Time Travelling with a Hamster

by Ross Welford

eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on Time Travelling with a Hamster

Shortlisted for the Costa Children's Book Award 2016 | One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award and Shortlisted for The Branford Boase Award 2016. January 2016 Debut of the Month  This clever, touching time travel adventure owes as much to The Railway Children as it does to Back to the Future! Al (for Albert, after Einstein) Chaudhury’s dad is dead but – and here’s where it gets really interesting – a physicist, he’d already been experimenting with time travel and, realising what is going to happen, left instructions enabling his son to go back in time and prevent the childhood accident that will ultimately kill him. Huge congratulations to Ross Welford for observing all the rules of time travel (never easy and he manages a sly dig at Dr Who!) and constructing a terrific adventure that puts family relationships, particularly male ones, at its heart.   ~ Andrea Reece

Costa judges' comment: “A highly accomplished debut, genuinely enjoyable for both a child reading independently and an adult reading with a child.”

***Download a special discussion pack to help you get more out of this book.

Andrea Reece

Time Travelling with a Hamster Synopsis

For readers who loved Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry. A story that crosses time and generations, for adventure-loving readers young and old. My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was twelve. On Al Chaudhury's twelfth birthday his beloved Grandpa Byron gives him a letter from Al's late father. In it Al receives a mission: travel back to 1984 in a secret time machine and save his father's life. Al soon discovers that time travel requires daring and imagination. It also requires lies, theft, setting his school on fire and ignoring philosophical advice from Grandpa Byron. All without losing his pet hamster, Alan Shearer...Time Travelling With a Hamster is a funny, heart-warming race-against-time - and across generations - adventure that you will won't be able to put down.

Time Travelling with a Hamster Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Anastasia Abdian, age 11 - 'Time Travelling With a Hamster is a fantastic book. You will laugh and cry as you read about Al Chaudhury's adventure to prevent an accident and save his father. You must read this amazing novel.'
  • Isaac Phelan, age 12 - 'Time travel, presently the most excitable science the world has ever seen. Ross's intriguing novel is almost better than time travelling itself.'
  • Georgie Docwra, age 10 - 'I really enjoyed reading Time Travelling with a Hamster as it is a very funny book, which made me laugh out loud.'
  • Jenna Welch, age 11 - 'This book really creates a life-like gripping atmosphere whilst you read it. Welford spins a truly good yarn with brilliant characterisation throughout the book. Great for pet lovers.'
  • Stephanie Chaplin - 'I loved this book because it has action all the way through and it was hard to put the book down.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'An amazing story which is funny, gripping and has a cute hamster in it – what more could you want from a book? It’s an absolutely brilliant read, I loved it!'
  • Lauren Carver, age 9 - 'Time Travelling with A Hamster is a funny and quite emotional book.  The ending is lovely and cherishing.  I think Ross is very talented and thoughtful.  Best book ever!'
  • Alexander Bisland, age 10 - 'This book has a rollercoaster of emotions and it ends with a cliff-hanger. I would really like to read a sequel.'
  • Amanda Curtis - 'I really like this book especially Alan shearer and the time machine.'
  • Louie Mee, age 10 - 'I liked this book as it was about travelling in time.'

Time Travelling with a Hamster Press Reviews

'The gripping suspense truly makes time fly... the book's heart and humour are hard to resist.' Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild

'Extremely clever and totally engaging. The Irish Times Intelligent, well crafted and impressive.' Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times

'A touching tale of family, grief and love.' Daily Express

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Explorer
The World's Worst Children 2
The Island at the End of Everything
Tom Gates: Family, Friends and Furry Creatures

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008156312
Publication date: 31/12/2015
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008156312
Publication date: 31st December 2015
Author: Ross Welford
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites,
Categories: Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage), Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage),

About Ross Welford

Ross Welford was a journalist and television producer before becoming a full-time writer. He lives in London with his wife, children, a border collie and several tropical fish. This is his first novel.

More About Ross Welford

Share this book