LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Wolves in the Dark

by Gunnar Staalesen

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Scandinavian Crime: Dark, morally complex, direct Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Wolves in the Dark

A ferociously gripping read from a Norwegian writing legend. Private investigator Varg Veum is in serious trouble, child pornography is found on his computer, from prison he starts to pull all the pieces together in a quest to discover who has planted evidence and why they want to take him down. This novel is set after Where Roses Never Die, yet delves back in time to when Varg was in a pit of pain. Gunnar Staalesen allowed me to have my suspicions, yet kept my mind on high alert as the past cases are explored. This is at times an uncomfortable read, yet fascinating, thrilling, and action packed too. Varg sits on the edge of official, and dangles his legs over lawful, yet his morality is clear to see and feel. ‘Wolves in the Dark’ is another profound, dark, yet enjoyably readable tale from Staalesen and I can thoroughly recommend joining this series. ~ Liz Robinson

Click here to read a Q&A with Gunnar Staalesen about this book.

Liz Robinson

Wolves in the Dark Synopsis

Reeling from the death of his great love, Karin, Varg Veum's life has descended into a self-destructive spiral of alcohol, lust, grief and blackouts.When traces of child pornography are found on his computer, he's accused of being part of a paedophile ring and thrown into a prison cell. There, he struggles to sift through his past to work out who is responsible for planting the material ...and who is seeking the ultimate revenge.When a chance to escape presents itself, Varg finds himself on the run in his hometown of Bergen. With the clock ticking and the police on his tail, Varg takes on his hardest - and most personal - case yet.Chilling, shocking and exceptionally gripping, Wolves in the Dark reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.For fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, Thomas Enger, Kjell Ola Dahl, Jorn Lier Horst, Johan Theorin

Win a Signed Copy of The Silent House plus a Treat for When You Can't Put It Down!

Win a Signed Copy of The Silent House plus a Treat for When You Can't Put It Down!

Closing date: 05/04/2020

The Silent House by Nell Pattison is: "A striking and compelling debut set after the murder of 18-month-old Lexi Hunter sends a shockwave through the local community." Liz Robinson, Expert Reviewer This debut is released on the 5th March and we're offering a signed paperback copy of The Silent House as well as a small readers kit including a small bottle of gin (one glass) and a chocolate bar – sustenance for when you can’t put it down! This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. As there is alcohol offered on the prize, you must be 18 or over to enter. The draw closes on 5th April 2020. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

Wolves in the Dark Press Reviews

'Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means 'wolf in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin

'A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo

'Gunnar Staalesen was writing suspenseful and socially conscious Nordic Noir long before any of today's Swedish crime writers had managed to put together a single book page ... one of Norway's most skillful storytellers'
Johan Theorin

'With its exploration of family dynamics and the complex web of human behaviour, Staalesen's novel echoes the great California author Ross MacDonald's Lew Archer mysteries ... mature and captivating' Herald Scotland

'Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces ... with some abrasive social commentary' Financial Times

If you loved this, you might like these...

Black River
One Good Deed
Mexico Street
Containment

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781910633724
Publication date: 15/06/2017
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781910633724
Publication date: 15th June 2017
Author: Gunnar Staalesen
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Scandinavian Crime, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Crime & mystery, Thriller / suspense, Fiction in translation,

About Gunnar Staalesen

Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947. He made his debut at the age of 22 with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over 20 titles, which have been published in 24 countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Epsen Seim. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour), lives in Bergen with his wife. Below is a Q&A with this author. 1. You ...

More About Gunnar Staalesen

More Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Cover for Wolves at the Door by Gunnar Staalesen
Cover for Big Sister by Gunnar Staalesen
Cover for Where Roses Never Die by Gunnar Staalesen
View All Books By Gunnar Staalesen

Share this book