rebus 30th anniversary desmond elliott 2017
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

The Island Escape by Kerry Fisher
  

The Island Escape

Relationship Stories   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

With hidden depths, it’s easy to sink into this delightfully warm and pleasing read. The synopsis suggests there is one tale on offer here, in actual fact we hear the stories of two friends, Octavia and Roberta in alternate chapters. Both women are in their late thirties, even if you haven't felt the same emotions, it’s likely that you will know someone who has, which encourages you to feel an affinity with them. The author doesn't make Octavia and Roberta perfect, sometimes you will tut at decisions they make and at other times urge them on. The authenticity of the writing makes for a beautifully light and engaging read with dark, rich tones… this is a perfect companion to escape from reality with for a few hours. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Kerry Fisher you might also like to read books by Fiona Gibson, Sophie King and Gill Hornby.

Synopsis

The Island Escape by Kerry Fisher

Can one woman's marriage survive her best friend's divorce? Fans of Veronica Henry and Erica James, this is the next book to add to your reading list. It's time to get back to where it all began...Octavia Sheldon thought she'd have a different life. One where she travelled the world with an exotic husband and free-spirited children in tow. But things didn't turn out quite like that. Married to safe, reliable Jonathan, her life now consists of packed lunches, school runs and more loads of dirty washing than she ever thought possible. She's not unhappy. It's just that she can barely recognise herself any longer. So as Octavia watches her best friend's marriage break up, it starts her thinking. What if life could be different? What if she could escape and get back to the person she used to be? Escape back to the island where she spent her summers? And what if the man she used to love was there waiting for her...?

Reviews

'I laughed out loud...well written and witty.' Novelicious


About the Author

Kerry Fisher

Kerry Fisher was brought up in Peterborough. She now lives in Surrey with a very tolerant husband and two children. She studied at Bath University and speaks fluent Italian, Spanish and French. She also trained as a journalist at City University, then went on to write travel guidebooks for Thomas Cook. After landing her dream job working on women's magazines, she discovered that she hated writing about real people in case their families got upset. The Writers' Program at the University of California helped her move from fact into fiction - the perfect forum for exploring human emotions without worrying about some poor mother weeping over her son's account of his childhood.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

21st May 2015

Author

Kerry Fisher

More books by Kerry Fisher
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kerryfisherauthor.blogs...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007570256

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

My horizons have been broadened by some of the books I have been lucky to review and I expect it to be no different in the future.

Daran Bellingham

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools