Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair

by Heidi Swain

eBooks of the Month Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories Sagas and Romance

LoveReading View on Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair

This feel-good festive feast is the perfect stocking filler for those who yearn for the magic of a good old yuletide miracle.

When Anna arrives at remote Wynthorpe Hall to work as companion to its eccentric owner, she’s one of life’s confirmed Christmas humbugs. Every year, for almost twenty years, Anna’s “longed-for gift of working every day of December” has been granted, due to a diligent search she begins “when the first leaves fall in autumn”. This year, Anna’s new workplace has an immediate emotional effect. On first glimpsing the building, she shudders “as something deep within me seemed to stir and shift”. Then, when she’s shown to her room, Rose Room, with its four-poster bed and roaring log fire, she’s transported back to a memory and tempted to wonder if some serendipitous magic might be at play. But, while Anna soon feels like she’s been part of Wynthorpe Hall for years, life’s not entirely a bed of roses, for the return of the household’s youngest son threatens to throw her off-course, along with opening a Pandora’s box of giddy possibilities for them both.

Packed with plenty of passion to keep the cockles warm this winter, this is the perfect Christmas comfort read for fans of Jenny Colgan, Carole Matthews and Sophie Kinsella. Joanne Owen

Joanne Owen

Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair Synopsis

The new Christmas bestseller from the author of Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market!

When Anna takes on the role of companion to the owner of Wynthorpe Hall, on the outskirts of Wynbridge, she has no idea that her life is set to change beyond all recognition. A confirmed `bah humbug' when it comes to Christmas, Anna is amazed to find herself quickly immersed in the eccentric household, and when youngest son Jamie unexpectedly arrives home it soon becomes obvious that her personal feelings are going all out to compromise her professional persona.Jamie, struggling to come to terms with life back in the Fens, makes a pact with Anna - she has to teach him to fall back in love with Wynthorpe Hall, while he helps her fall back in love with Christmas. But will it all prove too much for Anna, or can the family of Wynthorpe Hall warm her heart once and for all...? Join Anna for a festive journey that is festooned with sleigh rides and silver bells and help her discover her happy ever after.

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

Sleigh Rides and Silver Bells at the Christmas Fair Press Reviews

Praise for Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market:

`This charming and delightful novel is a total gem' Heat, 5 stars

`Swain's delicious story is a true festive treat... tasty food, a sprinkling of intrigue and a large helping of romance!' Lancashire Evening Post

`Sparkling and romantic' My Weekly

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Ghost Tree
Fairytale
The Plus One
The Fisherman's Girl

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471164859
Publication date: 05/10/2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471164859
Publication date: 5th October 2017
Author: Heidi Swain
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Literary Fiction, Relationship Stories, Sagas and Romance,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Romance,

About Heidi Swain

Heidi Swain lives in Norfolk with her husband and two teenage children. Her debut novel The Cherry Tree Cafe will be published in July 2015. Follow Heidi on twitter @Heidi_Swain or visit her blog at www.heidiswain.blogspot.co.uk

More About Heidi Swain

Share this book