LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Elizabeth Wein - Author

About the Author

Elizabeth Wein was born in New York, and grew up in England, Jamaica and Pennsylvania. She is married with two children and now lives in Perth, Scotland. Elizabeth is a member of the Ninety-Nines, the International Organization of Women Pilots. She was awarded the Scottish Aero Club's Watson Cup for best student pilot in 2003 and it was her love of flying that partly inspired the idea for Code Name Verity.

Featured books by Elizabeth Wein

Other books by Elizabeth Wein

White Eagles

White Eagles

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/09/2019

Summer 1939. With Europe on the brink of war, eighteen-year-old Kristina Tomiak has been called up to join the White Eagles, Poland's valiant air force. When the Nazis reach the town where she is based, Kristina makes a daring escape, but she doesn't realise that she's carrying a stowaway in her plane. Will Kristina be able to navigate the most challenging flight of her life and reach safety amid the turmoil of war? Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 13+

A Thousand Sisters The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II

A Thousand Sisters The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/05/2019

The gripping true story of the only women to fly in combat in World War II-from Elizabeth Wein, award-winning author of Code Name Verity In the early years of World War II, Josef Stalin issued an order that made the Soviet Union the first country in the world to allow female pilots to fly in combat. Led by Marina Raskova, these three regiments, including the 588th Night Bomber Regiment-nicknamed the night witches -faced intense pressure and obstacles both in the sky and on the ground. Some of these young women perished in flames. Many of them were in their teens when they went to war. This is the story of Raskova's three regiments, women who enlisted and were deployed on the front lines of battle as navigators, pilots, and mechanics. It is the story of a thousand young women who wanted to take flight to defend their country, and the woman who brought them together in the sky. Packed with black-and-white photographs, fascinating sidebars, and thoroughly researched details, A Thousand Sisters is the inspiring true story of a group of women who set out to change the world, and the sisterhood they formed even amid the destruction of war.

Firebird

Firebird

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/08/2018

Nastia is no traitor. She is a daring pilot, the daughter of revolutionaries, and now, as the Second World War descends on Russia, she must fight to save the glorious Motherland. But all is not as it seems, and when the battles begin, secrets are revealed and everything that she once knew is challenged... A thrilling adventure brimming with historical detail and powerful female characters. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 13+.

Star Wars: Die letzten Jedi

Star Wars: Die letzten Jedi

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: eBook Release Date: 27/02/2018

Die New York Times-Bestsellerautorin Elizabeth Wein (Code Name Verity, Rose Under Fire) reist in die weit, weit entfernte Galaxis, um den Lesern die erschutternde Geschichte der wagemutigen Bomberpiloten und Techniker der Cobalt Staffel, einer besonderen Einheit des Widerstands, zu prasentieren. Ein packender Roman im direkten Umfeld zu Star Wars: Episode 8 - Die letzten Jedi.

Star Wars: The Last Jedi Cobalt Squadron

Star Wars: The Last Jedi Cobalt Squadron

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: eBook Release Date: 15/12/2017

New York Timesbestselling author Elizabeth Wein (Code Name Verity,Rose Under Fire) journeys to a galaxy far, far away to bring readers the harrowing story of the courageous bomber pilots and technicians of Cobalt Squadron!

The Pearl Thief

The Pearl Thief

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 04/05/2017

The Pearl Thief

The Pearl Thief

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: Audio disc Release Date: 04/05/2017

The Pearl Thief

The Pearl Thief

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/04/2017

From the internationally acclaimed bestselling author of Code Name Verity comes a stunning new story of pearls, love and murder - a mystery with all the suspense of an Agatha Christie and the intrigue of Downton Abbey. Sixteen-year-old Julie Beaufort-Stuart is returning to her family's ancestral home in Perthshire for one last summer. It is not an idyllic return to childhood. Her grandfather's death has forced the sale of the house and estate and this will be a summer of goodbyes. Not least to the McEwen family - Highland travellers who have been part of the landscape for as long as anyone can remember - loved by the family, loathed by the authorities. Tensions are already high when a respected London archivist goes missing, presumed murdered. Suspicion quickly falls on the McEwens but Julie knows not one of them would do such a thing and is determined to prove everyone wrong. And then she notices the family's treasure trove of pearls is missing. This beautiful and evocative novel is the story of the irrepressible and unforgettable Julie, set in the year before the Second World War and the events of Code Name Verity. It is also a powerful portrayal of a community under pressure and one girl's determination for justice.

Black Dove, White Raven

Black Dove, White Raven

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 05/03/2015

Divergent Thinking YA Authors on Veronica Roth's Divergent Trilogy

Divergent Thinking YA Authors on Veronica Roth's Divergent Trilogy

Author: Elizabeth Wein, Maria Snyder, Dan Krokos Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/03/2014

Veronica Roth's Divergent trilogy (Divergent, Insurgent, Allegiant) has captured the hearts and thoughts of millions of readers. In Divergent Thinking, YA authors explore even more of Tris and Tobias' world, including: * What Divergent's factions have in common with one of psychology's most prominent personality models * The biology of fear: where it comes from and how Tris and the other Dauntless are able to overcome it * Full-page maps locating all five faction headquarters and other series landmarks in today's Chicago, based on clues from the books * Plus a whole lot more, from why we love identity shorthand like factions to Tris' trouble with honesty to the importance of choice, family, and being brave With a dozen smart, surprising, mind-expanding essays on all three books in the trilogy, Divergent Thinking provides a companion fit for even the most Erudite Divergent fan. Contributor list: Elizabeth Wein Maria V. Snyder and Jenna Snyder V. Arrow Jennifer Lynn Barnes Mary Borsellino Rosemary Clement-Moore Debra Driza Julia Karr Dan Krokos Elizabeth Norris Janine K. Spendlove Blythe Woolston

Sunbird

Sunbird

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: eBook Release Date: 17/12/2013

A deadly plague rages through Aksum, and only one boy can uncover the traitor who spreads the disease and threatens to destroy the kingdomTelemakos, a descendant of both British and Aksumite rulers, has always been an outcast, but his resolve, loyalty, and bravery have never failed his royal heritage. When a plague spreads through the kingdom of Aksum, his aunt Goewin, British ambassador to Aksum, calls upon Telemakos to travel to the Afar desert and discover who has been a traitor to the crown, spreading the plague through the shipment of salt from port to port.Traveling in disguise as a deaf-mute slave, Telemakos is captured and subjected to cruelty and suffering. Now more than ever, he must call on his extraordinary courage and his gift for silencefor if he fails, it will cost him his life.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

Lion Hunter

Lion Hunter

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: eBook Release Date: 17/12/2013

Telemakos may have survived his capture in Afar, but his dangerous journey is far from over . . .Twelve-year-old Telemakosthe descendant of British and Aksumite royaltyis still recovering from his ordeal as a government spy in the Afar desert, where he uncovered the traitor who spread the plague through Aksum. But before Telemakos is fully healed, tragedy strikes. For their own safety, Telemakos and his infant sister, Athena, are sent to live with Abreha, the ruler of Himyara longtime enemy turned ally of the Aksumites. Telemakos's aunt Goewin, British ambassador to Aksum, warns him that Abreha is kind but dangerous. Telemakos promises he will be mindfulbut he does not realize just how serious Goewin's warnings will prove to be.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

Empty Kingdom

Empty Kingdom

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: eBook Release Date: 17/12/2013

Imprisoned by Abreha and forced to help plan Aksum's invasion, Telemakos desperately tries to regain his freedomTelemakos, descendent of British and Aksumite royalty, has been accused of treason by Abreha, ruler of Himyar, and imprisoned on the upper levels of his twelve-story palace. Not only is Telemakos forbidden to see his beloved younger sister, Athena, but he is also forced to reproduce Aksumite maps in order to help Abreha plan an invasion. Lacking any way to communicate with his family in faraway Aksum, Telemakos must use all of his subtle talents to regain his freedom.This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.

Winter Prince

Winter Prince

Author: Elizabeth Wein Format: eBook Release Date: 09/07/2013

Brave Medraut is a fitting heir to the thronebut he can never be kingin this fantasy retelling of the legend of Mordred from the author of Code Name Verity. Medraut is the eldest son of High King Artos, and would-be heir to the British throneif not for an unfortunate circumstance of birth. Instead, his weak and unskilled half-brother, Lleu, is chosen as successor. Medraut cannot bear the thought of being ruled by the boy who has taken what he believes is rightfully his. Consumed by jealousy, he turns to Morgause, the high king's treacherous sister, who exploits Medraut's shame and plots to take over the throne. But when Medraut discovers Lleu's inner strength and goodness, he finds his battle is not just with the kingdom, but with the demons inside himself. Now he must choose where his allegiances truly lie. Perfect for readers of Robin McKinley and Jane Yolen, The Winter Prince is an ';engrossing' novel that ';fantasy lovers and devotees of Arthurian legends will enjoy,' from an author who has won honors ranging from the Carnegie Medal to the Edgar Award (Booklist). This ebook features an illustrated biography of Elizabeth Wein including rare images from the author's personal collection.