Search our site
The Heart of Mars by Paul Magrs Read the opening extract of the brand new Paul Magrs book before its publication on 15/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley

The Book of Lost and Found

Family Drama   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2015.

One of those involved family dramas of uncertain parentage, mystery and secrets. Wonderful stuff. It concerns a young woman, Kate, who at the age of six loses her mother in a plane crash. Her mother, June, had been a famous ballerina, an orphan child and it is her story we unearth. In doing so Kate travels to Corsica to visit a famous artist where she finds love. So we get a past love story and a present one and beautifully told they are too as we swing from 1928 through to the 90s. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Lucy Foley you might also like to read books by Katherine Webb, Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Jane Pepler - 'A brilliant debut novel by an author that we definitely need to hear more from...Lucy Foley is already a master of her craft and is definitely one to watch!' Read full review >
  • Margaret Freeman - 'There is so much I loved in this book, a love story, as well as a story of loss, discovery and grief as the decisions we make impact on our lives.' Read full review >
  • Julie Wragg - 'An epic romance from a new writer...Beautifully written and presented, I was totally drawn into the story and couldn’t put it down.' Read full review >
  • Dana Captainino - 'Although sometimes a little wordy the book keeps the reader engaged throughout. Read full review >
  • Celia Cohen - 'An enthralling read which grips you from the first page.' Read full review >
  • Emma Barton - 'This book tells the heart-breaking love story of Tom and Alice who first meet as children in the 1920's but also follows Kate Darling in the 1980's who is trying to trace her family roots.' Read full review >
  • Victoria Whish - 'An epic tale of love and loss. It’s the story of a relationship that resonates through the years and generations. If you like Kate Morton, you’ll love this book.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Jones - 'I thoroughly enjoyed every page of this beautiful story. The writing was descriptive and the imagery beautiful and vivid.' Read full review >
  • Linda Amos - 'I loved this book, a few tears and many smiles later I came to the last page. I will be looking for future books from Ms Foley.' Read full review >
  • Louisa Hall - 'A beautiful love story told intricately through differing perspectives and eras which give it a satisfying amount of depth.' Read full review >
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'The book is fantastically written and you would not believe that is a debut novel. I really enjoyed the book and savoured every page ...' Read full review >
  • Ruth Paterson - 'It is an addictive read, I found that the book “lost” me, I couldn't put it down.' Read full review >
  • Riki Bill - 'A mesmerising adventure that spans three generations and the fallout of two World Wars.' Read full review >
  • Farah Alam - 'I really enjoyed this book and, I just really liked the author's writing. It's an epic love story that is really great to read about.' Read full review >
  • Dawn - 'What a beautiful story! I really enjoyed reading this and felt like I was the main character Alice, who ends up travelling to find out more about a drawing of her late grandmother.' Read full review >


The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley

In many ways, my life has been rather like a record of the lost and found. Perhaps all lives are like that. It's when life started in earnest HERTFORDSHIRE, 1928 The paths of Tom and Alice collide against a haze of youthful, carefree exuberance. And so begins a love story that finds its feet by a lake one silvery moonlit evening ...It's when there were no happy endings PARIS, 1939 Alice is living in the City of Light, but the pain of the last decade has already left its mark. There's a shadow creeping across Europe when she and Thomas Stafford - now a world famous artist - find each other once more ...It's when the story begins LONDON, 1986 Bequeathed an old portrait from her grandmother, Kate Darling uncovers a legacy that takes her to Corsica, Paris and beyond. And as the secrets of time fall away, a love story as epic as it is life-changing slowly reveals itself ...Sweeping and heartrending - the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.


Praise for The Book of Lost and Found: 'A glamorous, seductively immersive read... [Foley] is a talent to watch'
Sunday Times

'Wildly romantic and very enjoyable; a super debut'
Daily Mail

'This beautiful heartbreaking read will give you goosebumps' Sun on Sunday

'[A] striking debut'

'Tightly plotted with polished prose, this is very good indeed'
Sunday Mirror

'Epic debut'

'A rich, rolling, romantic story that sweeps across time and space'

About the Author

Lucy Foley

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry - during which time she also wrote The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally) and working on her next novel.

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th June 2015


Lucy Foley

More books by Lucy Foley
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


544 pages


Family Drama
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)



They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!


Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.