Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Island Escape by Kerry Fisher
  

The Island Escape

Relationship Stories   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

With hidden depths, it’s easy to sink into this delightfully warm and pleasing read. The synopsis suggests there is one tale on offer here, in actual fact we hear the stories of two friends, Octavia and Roberta in alternate chapters. Both women are in their late thirties, even if you haven't felt the same emotions, it’s likely that you will know someone who has, which encourages you to feel an affinity with them. The author doesn't make Octavia and Roberta perfect, sometimes you will tut at decisions they make and at other times urge them on. The authenticity of the writing makes for a beautifully light and engaging read with dark, rich tones… this is a perfect companion to escape from reality with for a few hours. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Kerry Fisher you might also like to read books by Gill Hornby, Fiona Gibson and Sophie King.

Synopsis

The Island Escape by Kerry Fisher

Can one woman's marriage survive her best friend's divorce? Fans of Veronica Henry and Erica James, this is the next book to add to your reading list. It's time to get back to where it all began...Octavia Sheldon thought she'd have a different life. One where she travelled the world with an exotic husband and free-spirited children in tow. But things didn't turn out quite like that. Married to safe, reliable Jonathan, her life now consists of packed lunches, school runs and more loads of dirty washing than she ever thought possible. She's not unhappy. It's just that she can barely recognise herself any longer. So as Octavia watches her best friend's marriage break up, it starts her thinking. What if life could be different? What if she could escape and get back to the person she used to be? Escape back to the island where she spent her summers? And what if the man she used to love was there waiting for her...?

Reviews

'I laughed out loud...well written and witty.' Novelicious


About the Author

Kerry Fisher

Kerry Fisher was brought up in Peterborough. She now lives in Surrey with a very tolerant husband and two children. She studied at Bath University and speaks fluent Italian, Spanish and French. She also trained as a journalist at City University, then went on to write travel guidebooks for Thomas Cook. After landing her dream job working on women's magazines, she discovered that she hated writing about real people in case their families got upset. The Writers' Program at the University of California helped her move from fact into fiction - the perfect forum for exploring human emotions without worrying about some poor mother weeping over her son's account of his childhood.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

21st May 2015

Author

Kerry Fisher

More books by Kerry Fisher
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.kerryfisherauthor.blogs...

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

AVON, a division of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007570256

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools