debuts of the month book price comparison win prizes
Search our site
The Stolen Bicycle by Ming-Yi Wu Read the opening extract of the brand new Ming-Yi Wu book before its publication on 26/10/2017

No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul
  

No Place for a Lady

Historical Fiction   Romantic Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

With strong characters, a gripping and emotionally intense plot combined with meticulous research No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul is a wonderful read for fans of historical fiction. Set in 1854 during the Crimean War, cleverly weaving real people, including Florence Nightingale into the story, we follow sisters Dorothea and Lucy who because of passion and commitment find themselves exposed to the courage, the cowardice, the danger and the excitement of war. Easy and engaging reading for fans of Poldark, Gone With The Wind or books by Victoria Hislop.

Synopsis

No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul

IN WARTIME, THE RULES OF LOVE CHANGE ...1854. Britain is fighting a gruesome war. There has been no news of Lucy Gray since she eloped with handsome and impetuous Captain Charlie Harvington and embarked with him to the Crimea. Dorothea Gray will risk anything to heal the rift with her little sister and bring her home safe. She determines to join Florence Nightingale and the other courageous women travelling to the battlefield hospitals as nurses. She will not rest until she finds her sister. Lucy, however, is on a very different journey, a journey through tragedy, trauma and true love. But neither sister is prepared for the challenges they will face, the passion they will each taste and the simple fact that they might never see one another again ...A spellbinding and exquisite tale of courage, adventure and love. Prepare to be swept of your feet!

Reviews

'A marvellous moving adventure, full of vivid colour and atmospheric detail. If you loved POLDARK you'll love this!'
Lulu Taylor

'A terrific adventure story, full of romance and atmospheric detail - a great escapist read'
Liz Trenow

'A galloping good story'
Natasha McEnroe, director of the FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE MUSEUM

About the Author

Gill Paul

Gill Paul is a Scottish-born, London-based writer of historical fiction and non-fiction. Her novels include The Secret Wife (2016), a tragic love story about the Russian royal family, Women and Children First (2012), set on the Titanic, The Affair (2013), set in Rome during the making of Cleopatra, and No Place for a Lady (2015), about the women who accompanied the soldiers to the Crimean War. Her non-fiction includes A History of Medicine in 50 Objects (2016), World War I Love Stories (2014) and Royal Love Stories (2015). Gill has written about relationships for a number of newspapers and magazines, and has an occasionally successful sideline in matchmaking. She swims year-round in an outdoor pond.

Author photo © cjansenphotography.com

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

2nd July 2015

Author

Gill Paul

More books by Gill Paul
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.gillpaul.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
432 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Romantic Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction
Historical romance

ISBN

9780008102128

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools