newgen books for YA readers books of the month join us on facebook
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
One by Sarah Crossan
  

One

NewGen - YA Fiction   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Shortlisted for the Books Are My Bag Children's Book Award 2016.

September 2015 NewGen Book of the Month.

Award-winning Sarah Crossan tells an astonishing and difficult story with the surest of touches in this tender, funny and life affirming book. Grace and Tippi are twins. Not just twins but conjoined twins, sharing the lower half of their bodies. Somehow they have always managed to be individuals while also part of each other. Now teenagers, Tippi and Grace are facing increasing difficulties. They are off to school for the first time meeting new experiences and especially new friendships and relationships. While Tippi longs for things to remain the same, Grace yearns for something more. Falling in love with classmate Jon she begins to imagine a future full of romance and love. But will there be a future for Grace and Tippi? When a desperate decision needs to be taken the girls lives must change forever. Sarah Crossan tells an original and utterly gripping story brilliantly. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading teen and YA Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Helen Marshall - 'I loved this book.  It was so terribly sad. It’s a great book that really celebrates people’s differences and the strength of love between two sisters.'
  • Ellen Faulkner, Age 13 - 'I cried my heart out at this stunning novel, by the ‘One’ and only Sarah Crossan. I think that this book should be compulsory reading for all secondary age pupils.'
  • Rebekah Marsh, Age 12 - 'With this book the emotions come flowing out while you follow the heart-warming tale of Tippi and Grace, the conjoined twins.'
  • Poppy, Age 16 - ''One' is a touching book that rings with truth. The girls are relatable, even when you couldn't imagine the position they are in.'
  • Humaira Kauser, Age 17 - 'This book is quite something. I've never read anything like it- it's so different, refreshing and totally original.'
  • Francesca Hughes, Age 13 - 'Where do I begin ... This book captured my heart. It was lyrical, emotional and funny. Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.'
  • Bethan Scarr, Age 14 - 'Read in one sitting, holding my breath most of the way through. This certainly is the one book to read this summer. So beautifully written.'
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson - 'This book is funny and heart-warming, and unlike anything I have ever read before. I would give it five out of five stars.'  
  • La'Shaunna Williamson, Age 13 - '‘One’ is a breath-taking story told from the perspective of conjoined twins, how being different can mean people moving on, how even the strongest relationship can break and how love is never how it seems.'
  • Aimee Sweet - 'I loved the characters of Grace and Tippi, and I found it fascinating how they could almost hear each other’s thoughts and know when they’re lying or telling the truth.'
  • Maddie, Age 13 - 'Wonderful description and poetry to help to show emotion and create a tense feel.'
  • Adam Goodman, age 12 - 'An exciting, fast moving and touching book that I found hard to put down!'
  • Jodi Coffman, age 13 - 'One is an extremely powerful and amazing book.  It was such a page-turner that I read it all in one night.'

Synopsis

One by Sarah Crossan

Grace and Tippi are twins - conjoined twins. And their lives are about to change. No longer able to afford homeschooling, they must venture into the world - a world of stares, sneers and cruelty. Will they find more than that at school? Can they find real friends? And what about love? But what neither Grace or Tippi realises is that a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead. A decision that could tear them apart. One that will change their lives even more than they ever imagined...From Carnegie Medal shortlisted author Sarah Crossan, this moving and beautifully crafted novel about identity, sisterhood and love ultimately asks one question: what does it mean to want and have a soulmate?

Reviews



About the Author

Sarah Crossan

Sarah Crossan has lived in Dublin, London and New York, and now lives in Hertfordshire. She graduated with a degree in philosophy and literature before training as an English and drama teacher at Cambridge University. She received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Since completing a masters in creative writing, she has been working to promote creative writing in schools.

Sarah is a judge at the first The National Literacy Poetry Prize: "Poetry is the first language we speak. When we are born, we own it and we love it but somehow, along the way, children turn away from this, the most primitive of languages. It's everyone's job to make sure children feel that poetry belongs to them - which is does."

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

27th August 2015

Author

Sarah Crossan

More books by Sarah Crossan
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.bloomsbury.com/Authors/...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Format

Hardback
448 pages
Interest Age: From 12 years

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781408863114

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools