katie fforde debuts of the month eleanor oliphant rebus 30th anniversary likeyoulove
Search our site
Say My Name by Allegra Huston Read the opening extract of the brand new Allegra Huston book before its publication on 27/07/2017

The Last Night by Cesca Major
  

Lovereading view...

Two women, separated by years, tied by secrets untold and haunted by tragedies that could not be foreseen. In a peaceful coastal village, Irina spends her days quietly restoring furniture, hiding from a long-held family secret. When an antique bureau is sent anonymously to her workshop, Irina senses an uneasy history to the object. As she investigates its origins, the mysteries it holds are slowly revealed...

Synopsis

The Last Night by Cesca Major

Decades earlier, another young woman also kept secrets. Over the course of one halcyon summer, Abigail fell in love and dreamed of the future. But she could not know that catastrophe loomed, and this event would change the course of many lives for ever...

Reviews

'A deftly-handled, slow-burning thriller across two distinct timelines... the author's evocation of time and place is impeccable. Fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Atkinson will find a lot to like here.' -- Joanne Harris, Goodreads

'A smart, flawless and unforgettable triumph' Heat Magazine on The Last Night

'A perfect Sunday afternoon read' Red online, on The Last Night

'Captivating and beautifully written' The Sun, Fabulous Mag on The Last Night

'Beautifully written and peppered with real emotion, this is a story that will linger long after reading' Heat on The Silent Hours

'A beautifully written novel that will stay with you long after you finish the last page' The Sun on The Silent Hours

'[A] strong debut... This is assured writing and Major is a talent to watch' -- Antonia Senior The Times on The Silent Hours

'A moving and evocative portrait of a little-known wartime tragedy' Sunday Express on The Silent Hours

'A moving debut' Woman & Home on The Silent Hours

About the Author

Cesca Major

Cesca Major read history at Bristol University. She went on to work in television as a researcher and presenter for four years before becoming a history teacher. Her first real writing success came in 2005 when she was runner up in the Daily Mail Writing Competition for the best opening paragraph to a novel. She has won, or been placed, in some short story competitions since then including the annual competitions for: Women and Home, Wells Festival of Literature, Grace Dieu and has also had a short story published in the Sentinel Literary Magazine. She reads widely and has written regular reviews and features for the popular women's fiction website www.novelicious.com. She currently works as a housemistress at a secondary boarding school in Berkshire. She lives in Bradfield with her husband and their brood of ex-battery chickens.

Click here to read more about her journey to getting published.

Author photo © Natalie McKenzie Brown

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th May 2017

Author

Cesca Major

More books by Cesca Major
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

cescamajor.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Relationship Stories
Historical Fiction

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781782395737

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools