twitter book price comparison
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Fire by C. C. Humphreys

Lovereading view...

First came Plague, now comes Fire. The epic tale of the hunt for a serial killer threatening London's rich and poor during the Great Fire of London. Perfect for fans of S J Parris and C J Sansom.

Fires don't start by themselves. They need someone to light them. As the Great Plague of London loosens its grip at last, Charles II's court moves back to the city, the theatres reopen and a new year arrives. 1666. It cannot be more terrible than the previous year, surely? But it can. What's more it seems that a serial killer who stalked hand in hand with the Plague might not be dead after all...

If you like C. C. Humphreys you might also like to read books by Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.


Fire by C. C. Humphreys

Together with actress Sarah Chalker, highwayman William Coke and thief-taker Pitman come together as one, determined to stop the brutal murder of London's rich and poor once and for all. But another threat is on the way. It hasn't rained in five months. London is a tinderbox - politically, sexually and religiously. The Great Fire of London is about to ignite. And the final confrontation between Coke, Pitman and Sarah Chalker and their murderous adversary will be decided against a background of apocalypse.


Adept and entertaining historical fiction that has been thoroughly researched and accurately portrayed. * Historical Novels Review *

About the Author

C. C. Humphreys

C.C. Humphreys is an actor, playwright, fight choreographer and novelist.

‘My first job out of school was as a motorcycle messenger, based in St Giles, where much of Plague and Fire takes place. It was a ghastly slum in 1665, and thousands died horribly there in the Great Plague. And much of this area suffered during The Great Fire of London in 1666. I think many Londoners have a deep-buried memory of the devastating things that have happened to their city. Walking those streets again, it’s not hard to sense the bones just below the paving stones.’

Chris has written nine historical fiction novels including The French Executioner, the Jack Absolute Series, Vlad and Shakespeare’s Rebel. Fire is a thriller set in London 1666 and follows on from Plague..

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th August 2016


C. C. Humphreys

More books by C. C. Humphreys
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Arrow Books Ltd an imprint of Cornerstone


352 pages


Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Crime & mystery



The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.