Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Reconciliation for the Dead

by Paul E. Hardisty

Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Thriller and Suspense

LoveReading View on Reconciliation for the Dead

This third explosive political page-turner featuring Claymore Straker sees the justice-driven protagonist back in South Africa testifying before Desmond Tutu’s Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Gripping disclosures reveal why Clay was discharged as a paratrooper some fifteen years earlier, in 1980, when he was deployed to combat communist rebels who threatened to overthrow white apartheid.

The depth of factual and descriptive detail respectively inform and embellish an exhilarating reading experience without ever curtailing the onward march of the riveting plot, and the author’s extraordinary personal experiences furnish his work with authenticity and integrity. Strikingly sophisticated, this top-notch thriller teems with conspiratorial intrigue and pulse-quickening action drawn from shocking real-life events. ~ Joanne Owen

Joanne Owen

Reconciliation for the Dead Synopsis

Fresh from events in Yemen and Cyprus, vigilante justice-seeker Claymore Straker returns to South Africa, seeking absolution for the sins of his past. Over four days, he testifies to Desmond Tutu's newly established Truth and Reconciliation Commission, recounting the shattering events that led to his dishonourable discharge and exile, fifteen years earlier.It was 1980. The height of the Cold War. Clay is a young paratrooper in the South African Army, fighting in Angola against the Communist insurgency that threatens to topple the White Apartheid regime. On a patrol deep inside Angola, Clay, and his best friend, Eben Barstow, find themselves enmeshed in a tangled conspiracy that threatens everything they have been taught to believe about war, and the sacrifices that they, and their brothers in arms, are expected to make. Witness and unwitting accomplice to an act of shocking brutality, Clay changes allegiance and finds himself labelled a deserter and accused of high treason, setting him on a journey into the dark, twisted heart of institutionalised hatred, from which no one will emergeunscathed.Exploring true events from one of the most hateful chapters in South African history, Reconciliation for the Dead is a shocking, explosive and gripping thriller from one finest writers in contemporary crime fiction. For fans of James Lee Burke, Lee Child, Terry Hayes and Robert Ludlum

Win a SIGNED copy of Come and Find Me!

Win a SIGNED copy of Come and Find Me!

Closing date: 09/11/2018

To celebrate the paperback release of the "simply superb" Come and Find Me, we have the opportunity to win a copy of the book with bookplates SIGNED by author Sarah Hilary. The competition will close on Friday 9 November with winners being notified by Friday 16 November.  "Simply superb, Come and Find Me is one hell of a clever, twisting, powerful story. This series is one of my favourites and DI Marnie Rome returns here in splendid style ... Sarah Hilary has the ability to take you into the words, to actually feel, to experience, and she sent my thoughts worming and writhing. At one point I found myself so exasperated and frustrated with one of the characters, it came as a shock when I came up for air and realised where I was. The ending buffeted me, surprised me, emotionally affected me, and a certain someone is still creeping around inside my mind. I already know that Come and Find Me will be one of my favourite reads of the year, and I think this is Sarah Hilary’s best yet, I simply can’t recommend this series highly enough." - Liz Robinson, Editorial Expert To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. 

Enter Now

Reconciliation for the Dead Press Reviews

'A solid, meaty thriller - Hardisty is a fine writer and Straker is a great lead character'
Lee Child

'A trenchant and engaging thriller that unravels this mysterious land in cool, precise sentences'
Stav Sherez, Catholic Herald

'Just occasionally, a book comes along to restore your faith in a genre - and Paul Hardisty's The Abrupt Physics of Dying does this in spades'
Sharon Wheeler, Crime Review

'This is a remarkably well-written, sophisticated novel in which the people and places, as well as frequent scenes of violent action, all come alive on the page...'
Literary Review

'Hardisty doesn't put a foot wrong in this forceful, evocative thriller ... the author's deep knowledge of the settings never slows down the non-stop action, with distant echoes of a more-moral minded Jack Reacher or Jason Bourne'
Maxim Jakubowski

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Thing She Told Me
The Lingering
Good Samaritans
Anatomy of a Scandal

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781910633687
Publication date: 30/05/2017
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781910633687
Publication date: 30th May 2017
Author: Paul E. Hardisty
Publisher: Orenda Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 450 pages
Genres: Action Adventure / Spy, Father's Day, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Political / legal thriller, Crime & mystery, Adventure,

About Paul E. Hardisty

Canadian Paul E Hardisty has spent 25 years working all over the world as an engineer, hydrologist and environmental scientist. He has roughnecked on oil rigs in Texas, explored for gold in the Arctic, mapped geology in Eastern Turkey (where he was befriended by PKK rebels), and rehabilitated water wells in the wilds of Africa. He was in Ethiopia in 1991 as the Mengistu regime fell, and was bumped from one of the last flights out of Addis Ababa by bureaucrats and their families fleeing the rebels. In 1993 he survived a bomb blast in a café in Sana’a. Paul ...

More About Paul E. Hardisty

More Books By Paul E. Hardisty

Cover for Absolution by Paul E. Hardisty
Cover for The Evolution of Fear by Paul E. Hardisty
Cover for The Abrupt Physics of Dying by Paul E. Hardisty
View All Books By Paul E. Hardisty

Share this book