make the most of Lovereading second sister eleanor oliphant eligible curtis sittenfeld desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood
  

The One-in-a-Million Boy

Relationship Stories   Family Drama   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

Absolutely enchanting, and not in a sugary syrupy sweet way, oh no, instead this is earthy and vibrant and real. Miss Ona Vitkus is 104 years old, she lives on her own, relatively undisturbed, and then the 11 year old boy turns up on her doorstep. The two become unlikely friends, with world records, birds and life histories becoming main topics of conversation. Monica Wood writes with beautiful empathy, she doesn't judge, or even provoke, she sets this gorgeous story in motion and allows you, as the reader along on the journey. I particularly loved the transcripts of the tape recordings, it just consists of “shards” of thoughts, and the replies of Miss Vitkus to questions, however the boy is there, his presence is undeniable and the pages simply overflow with his energy. ‘The One-In-A-Million Boy’ is about a meeting of minds and hearts, of friendship and living life, it’s a particularly lovely and charming read, and you might just raise your eyebrow at a world record or two along the way. ~ Liz Robinson

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Phylippa Smithson - 'Heart-breaking, thought provoking, disturbing - absolutely brilliant family and friendship story.'
  • Vicki Sharman - 'this book blew me away.'
  • Lynne Morgan - 'Monica Wood writes so sensitively, getting right to the heart of her character’s feelings, skilfully illustrating just how delicate and fragile people’s lives are.'
  • Reba Khatun - 'The One in a Million Boy is a gem of a book. It's a story that made me smile, laugh, cry and hug my children tightly. A heart-warming but also sad tale about regrets and lonely souls.'
  • Martin Ball - 'I felt this was a great story beautifully portrayed by Monica Wood about the relationship between Ona Vitkus, a very quiet 104 year old woman and an 11 year old boy scout.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'This is a lovely story that carries you along to the end with world records included!'
  • Angela Hunt - 'To me, this novel was one of the best I have read in many years.  Every character is beautifully crafted, and the whole book is a joy.  I cannot recommend this book highly enough.'
  • Humaira Kauser - 'Such a lovely book with heartfelt moments. This book will always be with me.'
  • Angie Rhodes - 'What a tender, beautiful book this is.'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'One of those books that you race to finish but at the same time don’t ever want to finish.  Monica Wood captures all the characters and their eccentricities delightfully.'
  • Maureen Evans - 'Through a boy's kindness comes a relationship between his father and an elderly woman that will alter their futures. A 'must-read' for those who enjoy discovering the unexpected in everyday life.'
  • Jacki Moorcroft - 'A beautifully written tale, Monica Wood takes you on a roller coaster ride of emotions and leaves you longing for more.  If you only read one book this summer make it this one.'
  • Jane Ashbrook - 'A heart-warming, poignant tale which is well written and stays with you long after you finish.'
  • Emily Jarvis - 'This book does not come short when it comes to comparisons with The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Our Endless Numbered Days.' 
  • Nicki Southwell - 'A brilliantly written story spanning 3 generations and their relationships.  You will laugh and cry as you experience these emotions.  A must read for all Monica Wood fans.'

Synopsis

The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY by Monica Wood is for anyone who loves to laugh, cry, and think about how extraordinary ordinary life can be. Not to be missed by readers who loved THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, ELIZABETH IS MISSING or THE SHOCK OF THE FALL. 'A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations' Daily Mail The story of your life never starts at the beginning. Don't they teach you anything at school? So says 104-year-old Ona to the 11-year-old boy who's been sent to help her out every Saturday morning. As he refills the bird feeders and tidies the garden shed, Ona tells him about her long life, from first love to second chances. Soon she's confessing secrets she has kept hidden for decades. One Saturday, he doesn't show up. Ona starts to think he's not so special after all, but then his father Quinn arrives on her doorstep, determined to finish his son's good deed. The boy's mother is not so far behind. Ona is set to discover that even at her age the world can surprise you, and that sometimes sharing a loss is the only way to find yourself again.

Reviews

'Curl up and enjoy this bewitching novel' Woman & Home

'A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations' Daily Mail

'Razor sharp while packing a heart-wrenchingly powerful emotional punch... Beautifully written, cleverly constructed, at times hilariously funny and ultimately deeply affecting - this should be a smash' Sunday Mirror

'Delightful. It's a hugely engaging look at how lives can be remade in the most unexpected of ways' Sunday Express

'A whimsical and bittersweet story about finding friendship in the most unlikely places' Good Housekeeping

'Heartwarming... beautifully sketched characters... life-affirming' ***** Stylist

'This inspirational tale of friendship, world records and following dreams is a stunner' Heat

'Wise, witty and incredibly moving... magical and life-affirming. I was utterly charmed' -- Polly Samson

'A big, warm, winning treat of a novel, wholly believable but touched with magic... Sharply observed, deftly constructed and pithily told' -- Alison Mercer

'A beautifully told story' Sun

'Wood's prose sparkles with lyrical descriptions and sharp observations about people and their motivations... But the over-arching theme running through it all concerns second chances. Even when you're older than a century, life still has the capacity to surprise you' Herald Glasgow

'The boy is one of my favourite literary characters ever! I thought it was a gem of a novel, heartbreaking and heartwarming. Beautifully written, with characters that you want to keep by your side' -- Adele Parks

About the Author

Monica Wood

Monica Wood is an award-winning, bestselling novelist and memoirist. Born in Maine, New England, to an Irish Catholic family, she worked as a guidance counsellor and in a nursing home before becoming a full-time writer. She is also a singer, and travelled the New England circuit singing jazz, country, pop and gospel for many years. She lives in Maine with her husband.

Author photo copyright Dan Abbot

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

12th January 2017

Author

Monica Wood

More books by Monica Wood
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.monicawood.com/

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Family Drama
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781472228383

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools