An Almond for a Parrot

by Wray Delaney

Historical Fiction Modern and Classic Literary Fiction Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on An Almond for a Parrot

A fascinating erotica debut for famed children's book author Sally Gardner and, most definitely, a change in register as a tale of 18th century debauchery unfolds in the tradition of FANNY HILL and other historical jolly naughtiness. Tully Truegood is incarcerated in Newgate prison in 1756, accused of murder,  with the gallows perilously on the horizon and, in the traditional manner, relates the tale of her life and how she arrived here. It's an animated story of rags to riches from London back street chambermaid to courtesan at the celebrated Fairy House brothel run by her own stepmother, including time as a conjurer's assistant. Picaresque, bawdy, at times magically realist but always warm and affectionate for its sometimes reprobate characters, this is a novel, which albeit graphic retains a true sense of colour and place and pulls you along with vigour in its wake as it immerses the reader into older, momentous times. ~ Maxim Jakubowski

The Lovereading view...

A captivating, earthy, and striking novel set in the 18th century, one that reaches into the heart of friendship and love, and prods, provokes…inflames. Tully Truegood tells her tale from the bowels of Newgate Prison, she is desperate for one particular person to hear her story. Tully doesn't hold back, she graphically explains her route from childhood to courtesan, to alleged murderer, and some of it is uncomfortable and disturbing to hear. Wray Delaney brings Tully to vibrant, heart-rending, beautiful life, she tells her tale with a down to earth honesty, yet a fragile, sometimes chilling otherworldly presence dances over the pages. Wray Delaney is the pen name for children’s author Sally Gardner, the change of name for her first adult novel is entirely appropriate as this is most definitely an adults only, provocative read. Fascinating recipes, riddles and quotations slide into the novel, capturing the essence of the time, linking fantasy and reality. ‘An Almond For A Parrot’ is a rather spicy, yet sensitive and poignant read, and I truly do recommend introducing yourself to Tully Truegood, then settling down to hear her remarkable tale. ~ Liz Robinson

Maxim Jakubowski

An Almond for a Parrot Synopsis

'shades of Sarah Waters...irresistible' - The Guardian 'I would like to make myself the heroine of this story - an innocent victim led astray. But alas sir, I would be lying...' London, 1756: In Newgate prison, Tully Truegood awaits trial. Her fate hanging in the balance, she tells her life-story. It's a tale that takes her from skivvy in the back streets of London, to conjuror's assistant, to celebrated courtesan at her stepmother's Fairy House, the notorious house of ill-repute where decadent excess is a must...Tully was once the talk of the town. Now, with the best seats at Newgate already sold in anticipation of her execution, her only chance of survival is to get her story to the one person who can help her avoid the gallows. She is Tully Truegood. Orphan, whore, magician's apprentice. Murderer? A compelling mix of bawdy romp and magical realism.' -Sarra Manning, Red magazine

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Win a copy of An Orphan's War!

Closing date: 24/05/2018

Molly Green is back this spring, with the perfect read for fans of 'Call The Midwife' and 'Grantchester'. Celebrating Molly Green's newest release 'An Orphan's War' we are giving away 10 copies of this book to TEN lucky winners. War rages, but the women and children of Liverpool's Dr Barnado's Home cannot give up hope. An Orphan's War is a gripping saga about love, loss and war.   To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that the draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 24 May 2018. The Winners will be notified by 4 June 2018. Good luck!

Enter Now

An Almond for a Parrot Press Reviews

'A bawdy, romping affair ... Delaney mixes up genres - historical fiction, erotica, magic realism - to create something original' - Book of the Month in The Times, November 2016

'An irresistible erotic fairytale for adults' - The Guardian

'With elements of magical realism, plenty of sexy scenes, and a good dollop of drama, this is one hell of a read' - The Sun

'A saucy bodice-ripper that combines magical realist flights of fancy with a smattering of punchy feminist politics' - The Metro

'A compelling mix of bawdy romp and magical realism.' - Red

'A fun, explicit romp with real stakes that will have you trying to finish this book in one sitting' - Stylist

If you loved this, you might like these...

A Sacred Storm
The Last Hours
Queen of the North
Her Hidden Life

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008182533
Publication date: 27/07/2017
Publisher: HQ an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780008182540
Publication date: 03/11/2016
Publisher: HQ an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008182533
Publication date: 27th July 2017
Author: Wray Delaney
Publisher: HQ an imprint of Harlequin (UK)
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 416 pages
Genres: Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Relationship Stories,
Categories: Historical fiction, Horror & ghost stories,

About Wray Delaney

Wray Delaney is the pen name of Sally Gardner, the award-winning children's novelist who has sold over 2 million books worldwide and been translated into 22 languages. She lives in London and this is her first adult novel.

More About Wray Delaney

More Books By Wray Delaney

Cover for An Almond for a Parrot by Wray Delaney
View All Books By Wray Delaney

Share this book