likeyoulove rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Phoenix Rising by Bryony Pearce
  

Phoenix Rising

Part of the Phoenix series Series
NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A world where a devastating series of manmade and natural disasters have destroyed civilisations, leaving communities walled in and fearful, and the seas choked with mankind’s accumulated junk – plywood, shopping-carts and cheap tin trays. That’s the setting for Bryony Pearce’s rousing junk-punk pirate adventure which will surely fill readers with the urge to go down to the sea again! Central character Toby has grown up on the Phoenix, a cargo-ship turned pirate vessel trawling the polluted seas for whatever can be salvaged. Despite the harsh conditions, there’s a camaraderie to life on board and a romance to their way of life that is hugely appealing. Add to that a deadly rivalry with fellow pirate ship the Banshee, and possible real romance with Alya, the daughter of its captain, and it makes for a truly thrilling adventure! ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Phoenix Rising by Bryony Pearce

Sail. Salvage. Survive. Toby's father is a wanted man. For as long as Toby can remember, they've been on the run. The Phoenix has become their home, their backyard the junk-filled seas surrounding it. The crew of the Banshee lives for hunting down the Phoenix and now they're closing in. Ayla has spent her whole life fighting - preparing for the moment when the Banshee will face its ultimate enemy. But Toby doesn't want to run any more and Ayla is his only hope. Can he turn an old feud into a new alliance? The future is in their hands. Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth, Anthony Horowitz, Philip Reeve and Suzanne Collins.

Reviews

'I loved it! The age of the junk-punk has arrived!' Sarwat Chadda, author of the Ash Mystery Chronicles

'Thrilling, fast-paced and original.' Emma Pass, author of The Fearless

'Heart-thumping adventure ... 100% a winner!' Zoe Marriott, author of The Swan Kingdom

About the Author

Bryony Pearce was born in 1976 and has two young children. She completed an English Literature degree at Corpus Christi College Cambridge in 1998 and was a winner of the SCBWI anthology 'Undiscovered Voices' in 2008. More information about Bryony can be found on her website www.bryonypearce.co.uk.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st June 2015

Author

Bryony Pearce

More books by Bryony Pearce
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.bryonypearce.co.uk/

Publisher

Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group

Format

Paperback
400 pages
Interest Age: From 12 to 16 years

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781847154507

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools