books of the month newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

The Last Night by Cesca Major

Lovereading view...

Two women, separated by years, tied by secrets untold and haunted by tragedies that could not be foreseen. In a peaceful coastal village, Irina spends her days quietly restoring furniture, hiding from a long-held family secret. When an antique bureau is sent anonymously to her workshop, Irina senses an uneasy history to the object. As she investigates its origins, the mysteries it holds are slowly revealed...


The Last Night by Cesca Major

Decades earlier, another young woman also kept secrets. Over the course of one halcyon summer, Abigail fell in love and dreamed of the future. But she could not know that catastrophe loomed, and this event would change the course of many lives for ever...


'A deftly-handled, slow-burning thriller across two distinct timelines... the author's evocation of time and place is impeccable. Fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Atkinson will find a lot to like here.' -- Joanne Harris, Goodreads

'A smart, flawless and unforgettable triumph' Heat Magazine on The Last Night

'A perfect Sunday afternoon read' Red online, on The Last Night

'Captivating and beautifully written' The Sun, Fabulous Mag on The Last Night

'Beautifully written and peppered with real emotion, this is a story that will linger long after reading' Heat on The Silent Hours

'A beautifully written novel that will stay with you long after you finish the last page' The Sun on The Silent Hours

'[A] strong debut... This is assured writing and Major is a talent to watch' -- Antonia Senior The Times on The Silent Hours

'A moving and evocative portrait of a little-known wartime tragedy' Sunday Express on The Silent Hours

'A moving debut' Woman & Home on The Silent Hours

About the Author

Cesca Major

Cesca Major read history at Bristol University. She went on to work in television as a researcher and presenter for four years before becoming a history teacher. Her first real writing success came in 2005 when she was runner up in the Daily Mail Writing Competition for the best opening paragraph to a novel. She has won, or been placed, in some short story competitions since then including the annual competitions for: Women and Home, Wells Festival of Literature, Grace Dieu and has also had a short story published in the Sentinel Literary Magazine. She reads widely and has written regular reviews and features for the popular women's fiction website She currently works as a housemistress at a secondary boarding school in Berkshire. She lives in Bradfield with her husband and their brood of ex-battery chickens.

Click here to read more about her journey to getting published.

Author photo © Natalie McKenzie Brown

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

4th May 2017


Cesca Major

More books by Cesca Major
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


Corvus an imprint of Atlantic Books


368 pages


Family Drama
Relationship Stories
Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper