twitter books of the month
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Memory Book by Lara Avery

The Memory Book

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

In a Nutshell: Unforgettable heroine confronts adversity head on | Poignant, un-put-down-able jewel of a book about seizing every moment while you can.

“You are me, Samantha Agatha McCoy, in the not-so-distant future. I’m writing this for you. They say my memory will never be the same, that I’ll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I’m writing to remember.” So begins Sammie’s journal to herself, which she starts after being diagnosed with Niemann-Pick Type C. Being a straight A student whose memory has always been her “golden ticket”, she jokes that this is “the only C I’ve ever gotten, ha, ha, ha”, but this is serious. NPC is a form of dementia that will erase her memory. “What are people who are completely screwed supposed to do?” Sammie wonders. “Look forlornly out the window? I’m not good at the feelingsy things. Let’s move on,” which is exactly what she does. Determined to achieve everything she’s mapped out for herself, Sammie also throws herself into new experiences - first party, first date, first love - while she still can.

Philosophical, funny and deeply moving, this remarkable novel will be adored by fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven and Patrick Ness and, while, Sammie’s story will induce uncontrollable weeping (you have been warned…), it’s as much about love and finding yourself as it is about loss, and really puts life priorities into perspective. ~ Joanne Owen


The Memory Book by Lara Avery

Fans of All the Bright Places and The Fault in Our Stars will fall head-over-heels for this wonderfully original portrait of love and loss. Samantha McCoy has it all mapped out. First she's going to win the national debating championship, then she's going to move to New York and become a human rights lawyer. But when Sam discovers that a rare disease is going to take away her memory, the future she'd planned so perfectly is derailed before its started. Realising that her life won't wait to be lived, Sam sets out on a summer of firsts. The first party. The first rebellion. The first friendship. The last love.


Things you will probably experience while reading this wonderful book: gut-wrenching hope, ugly-crying, the joy of finding beautiful moments in the midst of difficult times. Enjoy. -- Adi Alsaid, author of LET'S GET LOST and NEVER ALWAYS SOMETIMES

Sardonic, distinctive, and wildly intelligent. -- Kirkus Reviews

A love story that will leave many readers in tears. -- Publishers Weekly

A story of self discovery that's hard to put down. BOOKLIST

This book will open your heart and very possibly break it. Fierce Sammie McCoy is an unforgettable heroine, and as soon as I closed this book, I started to miss her. I still do. -- Emily Raymond, co-author of FIRST LOVE with James Patterson

In Sammie McCoy, Avery has created a character that completely vibrates with energy. And Sammie's so wicked smart, you almost believe she will overcome everything. But that's not what this book's about. At some point possibility ceases to matter and Avery shows us to love all we already have. Such a moving read. -- Geoff Herbach, author of STUPID FAST

About the Author

Lara Avery lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where she is a contributor at Revolver and at work on her next novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

26th January 2017


Lara Avery

More books by Lara Avery
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Quercus Publishing


368 pages


NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
Personal & social issues (Children's / Teenage)



As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch