Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

debuts of the month book price comparison
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Wren Hunt by Mary Watson
  

The Wren Hunt

NewGen - YA Fiction   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

February 2018 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: Electrifying folkloric thriller

Blending folkloric fantasy with contemporary romance, this immersive multi-layered novel heralds the arrival of a unique new voice in young adult fiction.

Each Christmas, Wren is hunted in a twisted, tormenting re-enactment of an old game. But the village bullies don’t realise that Wren is part of the Augur family, formerly powerful kinfolk whose magical influence was all but obliterated by the Judges. When Wren is captured in the hunt and a boy claims a lock of her hair, she must become a spy in the house of the most powerful Judge of all.

Straddling ancient Celtic mythology and the 21st century, the exhilarating storyline teems with tension as Wren lies, steals and searches her heart and soul while summoning up magic to save her family. The language is lyrical, the concept unique and, while comparisons are tricky to make, I’d recommend this highly to fans of Frances Hardinge’s thought-provoking fantasy. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Humaira Kauser - 'The Wren Hunt is such a captivating book; I couldn't put it down until the last word was read.'
  • Grace Spear - 'an extremely mysterious book which when I put it down always left me wanting more...I could relate to all the characters on some level and would defiantly recommend this book!'
  • Aimee Sweet - 'Enigmatic and nothing quite like I have read before, The Wren Hunt is full of action from the very beginning.'
  • Faghra Saleem - 'Beautiful, compelling and highly addictive. A book destined to become a bestseller.'
  • Olivia Tierney - 'Rich in mythology and character depth, The Wren Hunt is a fantastic read with a daring plot and surprising revelations throughout. Mary Watson keeps you on the edge of your seat, hungry for more.'

Synopsis

The Wren Hunt by Mary Watson

Every year on St Stephen's Day, Wren Silke is chased through the forest in a warped version of a childhood game. Her pursuers are judges - a group of powerful and frightening boys who know nothing of her true identity. If they knew she was an augur - their sworn enemy - the game would be up. This year, the tension between judges and augurs is at breaking point. Wren's survival, and that of her family, depends on her becoming a spy in the midst of these boys she fears most and using her talent, her magic, to steal from them the only thing that can restore her family's former power for good. But Wren's talent comes with a price. The more she uses it, the more she loses her grip on reality and soon she's questioning everything she's ever known about her family, about augurs and judges, and about the dangerous tattooed stranger who most definitely is not on her side ... Part thriller, part love story, this captivating debut novel about a girl caught in a battle between two ancient magics will appeal to readers of Frances Hardinge and Alice Broadway

Reviews

The most superb collection of character and fantasy and love and landscape I have read since Phillip Pullman's Northern Lights Hilary McKay

A modern day fairy tale ... Throwing romance, magical visions and gruesome rituals into the pot, this is a thrilling and otherworldly depiction of Irish culture Sunday Times Magazine

Beautiful, eerie, dark and dreamy ... An absolutely stunning mix of myth and legend and family saga. I haven't stopped thinking about it Melinda Salisbury

The tentacles of this story reach deep into Ireland's mythological past, in a haunting tale ... The story is riveting, set in a modern country town but at all times laced with reminders of more violent but intriguing times Irish Examiner

In this moody magical thriller, a girl with a secret identity and a talent that doubles as a curse has to outwit her enemies, survive her own damaging power, and follow her heart. For fans of The Call and The Shannara Chronicles Buzzfeed

The Wren Hunt rings with ancient, subtle magic, masterfully transmuted into words. A tale that gets into your bones Samantha Shannon

[I have] fallen under the spell of The Wren Hunt, a beautifully written story and unlike anything I have read ... Magical and real Jenny McLachlan

A beautiful mix of myth and magic and discovering the path you want to tread Karen Gregory

Folklore, secrets, betrayal, magic, forbidden love and dark discoveries. Eerie, atmospheric, seductive and completely captivating Katherine Webber

About the Author

Mary Watson

Mary Watson is from Cape Town and now lives on the West Coast of Ireland with her husband and three young children. Highlights of her adult writing career include being awarded the Caine Prize for African Writing in Oxford in 2006, and being included on the Hay Festival's 2014 Africa39 list of influential writers from sub-Saharan Africa.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

8th February 2018

Author

Mary Watson

More books by Mary Watson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.marywatsonbooks.com/abo...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781408884935

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools