The Treatment

by C. L. Taylor

Relationship Stories Thriller and Suspense Children's & YA Fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Treatment

In a Nutshell: Edge-of-your-seat institutional indoctrination thriller

Suspense, suspicion and sinister secrets abound in this accomplished YA debut from the bestselling author of four adult thrillers.

Sixteen-year-old Drew’s troublesome brother, Mason, has been sent to a specialist residential reform academy after yet another expulsion from school. Drew isn’t bothered by this until a woman claiming to be Mason’s former academy psychologist gives her a cry-for-help-note from her brother. “We’re not being reformed, we're being brainwashed,” it explains. Then the anxious psychologist makes a disconcerting disclosure - “I would have got him out if I could. I would have got them all out” – before she’s run over. Convinced this hit and run was no accident, and terrified for her brother’s well being, Drew digs deep into the dark secrets of the academy. When she’s admitted there herself, she discovers that the supposed treatment is, in fact, a process by which teenagers are controlled and brainwashed into zombie-like shadows of themselves.

Drew’s effort to save her brother and uncover the truth is packed with audacious plot twists, and fuelled by a rip-roaring race against time, and this entertaining thriller comes recommended for fans of Cat Clarke, and Cecelia Ahern’s Flawed.  Joanne Owen

Joanne Owen

The Treatment Synopsis

Cecelia Ahern's Flawed meets Never Let Me Go in the pulse-pounding YA thriller from the Top Ten Sunday Times bestselling author of The Escape.

You have to help me. We're not being reformed. We're being brainwashed. All sixteen year old Drew Finch wants is to be left alone. She's not interested in spending time with her mum and stepdad and when her disruptive fifteen year old brother Mason is expelled from school for the third time and sent to a residential reform academy she's almost relieved. Everything changes when she's followed home from school by the mysterious Dr Cobey, who claims to have a message from Mason. There is something sinister about the `treatment' he is undergoing. The school is changing people. Determined to help her brother, Drew must infiltrate the Academy and unearth its deepest, darkest secrets. Before it's too late.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780008240561
Publication date: 19th October 2017
Author: C. L. Taylor
Publisher: HQ Young Adult an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 30/09/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from July to September. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: The Beresford by Will Carver - Published 22nd July Girls Who Lie by Eva Bjorg Aegisdottir - Published 22nd July No Honour by Awais Khan - Published 19th August The Great Silence by Doug Johnstone - Published 19th August Black Reed Bay by Rod Reynolds - Published 2nd September This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 30th September 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Treatment

I Invited Her In
Everything You Told Me
Falling Awake

C. L. Taylor Press Reviews

Praise for The Lie;

Haunting and heart-stoppingly creepy, The Lie is a gripping roller coaster of suspense.  Sunday Express

`5/5 stars - Spine-chilling!'   Woman Magazine

`An excellent psychological thriller'  Heat Magazine

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780008240561
Publication date: 19/10/2017
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About C. L. Taylor

CL Taylor studied for a degree in Psychology at the University of Northumbria, Newcastle and currently works 4 days a week as a Distance Learning Design and Development manager for a London university, looks after her toddler son 3 days a week and squeezes in writing her novels when she should be sleeping.   Author photo © Jim Ross

More About C. L. Taylor

More Books By C. L. Taylor

The Treatment
The Treatment
The Treatment
View All Books By C. L. Taylor

Share this book