Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

win prizes debuts of the month twitter make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Reconciliation for the Dead by Paul E. Hardisty
  

Reconciliation for the Dead

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Father's Day   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This third explosive political page-turner featuring Claymore Straker sees the justice-driven protagonist back in South Africa testifying before Desmond Tutu’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Gripping disclosures reveal why Clay was discharged as a paratrooper some fifteen years earlier, in 1980, when he was deployed to combat communist rebels who threatened to overthrow white apartheid.

The depth of factual and descriptive detail respectively inform and embellish an exhilarating reading experience without ever curtailing the onward march of the riveting plot, and the author’s extraordinary personal experiences furnish his work with authenticity and integrity. Strikingly sophisticated, this top-notch thriller teems with conspiratorial intrigue and pulse-quickening action drawn from shocking real-life events. ~ Joanne Owen

Win a SIGNED FIRST EDITION of Damaged.

Get into the Spirit of Christmas with our special SIGNED FIRST EDITIONS competition! We are giving away ONE first edition hardback of Martina Cole's new crime thriller, Damaged, signed by the author!

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 4 December 2017. The winners will be notified by 11th December 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 04/12/2017

Synopsis

Reconciliation for the Dead by Paul E. Hardisty

Fresh from events in Yemen and Cyprus, vigilante justice-seeker Claymore Straker returns to South Africa, seeking absolution for the sins of his past. Over four days, he testifies to Desmond Tutu's newly established Truth and Reconciliation Commission, recounting the shattering events that led to his dishonourable discharge and exile, fifteen years earlier.It was 1980. The height of the Cold War. Clay is a young paratrooper in the South African Army, fighting in Angola against the Communist insurgency that threatens to topple the White Apartheid regime. On a patrol deep inside Angola, Clay, and his best friend, Eben Barstow, find themselves enmeshed in a tangled conspiracy that threatens everything they have been taught to believe about war, and the sacrifices that they, and their brothers in arms, are expected to make. Witness and unwitting accomplice to an act of shocking brutality, Clay changes allegiance and finds himself labelled a deserter and accused of high treason, setting him on a journey into the dark, twisted heart of institutionalised hatred, from which no one will emergeunscathed.Exploring true events from one of the most hateful chapters in South African history, Reconciliation for the Dead is a shocking, explosive and gripping thriller from one finest writers in contemporary crime fiction. For fans of James Lee Burke, Lee Child, Terry Hayes and Robert Ludlum

Reviews

'A solid, meaty thriller - Hardisty is a fine writer and Straker is a great lead character'
Lee Child

'A trenchant and engaging thriller that unravels this mysterious land in cool, precise sentences'
Stav Sherez, Catholic Herald

'Just occasionally, a book comes along to restore your faith in a genre - and Paul Hardisty's The Abrupt Physics of Dying does this in spades'
Sharon Wheeler, Crime Review

'This is a remarkably well-written, sophisticated novel in which the people and places, as well as frequent scenes of violent action, all come alive on the page...'
Literary Review

'Hardisty doesn't put a foot wrong in this forceful, evocative thriller ... the author's deep knowledge of the settings never slows down the non-stop action, with distant echoes of a more-moral minded Jack Reacher or Jason Bourne'
Maxim Jakubowski

About the Author

Paul E. Hardisty

Canadian Paul E Hardisty has spent 25 years working all over the world as an engineer, hydrologist and environmental scientist. He has roughnecked on oil rigs in Texas, explored for gold in the Arctic, mapped geology in Eastern Turkey (where he was befriended by PKK rebels), and rehabilitated water wells in the wilds of Africa. He was in Ethiopia in 1991 as the Mengistu regime fell, and was bumped from one of the last flights out of Addis Ababa by bureaucrats and their families fleeing the rebels. In 1993 he survived a bomb blast in a café in Sana’a. Paul is a university professor, visiting professor at Imperial College, London, and Director of Australia’s national land, water, ecosystems and climate adaptation research programmes. His debut thriller was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger and Telegraph thriller of the year. He lives in Western Australia.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th May 2017

Author

Paul E. Hardisty

More books by Paul E. Hardisty
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orenda Books

Format

Paperback
450 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Father's Day
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Political / legal thriller
Crime & mystery
Adventure

ISBN

9781910633687

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools