newgen books for YA readers debuts of the month
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Reader Reviewed
Solomon Creed by Simon Toyne
  

Solomon Creed

Thriller / Suspense   Action Adventure / Spy   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2015.

September 2015 Book of the Month.

There is a confusing, almost rambling feel to this thriller that really keeps you on your toes. We are introduced to our charismatic hero Solomon Creed as he runs barefoot and skimpily dressed from an air crash in Arizona. With memory loss but a burning knowledge that he must somehow save this small town, he stumbles upon a drug-related plot, a host of ‘baddies’ and a family mystery. It ends with a strange twist, that is improbable and intriguing and I am sure it will be developed in future volumes, for this starts a series. It is hugely enjoyable. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Simon Toyne you might also like to read books by Robert Ludlum, Raymond Khoury and Steve Berry.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Teresa O’Halloran - 'I loved this book. A cracking read. I was gripped from page one.'
  • Janet Gilliard - 'I really enjoyed this novel - at last someone to rival Jack Reacher. This is a page-turner that you won't be able to put down. I really enjoyed this book.'
  • Jillian McFrederick - 'As the story progressed I did want to find out what happened and the climax was exciting, but I found the characters hard to follow.'
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'At last, Jack Reacher has some credible competition.  Solomon Creed is that challenger and what an engaging, exciting and ‘full on’ story he makes.'
  • Sarah Jones - 'The story hooked me in as an intriguing thriller... By the end I really wanted to know who or what had sent Solomon on his mission.'
  • Victoria Goldman - 'Solomon Creed is a modern-day Wild West thriller. It gripped me from the first chapter and captured my attention all the way through. Solomon Creed is certainly a character to remember.'
  • Carolyn Huckfield - 'For anyone who likes a modern, intriguing and violent story this is a great read. However it is the underlying mystery that will keep me reading more. Can’t wait for the next one!'
  • Celia Cohen - 'Wow. An electrifying roller-coaster of a book. This is a must read. Everything was put on hold, I simply had to finish it. A mixture of Lee Child and Stephen King yes but unique in it's own right.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'This story is certainly different – it’s opening paragraph hooks you in and the descriptions make you feel you are there.'
  • Emily Griffiths-Hall - 'I felt the book is well written and the use of the language is very detailed. However the only thing I had a small problem with is how each chapter begins - there is no clarification as to which character the chapter refers to.'
  • Sarah Musk - 'This is an absolutely cracking supernatural thriller set in Arizona...I have rarely read a book with so many elements contained within it.  It is exciting and intriguing from the first page'
  • Cathy Small - 'This book has more twists and turns than you would expect...and it all comes together at the end in spectacular style.'
  • Ian Harvey-Brown - 'A great summer's read is to be had from this juggernaut of a thriller that moves relentlessly forward right from page one.'
  • Sarah Harper - 'An addictive, suspenseful and thoroughly enjoyable read providing just enough information to keep the reader guessing and wanting to know more.'
  • Michelle Hodson - 'Fast paced, entertaining plot.  Solomon Creed is a hero with a supernatural twist. This book had me hooked from the very start.'
  • Jacki Moorcroft - 'WOW! Great characters and story line. Kept me hooked right to the end.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Solomon Creed by Simon Toyne

HIS PAST IS UNKNOWN. HIS FUTURE UNWRITTEN. WHO IS SOLOMON CREED? The first in an electrifying new thriller series from Sunday Times bestselling author, Simon Toyne. Perfect for fans of Lee Child, and I AM PILGRIM, by Terry Hayes. A plane crashes in the Arizona desert. One lone figure emerges alive from the wreckage. He has no memory of his past, and no idea of his future. He only knows he must save a man. But how do you save someone who is already dead?

Reviews

Praise for Simon Toyne's SANCTUS series: 'Among the best current thrillers
SUNDAY EXPRESS

'Intriguing and engaging ... Relentless pace. An exciting and interesting read'
SUN

'The beginning of a massive new adventure'
MIRROR

'A fast moving, thoroughly enjoyable, adventure - plenty of action, plenty of intrigue and wonderfully imaginative. The sort of novel to devour in one sitting'
KATE MOSSE

'A cool, confident debut ... with pace, grace and a keen eye for cinematic effect'
DAILY TELEGRAPH

About the Author

Simon Toyne

Simon Toyne is the bestselling author of the Sanctus trilogy: Sanctus, The Key and The Tower. He wrote Sanctus after quitting his job as a TV executive to focus on writing. It was the biggest selling debut thriller of 2011 in the UK and an international bestseller. His books have been translated into 27 languages and published in over 50 countries. The Boy Who Saw is the second book in a new series of epic thrillers that will span the world and centre around the enigmatic Solomon Creed.

Author photo © Toby Madden

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

10th September 2015

Author

Simon Toyne

More books by Simon Toyne
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.simontoyne.net

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Hardback
480 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Action Adventure / Spy
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense
Crime & mystery

ISBN

9780007551354

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools