make the most of Lovereading join us on facebook rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley
  

The Book of Lost and Found

Family Drama   Literary Fiction   Reading Groups   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

One of our Books of the Year 2015.

One of those involved family dramas of uncertain parentage, mystery and secrets. Wonderful stuff. It concerns a young woman, Kate, who at the age of six loses her mother in a plane crash. Her mother, June, had been a famous ballerina, an orphan child and it is her story we unearth. In doing so Kate travels to Corsica to visit a famous artist where she finds love. So we get a past love story and a present one and beautifully told they are too as we swing from 1928 through to the 90s. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

If you like Lucy Foley you might also like to read books by Kate Morton, Victoria Hislop and Katherine Webb.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Jane Pepler - 'A brilliant debut novel by an author that we definitely need to hear more from...Lucy Foley is already a master of her craft and is definitely one to watch!' Read full review >
  • Margaret Freeman - 'There is so much I loved in this book, a love story, as well as a story of loss, discovery and grief as the decisions we make impact on our lives.' Read full review >
  • Julie Wragg - 'An epic romance from a new writer...Beautifully written and presented, I was totally drawn into the story and couldn’t put it down.' Read full review >
  • Dana Captainino - 'Although sometimes a little wordy the book keeps the reader engaged throughout. Read full review >
  • Celia Cohen - 'An enthralling read which grips you from the first page.' Read full review >
  • Emma Barton - 'This book tells the heart-breaking love story of Tom and Alice who first meet as children in the 1920's but also follows Kate Darling in the 1980's who is trying to trace her family roots.' Read full review >
  • Victoria Whish - 'An epic tale of love and loss. It’s the story of a relationship that resonates through the years and generations. If you like Kate Morton, you’ll love this book.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Jones - 'I thoroughly enjoyed every page of this beautiful story. The writing was descriptive and the imagery beautiful and vivid.' Read full review >
  • Linda Amos - 'I loved this book, a few tears and many smiles later I came to the last page. I will be looking for future books from Ms Foley.' Read full review >
  • Louisa Hall - 'A beautiful love story told intricately through differing perspectives and eras which give it a satisfying amount of depth.' Read full review >
  • Elisabeth Thomas - 'The book is fantastically written and you would not believe that is a debut novel. I really enjoyed the book and savoured every page ...' Read full review >
  • Ruth Paterson - 'It is an addictive read, I found that the book “lost” me, I couldn't put it down.' Read full review >
  • Riki Bill - 'A mesmerising adventure that spans three generations and the fallout of two World Wars.' Read full review >
  • Farah Alam - 'I really enjoyed this book and, I just really liked the author's writing. It's an epic love story that is really great to read about.' Read full review >
  • Dawn - 'What a beautiful story! I really enjoyed reading this and felt like I was the main character Alice, who ends up travelling to find out more about a drawing of her late grandmother.' Read full review >

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley

In many ways, my life has been rather like a record of the lost and found. Perhaps all lives are like that. It's when life started in earnest HERTFORDSHIRE, 1928 The paths of Tom and Alice collide against a haze of youthful, carefree exuberance. And so begins a love story that finds its feet by a lake one silvery moonlit evening ...It's when there were no happy endings PARIS, 1939 Alice is living in the City of Light, but the pain of the last decade has already left its mark. There's a shadow creeping across Europe when she and Thomas Stafford - now a world famous artist - find each other once more ...It's when the story begins LONDON, 1986 Bequeathed an old portrait from her grandmother, Kate Darling uncovers a legacy that takes her to Corsica, Paris and beyond. And as the secrets of time fall away, a love story as epic as it is life-changing slowly reveals itself ...Sweeping and heartrending - the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop and Kate Morton.

Reviews

Praise for The Book of Lost and Found: 'A glamorous, seductively immersive read... [Foley] is a talent to watch'
Sunday Times

'Wildly romantic and very enjoyable; a super debut'
Daily Mail

'This beautiful heartbreaking read will give you goosebumps' Sun on Sunday

'[A] striking debut'
Grazia

'Tightly plotted with polished prose, this is very good indeed'
Sunday Mirror

'Epic debut'
Independent

'A rich, rolling, romantic story that sweeps across time and space'
Saga

About the Author

Lucy Foley

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry - during which time she also wrote The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally) and working on her next novel.

Author photo © Philippa Gedge

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th June 2015

Author

Lucy Foley

More books by Lucy Foley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback

Categories

Family Drama
Literary Fiction
Reading Groups
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780007575350

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools