The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle
  

The Man I Think I Know

Relationship Stories   Books of the Month   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

April 2018 Book of the Month

“It’s a bit weird,” says Danny to James and indeed it is. Here are two thirty-six year old single young men who were once rival star scholars at an elite public boarding school now damaged. Danny was the scholarship student from a council estate, James an upper-class lad from wealthy parents. Both have sunk into a pit. How they got there and are desperately trying to climb out makes for a sensitive and highly compulsive read. Danny suffered loss and has been unable to get over the trauma, James had an “incident” which has left him brain damaged, he is now looked after by his restrictive parents. James is inadvertently responsible for Danny quitting his job and so hits upon the idea of being able to get away from his parents by having Danny look after him. A bit weird indeed. I truly loved this book, unusual for Mike Gayle and very special indeed. - Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Mike Gayle you might also like to read books by Greg Williams, Mark Dunn and John O'farrell.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our LoveReading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Katy Noyes - 'Such a moving and true-feeling story of men's friendship and mutual support. A mature work, a wonderful relationship between two male friends. Moving, heart-warming and real. Loved it.'
  • Linda Birt - 'This is not the sort of book I would normally read, however I would highly recommend that you do the story will stay with you forever.'
  • Cheryl Kinney - 'Good story about a friendship.'
  • Joanne Taylor - 'It's heartwarming;wonderfully written. A fantastic read that captured the unexpected happening to someone. It makes you aware of how a life can be turned upside down within a split second.'
  • Lindyloumac - 'Highly recommended for those that enjoy relationship novels.'

Synopsis

The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle

'What a beautiful, tender, unexpected story. It uplifted me a lot. It was LOVELY' Marian KeyesThis is the stunning new novel from bestselling author Mike Gayle. A powerful story of male friendship, a thought provoking storyline told with Mike's distinctive wit and insight, touching on issues which affect us all. Crucially, though, it focuses on what we mean by success and reminds us of the simple courage at the heart of every human being.Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.He likes to know what happens next.Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly. But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways. For fans of Jojo Moyes and Ruth Hogan, this uplifting read has all of Mike's warmth and humour but at its very core life lessons for us all.

Reviews

'That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship. The Man I Think I Know is a truthful, wise and wonderfully redemptive story about men stripped bare of the traditional ideals of masculinity - success, strength, power - learning to face up to the real world. I absolutely loved it.' - Lisa Jewell

'The Man I Think I Know is gloriously good. Touching, uplifting, brave and funny, it's a story of life, second chances and daring to believe in better things. James and Danny's friendship is beautifully portrayed: I was rooting for them from the start and cheering them to the finish. I defy anyone not to fall in love with this book. Downright wonderful!' - Miranda Dickinson

'A very special book. A moving, thought-provoking storyline told with humour and insight. I loved the distinctive voices of James and Danny and really missed them when I finished it!' - Tracy Rees

'Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it!' Jenny Colgan

'Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming. Mike does a wonderful job of tackling a tricky subject (ABI) with sensitivity, wit and humour. His story reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences. But I think the thing that struck me most about this book were the voices of Danny Allen and James DeWitt. They were pitch-perfect and helped to create a pair of characters I was rooting for from the start and cheering for by the end.' - Ruth Hogan


About the Author

Previously an Agony Uncle, Mike Gayle is a freelance journalist who has contributed to a variety of magazines including FHM, Sunday Times, Style and Cosmopolitan. He is the author of eight previous bestselling novels. He has been selected for the 2011 Quick Read programme and been a judge for the Prince Maurice literary love story award 2010.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

19th April 2018

Author

Mike Gayle

More books by Mike Gayle
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.mikegayle.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Hodder & Stoughton Ltd an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division

Format

Hardback
320 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Books of the Month

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781473608986

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools