twitter debuts of the month
Search our site
Moonlight Over Manhattan by Sarah Morgan Read the opening extract of the brand new Sarah Morgan book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Wars of the Roses: Trinity by Conn Iggulden
  

Wars of the Roses: Trinity

Part of the The Wars of the Roses Series
Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   eBook Favourites   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

The second instalment following Stormbird. It is 1454, Henry VI is ill. Richard of York is Regent in conflict with Queen Margaret who is determined her infant son Edward will succeed Henry. So the treachery, campaigns and manipulation begin with infighting between the Dukes of Warwick and Salisbury and the Percy family. It is a very complicated period beautifully explained and related to us, mostly through the Queen’s spy-master John Derry. For now Henry hangs on to the throne. It’s a vivid story of the life and times, its glamour and squalor interspersed with little known incidents to expand on the greater story.

If you like Conn Iggulden you might also like to read books by Robyn Young, Sharon Penman and James Forrester.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. Iggulden’s second in a trilogy of books set in the period of the Wars of the Roses once again mixes relentless action with imaginative fiction and known fact. His characters are more fleshed out from the previous novel, his humour more dry, but his attention to detail as precise as ever. Several of his battle descriptions are especially graphic, which some readers may find too gruesome, and his identification with the Yorkist cause could also grate with Lancastrians. However, Iggulden writes with economy, never wasting a word but continually coming up with phrases that focus the mind wonderfully on a bloody period of history.
~ Carl Hughes

Reader Reviews

In addition, some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Richard Hamlin - 'an absorbing depiction of a key period of English history, turned into a fascinating story that gives the reader a real feel for the brutality of battlefield and the harshness of the politics of the day.  Let the battle commence...' Read full review>
  • Tracey Poulter - 'This is a complex period of history brought to life and I am eager to follow the characters into the final book to learn how they deal with the twists and turns to come.' Read full review>
  • Jan Kirkcaldy - 'I used to enjoy history at school despite the often dull and unreal information we were given.  A book like this would have fired my interest far more without a doubt...Definitely enlightening and well worth reading.' Read full review>
  • Alan Brown - 'A brilliant book on the relationships between the noble families that were responsible for the Wars of The Roses. No stuffiness in the book at all. A joy.' Read full review>
  • Sarah Musk - 'A colourful, exciting second book in The Wars of the Roses series.  The battles are spectacular, the Lords are brutal and bloodthirsty and the poor, weak King is caught in the middle of them all.' Read full review>
  • Alan Gee - 'I have only recently read Iggulden’s previous Wars of the Roses story, Stormbird, which was excellent, so I had no doubt that the sequel would be equally good, or even better.  And it is.' Read full review>
  • Jane Nicol - 'My sympathies changed from York to Lancaster and back again as this gripping tale unfolded... I highly recommend this book.' Read full review>
  • Anne Rhodes - 'Fast moving story of the struggles between the Henry VI and Richard, Duke of York – the defeats and triumphs of each side. Choose your side, and read on!' Read full review>
  • Marion McCaffery - 'Conn breathes life and pace with a flair for historical times.' Read full review>
  • Sarah Jones - 'The battle scenes were long and very detailed which isn't to my taste and I did find it dragging a bit. Whilst it was well written I think it just wasn't for me.' Read full review>
  • Angela Rhodes - 'Wow!! I was blown away with Stormbird, the first in the War of The Roses series, and devoured the sequel Trinity!! Once again, Conn, has created a master piece of historical fiction.' Read full review>
  • Carole Tuckett - 'Another brilliant book by Conn Iggulden. I just wish my school history books could have been this interesting.'   Read full review>
  • Vanessa Wild - 'An evocative, dramatic and interesting read which I would recommend to historical fiction fans who enjoy a story not only laden with conflict but also full of excitement and adventure.' Read full review>
  • Ruth - 'The book fascinated me, furthering my interest in the era...I will be reading more in future, and look forward to the final part of the trilogy.' Read full review>
  • Sarah Harper - 'Crammed full of rip roaring battles, intrigue, deception and drama, ‘Trinity’ is an epic tale which rips along at a cracking pace. Thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommended.' Read full review>
    Jillian McFrederick
    - 'The life and colour that is portrayed displays a rare skill of storytelling genius...I thoroughly enjoyed this and am looking forward to the next instalment.' Read full review>
  • Rebecca Cockeram - '...it's well written in a style I like but I just couldn't get into it and struggled to get through it. If you enjoyed the first book I'm sure you'll love this. ' Read full review>
  • Magda North - 'I'd not heard of Conn Iggulden until I got a review copy of the first War of the Roses book which I really enjoyed. Very pleased to get this second instalment. It doesn't disappoint.' Read full review>
  • Magdalena Vidgen - 'Great read for all fans of historical fiction...4* from me.' Read full review>
  • Les Warriner - 'Conn Iggulden has excelled himself.  I find this no mean feat given the strength of it's predecessor – ‘Storm Bird’.  I simply could not put this book down.' Read full review>

Synopsis

Wars of the Roses: Trinity by Conn Iggulden

The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Trinity, the second gripping novel in the new series from historical fiction master, Conn Iggulden. 1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness for over a year, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank. His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day know the love of his father. Richard Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colours in the name of Henry and his Queen. But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil. The clash of the Houses of Lancaster and York will surely mean a war to tear England apart...Following on from Stormbird, Trinity is the second epic instalment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden's new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word go. Praise for Stormbird: Pacey and juicy, and packed with action. (Sunday Times). Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience. (Independent). A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period. (Daily Express). A page-turning thriller. (Mail on Sunday). Superbly plotted and paced. (The Times). Conn Iggulden is one of the most successful authors of historical fiction writing today. Following on from Stormbird, the Sunday Times best-seller, Trinity is the second book in his superb new series set during the Wars of the Roses, a remarkable period of British history. His previous two series, on Julius Caesar and on the Mongol Khans of Central Asia, describe the founding of the greatest empires of their day and were number one bestsellers. Conn Iggulden lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and children.

Reviews

Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction Daily Mirror Superbly plotted and paced The Times Conn breathes new life into the darkest and most dramatic of times, with a flair for both the huge scale and human interest of it all Star Exceptionally well-written and gripping Stylist Compelling reading Woman and Home A page-turning thriller Mail on Sunday Pacey and juicy, and packed with action Sunday Times


About the Author

Conn Iggulden

Conn Iggulden is one of the most successful authors of historical fiction writing today; with UK sales topping almost 3 million, Conn has joined the likes of Bernard Cornwell and Ken Follett on the A-list of historical novelists. Conn’s previous two series, on Julius Caesar and on the Mongol Khans of Central Asia, describe the founding of the greatest empires of their day and were number one bestsellers. An ex-school teacher and adventurer, Conn was the first author to ever achieve a simultaneous no 1 across and fiction and non-fiction charts with Dangerous Book for Boys. Over 7 million copies of his books have now sold globally. Conn lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and four children.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th April 2015

Author

Conn Iggulden

More books by Conn Iggulden
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.conniggulden.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Format

Paperback
576 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780718196394

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools