LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Wolves in the Dark

by Gunnar Staalesen

Part of the Varg Veum Series

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Thriller and Suspense Translated Fiction

LoveReading View on Wolves in the Dark

A ferociously gripping read from a Norwegian writing legend. Private investigator Varg Veum is in serious trouble, child pornography is found on his computer, from prison he starts to pull all the pieces together in a quest to discover who has planted evidence and why they want to take him down. This novel is set after Where Roses Never Die, yet delves back in time to when Varg was in a pit of pain. Gunnar Staalesen allowed me to have my suspicions, yet kept my mind on high alert as the past cases are explored. This is at times an uncomfortable read, yet fascinating, thrilling, and action packed too. Varg sits on the edge of official, and dangles his legs over lawful, yet his morality is clear to see and feel. ‘Wolves in the Dark’ is another profound, dark, yet enjoyably readable tale from Staalesen and I can thoroughly recommend joining this series. ~ Liz Robinson

Click here to read a Q&A with Gunnar Staalesen about this book.

Liz Robinson

Wolves in the Dark Synopsis

Reeling from the death of his great love, Karin, Varg Veum's life has descended into a self-destructive spiral of alcohol, lust, grief and blackouts.When traces of child pornography are found on his computer, he's accused of being part of a paedophile ring and thrown into a prison cell. There, he struggles to sift through his past to work out who is responsible for planting the material ...and who is seeking the ultimate revenge.When a chance to escape presents itself, Varg finds himself on the run in his hometown of Bergen. With the clock ticking and the police on his tail, Varg takes on his hardest - and most personal - case yet.Chilling, shocking and exceptionally gripping, Wolves in the Dark reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.For fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, Thomas Enger, Kjell Ola Dahl, Jorn Lier Horst, Johan Theorin

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Win a Brilliant Orenda Book Bundle!

Closing date: 31/03/2021

We're teaming up once again with Orenda to offer another brilliant book giveaway! This book bundle will include some of their latest releases from December to March. A fantastic opportunity to stock your bookshelves. The titles up for grabs are: Winterkill by Ragnar Jonasson - Published December 2020 There's Only One Danny Garvey by  David F. Ross - Published January 2021 Deity by Matt Wesolowski - Published February 2021 Smoke Screen by Thomas Enger, Jorn Lier Horst - Published February 2021 Hotel Cartagena by Simone Buchholz  - Published March 2021? Bound by Vanda Symon - Published March 2021 This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 31st March 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Wolves in the Dark Press Reviews

'Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means 'wolf in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin

'A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo

'Gunnar Staalesen was writing suspenseful and socially conscious Nordic Noir long before any of today's Swedish crime writers had managed to put together a single book page ... one of Norway's most skillful storytellers'
Johan Theorin

'With its exploration of family dynamics and the complex web of human behaviour, Staalesen's novel echoes the great California author Ross MacDonald's Lew Archer mysteries ... mature and captivating' Herald Scotland

'Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces ... with some abrasive social commentary' Financial Times

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sleep Tight
Bound
Later
Cry Baby

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781910633724
Publication date: 15/06/2017
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781910633724
Publication date: 15th June 2017
Author: Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Thriller / Suspense, Translated Fiction,
Collections: 70+ Action-Packed Books,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense, Fiction in translation,

About Gunnar Staalesen

One of the fathers of the Nordic Noir genre, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty-three titles, which have been published in twenty-six countries and sold over five million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Epsen Seim, and a further series is currently being filmed. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the ...

More About Gunnar Staalesen

More Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Cover for Fallen Angels by Gunnar Staalesen
Cover for Wolves at the Door by Gunnar Staalesen
Cover for Big Sister by Gunnar Staalesen
View All Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Share this book