Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

books of the month twitter
Search our site
A Country Escape by Katie Fforde Read the opening extract of the brand new Katie Fforde book before its publication on 22/02/2018

Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair by Heidi Swain
  

Lovereading view...

This feel-good festive feast is the perfect stocking filler for those who yearn for the magic of a good old yuletide miracle.

When Anna arrives at remote Wynthorpe Hall to work as companion to its eccentric owner, she’s one of life’s confirmed Christmas humbugs. Every year, for almost twenty years, Anna’s “longed-for gift of working every day of December” has been granted, due to a diligent search she begins “when the first leaves fall in autumn”. This year, Anna’s new workplace has an immediate emotional effect. On first glimpsing the building, she shudders “as something deep within me seemed to stir and shift”. Then, when she’s shown to her room, Rose Room, with its four-poster bed and roaring log fire, she’s transported back to a memory and tempted to wonder if some serendipitous magic might be at play. But, while Anna soon feels like she’s been part of Wynthorpe Hall for years, life’s not entirely a bed of roses, for the return of the household’s youngest son threatens to throw her off-course, along with opening a Pandora’s box of giddy possibilities for them both.

Packed with plenty of passion to keep the cockles warm this winter, this is the perfect Christmas comfort read for fans of Jenny Colgan, Carole Matthews and Sophie Kinsella. ~ Joanne Owen

Synopsis

Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair by Heidi Swain

The new Christmas bestseller from the author of Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market!

When Anna takes on the role of companion to the owner of Wynthorpe Hall, on the outskirts of Wynbridge, she has no idea that her life is set to change beyond all recognition. A confirmed `bah humbug' when it comes to Christmas, Anna is amazed to find herself quickly immersed in the eccentric household, and when youngest son Jamie unexpectedly arrives home it soon becomes obvious that her personal feelings are going all out to compromise her professional persona.Jamie, struggling to come to terms with life back in the Fens, makes a pact with Anna - she has to teach him to fall back in love with Wynthorpe Hall, while he helps her fall back in love with Christmas. But will it all prove too much for Anna, or can the family of Wynthorpe Hall warm her heart once and for all...? Join Anna for a festive journey that is festooned with sleigh rides and silver bells and help her discover her happy ever after.

Reviews

Praise for Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market:

`This charming and delightful novel is a total gem' Heat, 5 stars

`Swain's delicious story is a true festive treat... tasty food, a sprinkling of intrigue and a large helping of romance!' Lancashire Evening Post

`Sparkling and romantic' My Weekly

About the Author

Heidi Swain lives in Norfolk with her husband and two teenage children. Her debut novel The Cherry Tree Cafe will be published in July 2015. Follow Heidi on twitter @Heidi_Swain or visit her blog at www.heidiswain.blogspot.co.uk

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th October 2017

Author

Heidi Swain

More books by Heidi Swain
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Format

Paperback
480 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Literary Fiction
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Romance

ISBN

9781471164859

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools