Sons of Fortune

by Jeffrey Archer

Thriller and Suspense eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of Sons of Fortune

In a hushed maternity ward, an infant dies, while twin brothers thrive. By morning, one mother is told that her only child is doing fine. Another is told that she has tragically lost one of her sons...


Sons of Fortune Synopsis

United in their rivalry, Sons of Fortune is the classic tale of two brothers engaged in a power struggle, from international bestselling author Jeffrey Archer. In the late 1940s in Hartford, Connecticut a set of twins is parted at birth. Nat Cartwright goes home with his parents, a schoolteacher and an insurance salesman. But his twin brother is to begin his days as Fletcher Andrew Davenport, the only son of a multi-millionaire and his society wife. During the years that follow, the two brothers grow up unaware of each other's existence. Nat leaves college at the University of Connecticut to serve in Vietnam. He returns a war hero, he finishes school and becomes a successful banker. Fletcher, meanwhile, has graduated from Yale University and distinguishes himself as a criminal defence lawyer before he is elected to the Senate. Even when Nat and Fletcher fall in love with the same girl they still don't meet. They continue on their separate paths until one has to defend the other for a murder he did not commit. But the final confrontation comes when Nat and Fletcher are selected to stand against each other for governor of the state.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781447221838
Publication date: 14th March 2014
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 608 pages
Primary Genre Thriller and Suspense

What To Read After Sons of Fortune

The Little One  (Quick Reads)
The Chalk Girl
Only Daughter
The Riot

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529060072
Publication date: 17/03/2022
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447221838
Publication date: 14/03/2014
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780330413350
Publication date: 07/11/2003
Format: Paperback (a Format)

View All Editions

About Jeffrey Archer

Jeffrey Archer was educated at Oxford University, where as a world-class sprinter he represented Great Britain in international competition. He became the youngest member of the House of Commons in 1969, was appointed Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party in 1985, and was elevated to the House of Lords in 1992. All of his novels -- from 1974's Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less to 1991's As the Crow Flies -- have been international bestsellers. Mr. Archer is married, has two children, and lives in London and Cambridge, England.Photograph © Terry O’Neill

More About Jeffrey Archer

More Books By Jeffrey Archer

Sons of Fortune
Sons of Fortune
Sons of Fortune
View All Books By Jeffrey Archer

Share this book