Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter book price comparison
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford
  

Time Travelling with a Hamster

Kids' Books   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Costa Children's Book Award 2016 | One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award and Shortlisted for The Branford Boase Award 2016. January 2016 Debut of the Month This clever, touching time travel adventure owes as much to The Railway Children as it does to Back to the Future! Al (for Albert, after Einstein) Chaudhury’s dad is dead but – and here’s where it gets really interesting – a physicist, he’d already been experimenting with time travel and, realising what is going to happen, left instructions enabling his son to go back in time and prevent the childhood accident that will ultimately kill him. Huge congratulations to Ross Welford for observing all the rules of time travel (never easy and he manages a sly dig at Dr Who!) and constructing a terrific adventure that puts family relationships, particularly male ones, at its heart. ~ Andrea Reece

Costa judges' comment: “A highly accomplished debut, genuinely enjoyable for both a child reading independently and an adult reading with a child.”

***Download a special discussion pack to help you get more out of this book.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Anastasia Abdian, age 11 - 'Time Travelling With a Hamster is a fantastic book. You will laugh and cry as you read about Al Chaudhury's adventure to prevent an accident and save his father. You must read this amazing novel.'
  • Isaac Phelan, age 12 - 'Time travel, presently the most excitable science the world has ever seen. Ross's intriguing novel is almost better than time travelling itself.'
  • Georgie Docwra, age 10 - 'I really enjoyed reading Time Travelling with a Hamster as it is a very funny book, which made me laugh out loud.'
  • Jenna Welch, age 11 - 'This book really creates a life-like gripping atmosphere whilst you read it. Welford spins a truly good yarn with brilliant characterisation throughout the book. Great for pet lovers.'
  • Stephanie Chaplin - 'I loved this book because it has action all the way through and it was hard to put the book down.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'An amazing story which is funny, gripping and has a cute hamster in it – what more could you want from a book? It’s an absolutely brilliant read, I loved it!'
  • Lauren Carver, age 9 - 'Time Travelling with A Hamster is a funny and quite emotional book.  The ending is lovely and cherishing.  I think Ross is very talented and thoughtful.  Best book ever!'
  • Alexander Bisland, age 10 - 'This book has a rollercoaster of emotions and it ends with a cliff-hanger. I would really like to read a sequel.'
  • Amanda Curtis - 'I really like this book especially Alan shearer and the time machine.'
  • Louie Mee, age 10 - 'I liked this book as it was about travelling in time.'

Synopsis

Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford

For readers who loved Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry. A story that crosses time and generations, for adventure-loving readers young and old. My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was twelve. On Al Chaudhury's twelfth birthday his beloved Grandpa Byron gives him a letter from Al's late father. In it Al receives a mission: travel back to 1984 in a secret time machine and save his father's life. Al soon discovers that time travel requires daring and imagination. It also requires lies, theft, setting his school on fire and ignoring philosophical advice from Grandpa Byron. All without losing his pet hamster, Alan Shearer...Time Travelling With a Hamster is a funny, heart-warming race-against-time - and across generations - adventure that you will won't be able to put down.

Reviews

'The gripping suspense truly makes time fly... the book's heart and humour are hard to resist.' Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild

'Extremely clever and totally engaging. The Irish Times Intelligent, well crafted and impressive.' Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times

'A touching tale of family, grief and love.' Daily Express

About the Author

Ross Welford was a journalist and television producer before becoming a full-time writer. He lives in London with his wife, children, a border collie and several tropical fish. This is his first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

31st December 2015

Author

Ross Welford

More books by Ross Welford
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

dadfood.wordpress.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Children's Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Kids' Books
eBook Favourites

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)
Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9780008156312

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools