The Treatment

by C. L. Taylor

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Relationship Stories Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on The Treatment

In a Nutshell: Edge-of-your-seat institutional indoctrination thriller

Suspense, suspicion and sinister secrets abound in this accomplished YA debut from the bestselling author of four adult thrillers.

Sixteen-year-old Drew’s troublesome brother, Mason, has been sent to a specialist residential reform academy after yet another expulsion from school. Drew isn’t bothered by this until a woman claiming to be Mason’s former academy psychologist gives her a cry-for-help-note from her brother. “We’re not being reformed, we're being brainwashed,” it explains. Then the anxious psychologist makes a disconcerting disclosure - “I would have got him out if I could. I would have got them all out” – before she’s run over. Convinced this hit and run was no accident, and terrified for her brother’s well being, Drew digs deep into the dark secrets of the academy. When she’s admitted there herself, she discovers that the supposed treatment is, in fact, a process by which teenagers are controlled and brainwashed into zombie-like shadows of themselves.

Drew’s effort to save her brother and uncover the truth is packed with audacious plot twists, and fuelled by a rip-roaring race against time, and this entertaining thriller comes recommended for fans of Cat Clarke, and Cecelia Ahern’s Flawed.  Joanne Owen

Joanne Owen

The Treatment Synopsis

Cecelia Ahern's Flawed meets Never Let Me Go in the pulse-pounding YA thriller from the Top Ten Sunday Times bestselling author of The Escape.

You have to help me. We're not being reformed. We're being brainwashed. All sixteen year old Drew Finch wants is to be left alone. She's not interested in spending time with her mum and stepdad and when her disruptive fifteen year old brother Mason is expelled from school for the third time and sent to a residential reform academy she's almost relieved. Everything changes when she's followed home from school by the mysterious Dr Cobey, who claims to have a message from Mason. There is something sinister about the `treatment' he is undergoing. The school is changing people. Determined to help her brother, Drew must infiltrate the Academy and unearth its deepest, darkest secrets. Before it's too late.

The Treatment Press Reviews

Praise for The Lie;

Haunting and heart-stoppingly creepy, The Lie is a gripping roller coaster of suspense.  Sunday Express

`5/5 stars - Spine-chilling!'   Woman Magazine

`An excellent psychological thriller'  Heat Magazine

If you loved this, you might like these...

Overkill
The Last Thing She Told Me
The Mystery of Three Quarters
Before Her Eyes

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008240561
Publication date: 19/10/2017
Publisher: HQ Young Adult an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008240561
Publication date: 19th October 2017
Author: C. L. Taylor
Publisher: HQ Young Adult an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Relationship Stories, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Thrillers (Children's / Teenage), Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About C. L. Taylor

CL Taylor studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle and currently works 4 days a week as a Distance Learning Design and Development manager for a London university, looks after her toddler son 3 days a week and squeezes in writing her novels when she should be sleeping.   Author photo © Jim Ross

More About C. L. Taylor

More Books By C. L. Taylor

Cover for The Fear The Sensational New Thriller from the Sunday Times Bestseller, Now in a Brand New Look for 2018 by C. L. Taylor
Cover for The Escape by C. L. Taylor
Cover for The Missing by C. L. Taylor
View All Books By C. L. Taylor

Share this book