likeyoulove
Search our site
Turn a Blind Eye by Vicky Newham Read the opening extract of the brand new Vicky Newham book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reconciliation for the Dead by Paul E. Hardisty
  

Reconciliation for the Dead

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Father's Day   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

This third explosive political page-turner featuring Claymore Straker sees the justice-driven protagonist back in South Africa testifying before Desmond Tutu’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Gripping disclosures reveal why Clay was discharged as a paratrooper some fifteen years earlier, in 1980, when he was deployed to combat communist rebels who threatened to overthrow white apartheid.

The depth of factual and descriptive detail respectively inform and embellish an exhilarating reading experience without ever curtailing the onward march of the riveting plot, and the author’s extraordinary personal experiences furnish his work with authenticity and integrity. Strikingly sophisticated, this top-notch thriller teems with conspiratorial intrigue and pulse-quickening action drawn from shocking real-life events. ~ Joanne Owen

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

Reconciliation for the Dead by Paul E. Hardisty

Fresh from events in Yemen and Cyprus, vigilante justice-seeker Claymore Straker returns to South Africa, seeking absolution for the sins of his past. Over four days, he testifies to Desmond Tutu's newly established Truth and Reconciliation Commission, recounting the shattering events that led to his dishonourable discharge and exile, fifteen years earlier.It was 1980. The height of the Cold War. Clay is a young paratrooper in the South African Army, fighting in Angola against the Communist insurgency that threatens to topple the White Apartheid regime. On a patrol deep inside Angola, Clay, and his best friend, Eben Barstow, find themselves enmeshed in a tangled conspiracy that threatens everything they have been taught to believe about war, and the sacrifices that they, and their brothers in arms, are expected to make. Witness and unwitting accomplice to an act of shocking brutality, Clay changes allegiance and finds himself labelled a deserter and accused of high treason, setting him on a journey into the dark, twisted heart of institutionalised hatred, from which no one will emergeunscathed.Exploring true events from one of the most hateful chapters in South African history, Reconciliation for the Dead is a shocking, explosive and gripping thriller from one finest writers in contemporary crime fiction. For fans of James Lee Burke, Lee Child, Terry Hayes and Robert Ludlum

Reviews

'A solid, meaty thriller - Hardisty is a fine writer and Straker is a great lead character'
Lee Child

'A trenchant and engaging thriller that unravels this mysterious land in cool, precise sentences'
Stav Sherez, Catholic Herald

'Just occasionally, a book comes along to restore your faith in a genre - and Paul Hardisty's The Abrupt Physics of Dying does this in spades'
Sharon Wheeler, Crime Review

'This is a remarkably well-written, sophisticated novel in which the people and places, as well as frequent scenes of violent action, all come alive on the page...'
Literary Review

'Hardisty doesn't put a foot wrong in this forceful, evocative thriller ... the author's deep knowledge of the settings never slows down the non-stop action, with distant echoes of a more-moral minded Jack Reacher or Jason Bourne'
Maxim Jakubowski

About the Author

Paul E. Hardisty

Canadian Paul E Hardisty has spent 25 years working all over the world as an engineer, hydrologist and environmental scientist. He has roughnecked on oil rigs in Texas, explored for gold in the Arctic, mapped geology in Eastern Turkey (where he was befriended by PKK rebels), and rehabilitated water wells in the wilds of Africa. He was in Ethiopia in 1991 as the Mengistu regime fell, and was bumped from one of the last flights out of Addis Ababa by bureaucrats and their families fleeing the rebels. In 1993 he survived a bomb blast in a café in Sana’a. Paul is a university professor, visiting professor at Imperial College, London, and Director of Australia’s national land, water, ecosystems and climate adaptation research programmes. His debut thriller was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger and Telegraph thriller of the year. He lives in Western Australia.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th May 2017

Author

Paul E. Hardisty

More books by Paul E. Hardisty
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orenda Books

Format

Paperback
450 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Father's Day
eBook Favourites

Political / legal thriller
Crime & mystery
Adventure

ISBN

9781910633687

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools