Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

tudor queens series book price comparison
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

Reader Reviewed
Watch the Lady by Elizabeth Fremantle
  

Watch the Lady

Historical Fiction   Family Drama   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

Elizabeth Fremantle has delivered another fabulously engrossing read, her ability to bring some of the most fascinating women from the 16th century to the forefront of historical fiction is truly impressive. History declares that Penelope Devereux was much more than just a pretty face, the period covered starts in 1581, when Penelope begins to understand how she can influence her life by using her intuition and intellect. Fremantle takes the foundation of historical information and builds a fictional tower of intrigue, wit and strength; most importantly of all she breathes vibrant life into the corridors of power. Even though it feels as though meticulous research has been carried out, this doesn't feel like a history lesson; instead find yourself transported into a story that is beguiling, absorbing and wonderfully readable. ~ Liz Robinson

If you like Elizabeth Fremantle you might also like to read books by DarceyBonnette, Philippa Gregory and Emily Purdy.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Lorraine Blencoe - 'What a holiday read with a difference. 'Wolf Hall' set the bar as regards fiction for the Reign of Henry VIII, but  this is entirely from a different angle. Really enjoyed it. Look forward to more from this author.'
  • Melanie Kane - 'this has made for an extremely interesting read and has moved me to delve further into the history of The Virgin Queen and her Court. Superbly written and a joy to read.'
  • Anne Rhodes - 'Read – and follow her through every stage; the happiness, the love, the danger, the fear, above all the excitement, the challenge as she meets each new problem head on.'
  • Sarah Jones - 'A gripping novel with fascinating insight into the life of the Elizabethan court and the life of one of its celebrated beauties.'
  • Alan Brown - 'Enthralling...The strength of the book stems from the story's closeness to the truth...Fiction and fact merge.'
  • Celia Cohen - 'It is an excellently written book and I'm sure if I had read this at school I would actually have enjoyed history!'
  • Sarah Warbey - 'An enjoyable historical thriller set in the court of Elizabeth I: a hotbed of adultery, treason and spies.'
  • Jane Brown  - The author packs a punch with good well researched historical novels, the plot is good and can be complex in the use of many characters...I thoroughly recommend this novel.'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'This book had everything: exciting plot, striking characters and an incredibly realistic setting. I loved it.'
  • Sandra Rabiasz - 'Slow burning and atmospheric...Really enjoyable read and made me google Penelope!'
  • Debbie Patrick - 'Well written & well worth reading. I will be reading more of Elizabeth Freemantle's books in future.Would recommend.'
  • Janice Maxwell - 'What a wonderful period read.  I loved everything about Queen Elizabeth's court - the intrigue, the duplicitousness, the drama, the back stabbing, the romance.  I thoroughly enjoyed every page.'
  • Kathy Howell - 'The book is well written and keeps moving at a good pace so it is hard to put down! I am pleased to recommend it.'
  • Cathy Petersen - 'Terrifically good read with a truly captivating and unconventional heroine at its heart.'
  • Joy Bosworth - 'A compassionate family leader of a deadly plotter depending upon which side you saw Penelope Devereux from...The book is gripping and, with so much intrigue, surprisingly easy to follow.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.'
  • Tania Pascaru - 'Political intrigue, treason, love, family...slow paced but enjoyable.'

Win a SIGNED copy of The Wanderers and The Horseman!

To mark the release of second book in The West Country Trilogy by Tim Pears, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of both The Horseman and The Wanderers to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 12 February 2018. The winners will be notified by 19 February 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 12/02/2018

Synopsis

Watch the Lady by Elizabeth Fremantle

The Queen's GodDaughter. Her Most Trusted Maid. Adultress. Enemy of The State. Who is The Real Penelope Devereux? Penelope Devereux is a legendary beauty in the court of Elizabeth I, with a smile that would light up the shadows of hell. But it's not just her looks which have won her favour with the Queen wing; her canny instinct for being in the right place at the right time, and her skilled political manoeuvrings under the guise of diplomacy, have rendered her a formidable adversary to anyone who stands in her path. Including Elizabeth. For Penelope must secure the future of the Devereux dynasty at whatever cost. Even treason. And the Queen, a woman she holds responsible for the death of her father, the exile of her mother and her failure to marry the one man she ever truly loved, is just one more pawn in a deadly game. Walking the knife-edge of court, whilst ensuring that her reckless brother Essex remains the only star in the Queen's firmament - and out of the Tower - Penelope must plan for the inevitable succession of an ailing monarch. But her secret letters of friendship to a foreign King - one who has a strong claim to the English throne - could see her illustrious family in the gutter and her own head on the block. It would only take a single mistake, a slip of the tongue, an intercepted message for Penelope to become the architect of her downfall. In a world where sister is turned against brother, husband against wife, courtier against queen, the rules of the game are forever changing. Discover the truth in Elizabeth Fremantle's stunning new novel about an extraordinary woman who helped change the course of England's history forever. This sumptuous historical drama is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel and Jessie Burton. Praise for Elizabeth Fremantle: An endlessly fascinating era, and Fremantle manages to combine pacey storytelling with superb background...it's terrifically entertaining. (Sunday Times). Rich and Enticing. (Stylist). Gripping. (Woman and Home). Elizabeth Fremantle is the author of Queen's Gambit and Sisters of Treason. She holds a first in English and an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck. As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications including Vogue, Elle, and Vanity Fair.

Reviews

'Fremantle is surely a major new voice in historical fiction (...) what Hilary Mantel fans should read while waiting for the final part of her trilogy' The Bookseller

'An endlessly fascinating era, and Fremantle manages to combine pacey storytelling with superb background... it's terrifically entertaining.' The Times

About the Author

Elizabeth Fremantle

Elizabeth Fremantle is the author of Queen's Gambit, Sisters of Treason and Watch the Lady. She holds a first in English and an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck. As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications including Vogue, Elle, and Vanity Fair.

Author Photo © Phyllis Christopheri

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

18th June 2015

Author

Elizabeth Fremantle

More books by Elizabeth Fremantle
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.elizabethfremantle.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Michael Joseph Ltd an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Historical Fiction
Family Drama
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9780718177102

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools