join us on facebook
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul
  

No Place for a Lady

Historical Fiction   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

With strong characters, a gripping and emotionally intense plot combined with meticulous research No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul is a wonderful read for fans of historical fiction. Set in 1854 during the Crimean War, cleverly weaving real people, including Florence Nightingale into the story, we follow sisters Dorothea and Lucy who because of passion and commitment find themselves exposed to the courage, the cowardice, the danger and the excitement of war. Easy and engaging reading for fans of Poldark, Gone With The Wind or books by Victoria Hislop.

Synopsis

No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul

IN WARTIME, THE RULES OF LOVE CHANGE ...1854. Britain is fighting a gruesome war. There has been no news of Lucy Gray since she eloped with handsome and impetuous Captain Charlie Harvington and embarked with him to the Crimea. Dorothea Gray will risk anything to heal the rift with her little sister and bring her home safe. She determines to join Florence Nightingale and the other courageous women travelling to the battlefield hospitals as nurses. She will not rest until she finds her sister. Lucy, however, is on a very different journey, a journey through tragedy, trauma and true love. But neither sister is prepared for the challenges they will face, the passion they will each taste and the simple fact that they might never see one another again ...A spellbinding and exquisite tale of courage, adventure and love. Prepare to be swept of your feet!

Reviews

'A marvellous moving adventure, full of vivid colour and atmospheric detail. If you loved POLDARK you'll love this!'
Lulu Taylor

'A terrific adventure story, full of romance and atmospheric detail - a great escapist read'
Liz Trenow

'A galloping good story'
Natasha McEnroe, director of the FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE MUSEUM

About the Author

Gill Paul

Gill Paul is a Scottish-born, London-based writer of historical fiction and non-fiction. Her novels include The Secret Wife (2016), a tragic love story about the Russian royal family, Women and Children First (2012), set on the Titanic, The Affair (2013), set in Rome during the making of Cleopatra, and No Place for a Lady (2015), about the women who accompanied the soldiers to the Crimean War. Her non-fiction includes A History of Medicine in 50 Objects (2016), World War I Love Stories (2014) and Royal Love Stories (2015). Gill has written about relationships for a number of newspapers and magazines, and has an occasionally successful sideline in matchmaking. She swims year-round in an outdoor pond.

Author photo © cjansenphotography.com

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd July 2015

Author

Gill Paul

More books by Gill Paul
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.gillpaul.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Historical romance

ISBN

9780008102128

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools