The Memory Book

by Lara Avery

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults

LoveReading View on The Memory Book

In a Nutshell: Unforgettable heroine confronts adversity head on |  Poignant, un-put-down-able jewel of a book about seizing every moment while you can.

“You are me, Samantha Agatha McCoy, in the not-so-distant future. I’m writing this for you. They say my memory will never be the same, that I’ll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I’m writing to remember.” So begins Sammie’s journal to herself, which she starts after being diagnosed with Niemann-Pick Type C. Being a straight A student whose memory has always been her “golden ticket”, she jokes that this is “the only C I’ve ever gotten, ha, ha, ha”, but this is serious. NPC is a form of dementia that will erase her memory. “What are people who are completely screwed supposed to do?” Sammie wonders. “Look forlornly out the window? I’m not good at the feelingsy things. Let’s move on,” which is exactly what she does. Determined to achieve everything she’s mapped out for herself, Sammie also throws herself into new experiences - first party, first date, first love - while she still can.

Philosophical, funny and deeply moving, this remarkable novel will be adored by fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven and Patrick Ness and, while, Sammie’s story will induce uncontrollable weeping (you have been warned…), it’s as much about love and finding yourself as it is about loss, and really puts life priorities into perspective. ~ Joanne Owen

Joanne Owen

The Memory Book Synopsis

Fans of All the Bright Places and The Fault in Our Stars will fall head-over-heels for this wonderfully original portrait of love and loss. Samantha McCoy has it all mapped out. First she's going to win the national debating championship, then she's going to move to New York and become a human rights lawyer. But when Sam discovers that a rare disease is going to take away her memory, the future she'd planned so perfectly is derailed before its started. Realising that her life won't wait to be lived, Sam sets out on a summer of firsts. The first party. The first rebellion. The first friendship. The last love.

The Memory Book Press Reviews

Things you will probably experience while reading this wonderful book: gut-wrenching hope, ugly-crying, the joy of finding beautiful moments in the midst of difficult times. Enjoy. -- Adi Alsaid, author of LET'S GET LOST and NEVER ALWAYS SOMETIMES

Sardonic, distinctive, and wildly intelligent. -- Kirkus Reviews

A love story that will leave many readers in tears. -- Publishers Weekly

A story of self discovery that's hard to put down. BOOKLIST

This book will open your heart and very possibly break it. Fierce Sammie McCoy is an unforgettable heroine, and as soon as I closed this book, I started to miss her. I still do. -- Emily Raymond, co-author of FIRST LOVE with James Patterson

In Sammie McCoy, Avery has created a character that completely vibrates with energy. And Sammie's so wicked smart, you almost believe she will overcome everything. But that's not what this book's about. At some point possibility ceases to matter and Avery shows us to love all we already have. Such a moving read. -- Geoff Herbach, author of STUPID FAST

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
One Would Think the Deep
Dark Tracks
The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781784299248
Publication date: 26/01/2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781784299248
Publication date: 26th January 2017
Author: Lara Avery
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction,
Categories: General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Personal & social issues (Children's / Teenage),

About Lara Avery

Lara Avery lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota, where she is a contributor at Revolver and at work on her next novel.

More About Lara Avery

Share this book