newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron Read the opening extract of the brand new Sophie Cameron book before its publication on 22/03/2018

No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul

No Place for a Lady

Historical Fiction   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

With strong characters, a gripping and emotionally intense plot combined with meticulous research No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul is a wonderful read for fans of historical fiction. Set in 1854 during the Crimean War, cleverly weaving real people, including Florence Nightingale into the story, we follow sisters Dorothea and Lucy who because of passion and commitment find themselves exposed to the courage, the cowardice, the danger and the excitement of war. Easy and engaging reading for fans of Poldark, Gone With The Wind or books by Victoria Hislop.


No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul

IN WARTIME, THE RULES OF LOVE CHANGE ...1854. Britain is fighting a gruesome war. There has been no news of Lucy Gray since she eloped with handsome and impetuous Captain Charlie Harvington and embarked with him to the Crimea. Dorothea Gray will risk anything to heal the rift with her little sister and bring her home safe. She determines to join Florence Nightingale and the other courageous women travelling to the battlefield hospitals as nurses. She will not rest until she finds her sister. Lucy, however, is on a very different journey, a journey through tragedy, trauma and true love. But neither sister is prepared for the challenges they will face, the passion they will each taste and the simple fact that they might never see one another again ...A spellbinding and exquisite tale of courage, adventure and love. Prepare to be swept of your feet!


'A marvellous moving adventure, full of vivid colour and atmospheric detail. If you loved POLDARK you'll love this!'
Lulu Taylor

'A terrific adventure story, full of romance and atmospheric detail - a great escapist read'
Liz Trenow

'A galloping good story'
Natasha McEnroe, director of the FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE MUSEUM

About the Author

Gill Paul

Gill Paul is a Scottish-born, London-based writer of historical fiction and non-fiction. Her novels include The Secret Wife (2016), a tragic love story about the Russian royal family, Women and Children First (2012), set on the Titanic, The Affair (2013), set in Rome during the making of Cleopatra, and No Place for a Lady (2015), about the women who accompanied the soldiers to the Crimean War. Her non-fiction includes A History of Medicine in 50 Objects (2016), World War I Love Stories (2014) and Royal Love Stories (2015). Gill has written about relationships for a number of newspapers and magazines, and has an occasionally successful sideline in matchmaking. She swims year-round in an outdoor pond.

Author photo ©

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd July 2015


Gill Paul

More books by Gill Paul
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...


AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers


432 pages


Historical Fiction
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Historical romance



With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe