Tell us a story

LoveReading is thrilled to announce the launch of The Very Short Story Award 2019! If you think you have a story we'll love, click here to find out more and how to enter:

Find out more

The Secret Countess

by Eva Ibbotson

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on The Secret Countess

This is a beguiling story of a young Russian countess who loses everything in her homeland but finds sanctuary in England as a house maid in an aristocratic household. The trappings of her childhood of privilege are a distant memory but then she falls in love (forbidden of course for she is a servant girl) with the young Earl of the family who is already spoken for, Anna must decide whether to risk losing everything or reveal her true identity in the hope of ensnaring the love of her life. As with all Eva's novels, the writing and characterisation is sublime.

The Secret Countess Synopsis

Anna, a young countess, has lived in the glittering city of St Petersburg all her life in an ice-blue palace overlooking the River Neva. But when revolution tears Russia apart, her now-penniless family is forced to flee to England. Armed with an out-of-date book on housekeeping, Anna determines to become a housemaid and she finds work at the Earl of Westerholme's crumbling but magnificent mansion. The staff and the family are sure there is something not quite right about their new maid - but she soon wins them over with her warmth and dedication. Then the young Earl returns home from the war - and Anna falls hopelessly in love. But they can never be together: Rupert is engaged to the snobbish and awful Muriel - and anyway, Anna is only a servant. Or so everybody thinks ...

The Secret Countess Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Charnell Vevers - 'This is yet another Eva Ibbotson novel that showcases how effortlessly she writes historical romance.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'When I first saw the new edition of this book I fell in love with the pretty cover instantly and as I began reading it, it just got better!'
  • Catherine Bryce - 'A truly well written romantic love story with a surprising twist.'
  • Hannah Ward - 'This story is set in 1919, and concentrates on Anna's story who I absolutely loved, she is a real gem and such a lovely human being...A truly magical tale.'
  • Kush Melwani - 'An enchanting tale perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Cinderella!...I found myself reading it out loud just to further appreciate the words.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Last Summer of Us
The Belles
City of Ghosts
KILLER T

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447280101
Publication date: 26/03/2015
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447280101
Publication date: 26th March 2015
Author: Eva Ibbotson
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, Reader Reviewed Books, eBook Favourites,
Categories: General fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Eva Ibbotson

Born in Vienna, Eva came to England as a small girl and now lives in Newcastle upon Tyne. When her husband was alive he bred snails in the garage; they also kept fish and had a small and very hairy dog. Eva has four grown-up children and seven grandchildren. Eva Ibbotson writes for both adults and children. Which Witch was runner-up for the Carnegie Medal and The Secret of Platform 13 was shortlisted for the Smarties Prize. Journey to the River Sea won the Smarties Book Prize Gold Award, was runner-up for the Whitbread Children's Book of the Year and the ...

More About Eva Ibbotson

More Books By Eva Ibbotson

Cover for Magic Flutes by Eva Ibbotson
Cover for A Song for Summer by Eva Ibbotson
Cover for A Company of Swans by Eva Ibbotson
View All Books By Eva Ibbotson

Share this book