eleanor oliphant finding gobi Harry Potter House Eds summer reading desmond elliott 2017

The Last Night by Cesca Major
  

Lovereading view...

Two women, separated by years, tied by secrets untold and haunted by tragedies that could not be foreseen. In a peaceful coastal village, Irina spends her days quietly restoring furniture, hiding from a long-held family secret. When an antique bureau is sent anonymously to her workshop, Irina senses an uneasy history to the object. As she investigates its origins, the mysteries it holds are slowly revealed...

Synopsis

The Last Night by Cesca Major

Decades earlier, another young woman also kept secrets. Over the course of one halcyon summer, Abigail fell in love and dreamed of the future. But she could not know that catastrophe loomed, and this event would change the course of many lives for ever...

Reviews

'A deftly-handled, slow-burning thriller across two distinct timelines... the author's evocation of time and place is impeccable. Fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Atkinson will find a lot to like here.' -- Joanne Harris, Goodreads

'A smart, flawless and unforgettable triumph' Heat Magazine on The Last Night

'A perfect Sunday afternoon read' Red online, on The Last Night

'Captivating and beautifully written' The Sun, Fabulous Mag on The Last Night

'Beautifully written and peppered with real emotion, this is a story that will linger long after reading' Heat on The Silent Hours

'A beautifully written novel that will stay with you long after you finish the last page' The Sun on The Silent Hours

'[A] strong debut... This is assured writing and Major is a talent to watch' -- Antonia Senior The Times on The Silent Hours

'A moving and evocative portrait of a little-known wartime tragedy' Sunday Express on The Silent Hours

'A moving debut' Woman & Home on The Silent Hours

About the Author

Cesca Major

Cesca Major read history at Bristol University. She went on to work in television as a researcher and presenter for four years before becoming a history teacher. Her first real writing success came in 2005 when she was runner up in the Daily Mail Writing Competition for the best opening paragraph to a novel. She has won, or been placed, in some short story competitions since then including the annual competitions for: Women and Home, Wells Festival of Literature, Grace Dieu and has also had a short story published in the Sentinel Literary Magazine. She reads widely and has written regular reviews and features for the popular women's fiction website www.novelicious.com. She currently works as a housemistress at a secondary boarding school in Berkshire. She lives in Bradfield with her husband and their brood of ex-battery chickens.

Click here to read more about her journey to getting published.

Author photo © Natalie McKenzie Brown

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th May 2017

Author

Cesca Major

More books by Cesca Major
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

cescamajor.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Relationship Stories
Historical Fiction

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781782395737

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools