Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

win prizes twitter books of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

This edition has not yet been published

If available, why not choose another format from the 'Other Formats' box on the right.

Reader Reviewed
The Devil's Dice by Roz Watkins
  

The Devil's Dice

Part of the A DI Meg Dalton thriller Series
Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   Debuts of the Month   Exclusive Pre-Publication   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

The first in the ‘DI Meg Dalton Thriller’ series is an addictive, absolute treat of a read. Meg recently moved forces and is now based in Derbyshire, she is thrown in the deep end when a lawyer is found dead in a cave and a sinister game of cat and mouse is initiated. ‘The Devil’s Dice’ was shortlisted for the 2016 Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Award (for unpublished writers), so my expectations were high, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. The first few pages set my thoughts fluttering, and throughout this tale a ghostly shadow hovers over the pages. Roz Watkins allows humour to enter at just the right moments, and has created a fabulous main lead. While Meg does have her fair share of problems, and a certain vulnerability too, she really grew on me. As I read, I set my mind free, to delve into the pages, to ponder, to speculate. The Devil’s Dice’ is just so readable, this is a thoroughly modern tale with a teasing strange connection to the past, and a towering cliff hanger of an ending… hopefully there will be many more stories to come. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Kathy Howell - 'This book is an excellent read - I found it hard to put down!'
  • Alan Brown - 'An excellent first book by Roz Watkins. The sharp quick grammar style wheels the reader along breathlessly through the story.'    
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Easy reading and intriguing thriller with characters full of fun and a sense of reality about their lives.'    
  • Nikki Whitmore - 'A (Derbyshire) debut worthy of your time...really enjoyable and clever.'
  • Sharon Wood - 'A satisfying and enjoyable debut about a Peak District Detective's investigation of a grisly murder, a local curse, witchcraft and suicides.  Well-paced and entertaining.'    
  • Helen Clark - 'The twist and turns make it a compelling read, cleverly steering the reader into a labyrinth of deceptions and lies.  An intelligent, fast moving story and a cracking debut novel.'
  • Linda Haw - 'An excellent debut novel. This was a real page turner which was difficult to put down. Roz Watkins is a talent to watch out for.'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'The Devil's Dice is no ordinary police procedural and certainly stands out from the crowd. It's a very twisty mystery, with plenty of cliff-hangers and a clever thought-provoking plot.'
  • Nicola Kingswell - A real page-turner of a supernatural murder mystery where nothing is quite as it seems.
  • Alison Layland - A gripping and involving debut, with a central character I would like to see more of.
  • Gillian Wilmott - Introducing DI Meg Dalton, who despite her seemingly crippling lack of confidence plunges in “where angels fear to tread” and often suffers for it !  Like a clever “whodunit” ?  You’ll enjoy this!
  • Reba Khatun - The Devil’s Dice is so cleverly written by debut author, Roz Watkins. The clues are ingeniously hidden throughout the story. I can’t wait for the next DI Meg Dalton novel. I’m definitely hooked.
  • Ian Watkin - The Devils Dice is a great debut book from Roz Watkins. The story cleverly weaves in a murder mystery which is being investigated by DI Meg Dalton who also has a personal matter from her past that keeps cropping up and causing issues for her.
  • Jocelyn Garvey - This is a good new detective thriller with unusual twists. It is set in the Peak District giving it a different setting with its own problems, areas of bad communications and narrow twisting roads.

Synopsis

The Devil's Dice by Roz Watkins

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley. This game can only end in murder.

A SHOCKING DEATH A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded...

Reviews

`A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again B A Paris

`An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start Stephen Booth

`A fascinating debut with a deliciously old school mystery at its heart. I can't wait to see what Watkins does next! Angela Clarke

`The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot. Sarah Ward

`Brilliant. I love Meg! Lisa Hall

`Smart, atmospheric detective story with an unexpected topical twist Adam Hamdy

`Really enjoyed The Devil's Dice - loved the supernatural feel and excellent resolution. What a copper! Mick Finlay

`A humdinger of a debut - whip-smart and with a protagonist you're guaranteed to want to get behind Mel McGrath

About the Author

Roz originally studied engineering and natural sciences at Cambridge University, before becoming a patent attorney in Derby, but this has absolutely nothing to do with there being a dead one in her first novel. In her spare time, Roz clicker-trains her dog and horse, and likes to walk in the Peak District, scouting out murder locations.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th March 2018

Author

Roz Watkins

More books by Roz Watkins
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
384 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
Debuts of the Month
Exclusive Pre-Publication

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780008214616

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools