Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

No Place for a Lady

by Gill Paul

eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on No Place for a Lady

With strong characters, a gripping and emotionally intense plot combined with meticulous research No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul is a wonderful read for fans of historical fiction. Set in 1854 during the Crimean War, cleverly weaving real people, including Florence Nightingale into the story, we follow sisters Dorothea and Lucy who because of passion and commitment find themselves exposed to the courage, the cowardice, the danger and the excitement of war. Easy and engaging reading for fans of Poldark, Gone With The Wind or books by Victoria Hislop.

No Place for a Lady Synopsis

IN WARTIME, THE RULES OF LOVE CHANGE ...1854. Britain is fighting a gruesome war. There has been no news of Lucy Gray since she eloped with handsome and impetuous Captain Charlie Harvington and embarked with him to the Crimea. Dorothea Gray will risk anything to heal the rift with her little sister and bring her home safe. She determines to join Florence Nightingale and the other courageous women travelling to the battlefield hospitals as nurses. She will not rest until she finds her sister. Lucy, however, is on a very different journey, a journey through tragedy, trauma and true love. But neither sister is prepared for the challenges they will face, the passion they will each taste and the simple fact that they might never see one another again ...A spellbinding and exquisite tale of courage, adventure and love. Prepare to be swept of your feet!

No Place for a Lady Press Reviews

'A marvellous moving adventure, full of vivid colour and atmospheric detail. If you loved POLDARK you'll love this!'
Lulu Taylor

'A terrific adventure story, full of romance and atmospheric detail - a great escapist read'
Liz Trenow

'A galloping good story'
Natasha McEnroe, director of the FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE MUSEUM

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Binding
A Ration Book Christmas
The Turn of Midnight
Time's Convert

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780008102128
Publication date: 02/07/2015
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780008102128
Publication date: 2nd July 2015
Author: Gill Paul
Publisher: AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical fiction, Historical romance,

About Gill Paul

Gill Paul is a Scottish-born, London-based writer of historical fiction and non-fiction. Her novels include The Secret Wife (2016), a tragic love story about the Russian royal family, Women and Children First (2012), set on the Titanic, The Affair (2013), set in Rome during the making of Cleopatra, and No Place for a Lady (2015), about the women who accompanied the soldiers to the Crimean War. Her non-fiction includes A History of Medicine in 50 Objects (2016), World War I Love Stories (2014) and Royal Love Stories (2015). Gill has written about relationships for a number of newspapers and magazines, and has an occasionally successful sideline in matchmaking. ...

More About Gill Paul

More Books By Gill Paul

Cover for Women and Children First by Gill Paul
Cover for Titanic Love Stories by Gill Paul
View All Books By Gill Paul

Share this book