LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Secret Countess

by Eva Ibbotson

Children's & YA Fiction Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of The Secret Countess

This is a beguiling story of a young Russian countess who loses everything in her homeland but finds sanctuary in England as a house maid in an aristocratic household. The trappings of her childhood of privilege are a distant memory but then she falls in love (forbidden of course for she is a servant girl) with the young Earl of the family who is already spoken for, Anna must decide whether to risk losing everything or reveal her true identity in the hope of ensnaring the love of her life. As with all Eva's novels, the writing and characterisation is sublime.

LoveReading

The Secret Countess Synopsis

'A fairy tale for grown-ups. It's unapologetically romantic but it's also extremely funny, wry, dry and witty - and hugely uplifting.' Marian Keyes, Daily Mail As WWI draws to a close, a love affair that stretches across countries, families and class begins, in master storyteller Eva Ibbotson's classic historical romance The Secret Countess, with an introduction from Amanda Craig. Anna Grazinsky, a young Russian countess, has lived in the glittering city of St Petersburg all her life in an ice-blue palace overlooking the River Neva. But when revolution tears Russia apart, her now-penniless family is forced to flee to England. Armed with an out-of-date book on housekeeping, Anna determines to help her family in any way possible, and she is soon hired as a housemaid at the Earl of Westerholme's crumbling but magnificent mansion. Then Rupert, the young Earl, returns home from the war and is fascinated by his new housemaid, and the more time they spend together the more they feel inexplicably drawn together. But they can never be together; Rupert is already engaged and Anna is only a servant . . . 'I have binged on Eva Ibbotson . . . her elegantly written, witty and well-observed fables' - Nigella Lawson, The Times Rediscover Eva Ibbotson, award-winning author of Journey to the River Sea, in her sweeping historical romances, including The Morning Gift, A Song For Summer and The Secret Countess, originally published as A Countess Below Stairs.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781529012262
Publication date: 25th July 2019
Author: Eva Ibbotson
Publisher: Macmillan an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Primary Genre Children's & YA Fiction
Recommendations:

Like For Like Featured Books

Tollins: Explosive Tales for Children
Ketchup Clouds
Out of Shadows
Indigo Donut

The Secret Countess Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Charnell Vevers - 'This is yet another Eva Ibbotson novel that showcases how effortlessly she writes historical romance.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'When I first saw the new edition of this book I fell in love with the pretty cover instantly and as I began reading it, it just got better!'
  • Catherine Bryce - 'A truly well written romantic love story with a surprising twist.'
  • Hannah Ward - 'This story is set in 1919, and concentrates on Anna's story who I absolutely loved, she is a real gem and such a lovely human being...A truly magical tale.'
  • Kush Melwani - 'An enchanting tale perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Cinderella!...I found myself reading it out loud just to further appreciate the words.'

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781529012262
Publication date: 25/07/2019
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781447280101
Publication date: 26/03/2015
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780230735866
Publication date: 06/02/2009
Format: CD-Audio

View All Editions

About Eva Ibbotson

Born in Vienna, Eva came to England as a small girl and now lives in Newcastle upon Tyne. When her husband was alive he bred snails in the garage; they also kept fish and had a small and very hairy dog. Eva has four grown-up children and seven grandchildren. Eva Ibbotson writes for both adults and children. Which Witch was runner-up for the Carnegie Medal and The Secret of Platform 13 was shortlisted for the Smarties Prize. Journey to the River Sea won the Smarties Book Prize Gold Award, was runner-up for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year and the ...

More About Eva Ibbotson

More Books By Eva Ibbotson

The Secret Countess
The Secret Countess
The Secret Countess
View All Books By Eva Ibbotson

Share this book