likeyoulove hold back the stars book price comparison
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Solomon Creed by Simon Toyne
  

Solomon Creed

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £14.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2015.

September 2015 Book of the Month.

There is a confusing, almost rambling feel to this thriller that really keeps you on your toes. We are introduced to our charismatic hero Solomon Creed as he runs barefoot and skimpily dressed from an air crash in Arizona. With memory loss but a burning knowledge that he must somehow save this small town, he stumbles upon a drug-related plot, a host of ‘baddies’ and a family mystery. It ends with a strange twist, that is improbable and intriguing and I am sure it will be developed in future volumes, for this starts a series. It is hugely enjoyable. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Simon Toyne you might also like to read books by Raymond Khoury, Scott Mariani and Terry Hayes.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Teresa O’Halloran - 'I loved this book. A cracking read. I was gripped from page one.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'I really enjoyed this novel - at last someone to rival Jack Reacher. This is a page-turner that you won't be able to put down. I really enjoyed this book.'
  • Jillian McFrederick - 'As the story progressed I did want to find out what happened and the climax was exciting, but I found the characters hard to follow.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'At last, Jack Reacher has some credible competition.  Solomon Creed is that challenger and what an engaging, exciting and ‘full on’ story he makes.'
  • Sarah Jones - 'The story hooked me in as an intriguing thriller... By the end I really wanted to know who or what had sent Solomon on his mission.'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'Solomon Creed is a modern-day Wild West thriller. It gripped me from the first chapter and captured my attention all the way through. Solomon Creed is certainly a character to remember.'
  • Carolyn Huckfield - 'For anyone who likes a modern, intriguing and violent story this is a great read. However it is the underlying mystery that will keep me reading more. Can’t wait for the next one!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'Wow. An electrifying roller-coaster of a book. This is a must read. Everything was put on hold, I simply had to finish it. A mixture of Lee Child and Stephen King yes but unique in it's own right.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'This story is certainly different – it’s opening paragraph hooks you in and the descriptions make you feel you are there.'
  • Emily Griffiths-Hall - 'I felt the book is well written and the use of the language is very detailed. However the only thing I had a small problem with is how each chapter begins - there is no clarification as to which character the chapter refers to.'
  • Sarah Musk - 'This is an absolutely cracking supernatural thriller set in Arizona...I have rarely read a book with so many elements contained within it.  It is exciting and intriguing from the first page'
  • Cathy Small - 'This book has more twists and turns than you would expect...and it all comes together at the end in spectacular style.'
  • Ian Harvey-Brown - 'A great summer's read is to be had from this juggernaut of a thriller that moves relentlessly forward right from page one.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'An addictive, suspenseful and thoroughly enjoyable read providing just enough information to keep the reader guessing and wanting to know more.'
  • Michelle Hodson - 'Fast paced, entertaining plot.  Solomon Creed is a hero with a supernatural twist. This book had me hooked from the very start.'
  • Jacki Moorcroft - 'WOW! Great characters and story line. Kept me hooked right to the end.'

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Solomon Creed by Simon Toyne

HIS PAST IS UNKNOWN. HIS FUTURE UNWRITTEN. WHO IS SOLOMON CREED? The first in an electrifying new thriller series from Sunday Times bestselling author, Simon Toyne. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, and I AM PILGRIM, by Terry Hayes. A plane crashes in the Arizona desert. One lone figure emerges alive from the wreckage. He has no memory of his past, and no idea of his future. He only knows he must save a man. But how do you save someone who is already dead?

Reviews

Praise for Simon Toyne's SANCTUS series: 'Among the best current thrillers
SUNDAY EXPRESS

'Intriguing and engaging ... Relentless pace. An exciting and interesting read'
SUN

'The beginning of a massive new adventure'
MIRROR

'A fast moving, thoroughly enjoyable, adventure - plenty of action, plenty of intrigue and wonderfully imaginative. The sort of novel to devour in one sitting'
KATE MOSSE

'A cool, confident debut ... with pace, grace and a keen eye for cinematic effect'
DAILY TELEGRAPH

About the Author

Simon Toyne

Simon Toyne is the bestselling author of the Sanctus trilogy: Sanctus, The Key and The Tower. He wrote Sanctus after quitting his job as a TV executive to focus on writing. It was the biggest selling debut thriller of 2011 in the UK and an international bestseller. His books have been translated into 27 languages and published in over 50 countries. The Boy Who Saw is the second book in a new series of epic thrillers that will span the world and centre around the enigmatic Solomon Creed.

Author photo © Toby Madden

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th September 2015

Author

Simon Toyne

More books by Simon Toyne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.simontoyne.net

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
480 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007551354

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Their sending me my first book to review 18 months ago re-awakened my fondness for reading, since then I have purchased some real gems.

Barry Griffiths

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools