make the most of Lovereading Harry Potter House Eds rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Pimp by Ken Bruen, Jason Starr
  

Pimp

Crime / Mystery   All Shortlists and Winners   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Shortlisted for the Last Laugh Award at the CrimeFest Awards 2017.

This transatlantic collaboration between two established masters of the genre, respectively from New York and Ireland, continues the dubious exploits of Max Fisher, a former drug kingpin whose hilarious adventures in 'Bust', 'Slide' and 'The Max' have seen readers both delighted and squirming in their seats. This plunge into the depravity and dark side of Hollywood is no less entertaining. Profane, rude and witty, Max and assistant Angela's journey through La La Land sees them come across a ferocious designer drug, an old girlfriend now attempting a comeback by hook or by crook, as well as a plethora or real life characters and celebrities and lesser mortals from the world of film and writing (Disclaimer: I even appear in the novel as myself, albeit, I hasten to say, not as the pimp of the title!). ~ Maxim Jakubowski

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Pimp by Ken Bruen, Jason Starr

DEALING...PRODUCING...ALL IN A DAY'S WORK FOR A DRUGLORD. OR IN HOLLYWOOD.Ruined and on the lam, former drug kingpin Max Fisher stumbles upon the biggest discovery of his crooked life: a designer drug called PIMP that could put him back on top. Meanwhile, a certain femme fatale from his past is pursuing a comeback dream of her own, setting herself up in Hollywood as producer of a series based on her and Max's life story. But even in La-La Land, happy endings are hard to come by, especially with both the cops and your enemies in the drug trade coming after you...

Reviews

To add to the already outlandish black comedy, the authors make liberal use of a wide variety of celebrity's names to further illustrate the absurd situations portrayed, as well as double- (and) triple-crosses, blunders, miscalculations, violence, sex and blackmail. All in good fun. - Midwest Book Review

Fast-paced, engrossingly entertaining, Pimp is outrageously funny. - New York Journal of Books

In Bruen and Starr's scattershot fourth Max Fisher noir (after 2008's The Max), a new designer drug called PIMP (an acronym for peyote, insulin, mescaline, and psychosis) is poised to give the ne'er-do-well New York City businessman (i.e., drug dealer) another shot at the big time. Since the first book in the series, 2006's Bust, in which Max and his secretary, Angela Petrakos, plotted to kill his wife, Max has fallen on hard times, appearing after his plastic surgery like Philip Seymour Hoffman after the autopsy. Meanwhile, Angela has stumbled as well, making a living in porn. But she's caught a break, too. In a metafictional twist, a movie of Bust is in heated development, and she's determined to produce and star. The usual torrent of pop culture references (and relentless self-references) heap satire on filmmaking and crime writing as Bruen and Starr take a comic look back at their initial collaboration. Longtime fans may enjoy the 10th-anniversary antics, but new readers might want to start with Bust and work their way up. - Publishers Weekly

I want to kill these guys--except I can't stop laughing long enough. --Lee Child

Downright hilarious and bloodthirsty in the best possible way.With all the dirt and more you could ask about Hollywoodand the world of crime publishing. --Maxim Jakubowski

Perfect for those who like to laugh while the blood flows. --Booklist

You won't put this delightfully twisted novel down until the last hot page, and then reluctantly. - Marvin Minkler First Editions

PIMP is a wild ride of sheer fun and entertainment. Fans of both Bruen and Starr will love this book.... Hard Case Crime once again proves why they are the greatest hard-boiled and noir publishing house in the world. - BookReporter

This hilarious series and its hapless, deluded main characters is like no other in the entire contemporary crime fiction world. - Bookgasm


About the Author

Ken Bruen has been nominated for nearly every major award in the mystery field and won the Shamus Award. Jason Starr has won raves for his work from publications ranging from The New York Times to Entertainment Weekly, which compared him to Jim Thompson and James M. Cain. In 2004, he received the Barry Award for his novel Tough Luck, and in 2005 he won the Anthony Award for Twisted City. He also writes comics for Marvel and DC, as well as original graphic novels. He lives in New York City.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th March 2016

Author

Ken Bruen, Jason Starr

More books by Ken Bruen, Jason Starr
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Titan Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
240 pages

Categories

Crime / Mystery
All Shortlists and Winners
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781783295692

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools