newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Sapphire Widow by Dinah Jefferies Read the opening extract of the brand new Dinah Jefferies book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Devil's Dice by Roz Watkins
  

Lovereading view...

March 2018 Debut of the Month

The first in the ‘DI Meg Dalton Thriller’ series is an addictive, absolute treat of a read. Meg recently moved forces and is now based in Derbyshire, she is thrown in the deep end when a lawyer is found dead in a cave and a sinister game of cat and mouse is initiated. ‘The Devil’s Dice’ was shortlisted for the 2016 Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Award (for unpublished writers), so my expectations were high, and I certainly wasn’t disappointed. The first few pages set my thoughts fluttering, and throughout this tale a ghostly shadow hovers over the pages. Roz Watkins allows humour to enter at just the right moments, and has created a fabulous main lead. While Meg does have her fair share of problems, and a certain vulnerability too, she really grew on me. As I read, I set my mind free, to delve into the pages, to ponder, to speculate. The Devil’s Dice’ is just so readable, this is a thoroughly modern tale with a teasing strange connection to the past, and a towering cliff hanger of an ending… hopefully there will be many more stories to come. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Edel Waugh - 'I found this impossible to put down, so I didn’t and read it all in one go. I recommend this to all fans of Broadchurch.'
  • Kathy Howell - 'This book is an excellent read - I found it hard to put down!'
  • Alan Brown - 'An excellent first book by Roz Watkins. The sharp quick grammar style wheels the reader along breathlessly through the story.'    
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Easy reading and intriguing thriller with characters full of fun and a sense of reality about their lives.'    
  • Nikki Whitmore - 'A (Derbyshire) debut worthy of your time...really enjoyable and clever.'
  • Sharon Wood - 'A satisfying and enjoyable debut about a Peak District Detective's investigation of a grisly murder, a local curse, witchcraft and suicides.  Well-paced and entertaining.'    
  • Helen Clark - 'The twist and turns make it a compelling read, cleverly steering the reader into a labyrinth of deceptions and lies.  An intelligent, fast moving story and a cracking debut novel.'
  • Linda Haw - 'An excellent debut novel. This was a real page turner which was difficult to put down. Roz Watkins is a talent to watch out for.'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'The Devil's Dice is no ordinary police procedural and certainly stands out from the crowd. It's a very twisty mystery, with plenty of cliff-hangers and a clever thought-provoking plot.'
  • Nicola Kingswell - A real page-turner of a supernatural murder mystery where nothing is quite as it seems.
  • Alison Layland - A gripping and involving debut, with a central character I would like to see more of.
  • Gillian Wilmott - Introducing DI Meg Dalton, who despite her seemingly crippling lack of confidence plunges in “where angels fear to tread” and often suffers for it !  Like a clever “whodunit” ?  You’ll enjoy this!
  • Reba Khatun - The Devil’s Dice is so cleverly written by debut author, Roz Watkins. The clues are ingeniously hidden throughout the story. I can’t wait for the next DI Meg Dalton novel. I’m definitely hooked.
  • Ian Watkin - The Devils Dice is a great debut book from Roz Watkins. The story cleverly weaves in a murder mystery which is being investigated by DI Meg Dalton who also has a personal matter from her past that keeps cropping up and causing issues for her.
  • Jocelyn Garvey - This is a good new detective thriller with unusual twists. It is set in the Peak District giving it a different setting with its own problems, areas of bad communications and narrow twisting roads.
  • Julie Evans - 'A good debut novel kept recent with the use of geocaching!  Likeable characters, good storyline but a bit like a rollercoaster ride, parts that were fast and thrilling, others slower and drawn out.'

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

The Devil's Dice by Roz Watkins

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley. This game can only end in murder.

A SHOCKING DEATH A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded...

Reviews

`A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again B A Paris

`An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start Stephen Booth

`A fascinating debut with a deliciously old school mystery at its heart. I can't wait to see what Watkins does next! Angela Clarke

`The Devil's Dice encapsulates the dark heart of the Peaks and enthrals the reader with its clever and compelling plot. Sarah Ward

`Brilliant. I love Meg! Lisa Hall

`Smart, atmospheric detective story with an unexpected topical twist Adam Hamdy

`Really enjoyed The Devil's Dice - loved the supernatural feel and excellent resolution. What a copper! Mick Finlay

`A humdinger of a debut - whip-smart and with a protagonist you're guaranteed to want to get behind Mel McGrath

About the Author

Roz originally studied engineering and natural sciences at Cambridge University, before becoming a patent attorney in Derby, but this has absolutely nothing to do with there being a dead one in her first novel. In her spare time, Roz clicker-trains her dog and horse, and likes to walk in the Peak District, scouting out murder locations.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th March 2018

Author

Roz Watkins

More books by Roz Watkins
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

HQ an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
368 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery

Crime & mystery
Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9780008214616

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools