books of the month debuts of the month twitter
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Fire by C. C. Humphreys
  

Lovereading view...

First came Plague, now comes Fire. The epic tale of the hunt for a serial killer threatening London's rich and poor during the Great Fire of London. Perfect for fans of S J Parris and C J Sansom.

Fires don't start by themselves. They need someone to light them. As the Great Plague of London loosens its grip at last, Charles II's court moves back to the city, the theatres reopen and a new year arrives. 1666. It cannot be more terrible than the previous year, surely? But it can. What's more it seems that a serial killer who stalked hand in hand with the Plague might not be dead after all...

If you like C. C. Humphreys you might also like to read books by S. J. Parris, Conn Iggulden and Ben Kane.

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Fire by C. C. Humphreys

Together with actress Sarah Chalker, highwayman William Coke and thief-taker Pitman come together as one, determined to stop the brutal murder of London's rich and poor once and for all. But another threat is on the way. It hasn't rained in five months. London is a tinderbox - politically, sexually and religiously. The Great Fire of London is about to ignite. And the final confrontation between Coke, Pitman and Sarah Chalker and their murderous adversary will be decided against a background of apocalypse.

Reviews

Adept and entertaining historical fiction that has been thoroughly researched and accurately portrayed. Historical Novels Review


About the Author

C. C. Humphreys

C.C. Humphreys is an actor, playwright, fight choreographer and novelist.

‘My first job out of school was as a motorcycle messenger, based in St Giles, where much of Plague and Fire takes place. It was a ghastly slum in 1665, and thousands died horribly there in the Great Plague. And much of this area suffered during The Great Fire of London in 1666. I think many Londoners have a deep-buried memory of the devastating things that have happened to their city. Walking those streets again, it’s not hard to sense the bones just below the paving stones.’

Chris has written nine historical fiction novels including The French Executioner, the Jack Absolute Series, Vlad and Shakespeare’s Rebel. Fire is a thriller set in London 1666 and follows on from Plague..

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th August 2016

Author

C. C. Humphreys

More books by C. C. Humphreys
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.cchumphreys.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780099581185

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools