Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

books of the month twitter
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Reader Reviewed
Hidden by Emma Kavanagh
  

Lovereading view...

Full of suspense with any number of red herrings, this is cracking stuff by a former police psychologist. Narrated from four points of view, it concerns a major shooting incident in a Welsh hospital. Not only does it jump viewpoints, but it jumps time-lines too, running back a year but mostly concentrating on the six days before the incident. Exploring the history of the main players and their actions, sometimes inactions, they slowly fit together like a jigsaw but you need to keep your wits about you to complete the picture at the shocking finale and the surprising identity of the shooter. It is perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

Below is a letter from the author...

Dear Reader,
It is extraordinary and incredibly exciting that you are holding my second novel, Hidden. For ten years, I trained the police forces and military units on the psychology of life-threatening incidents, and writing novels seemed so very far away from this moment.

As a 23-year-old woman in a very male-dominated world, my job was to stand in front of the toughest people you will ever meet and teach how psychology would aid their jobs; to help officers to register what they were seeing as they faced enormous danger, to interpret their own thoughts and responses in a way that made sense to them. But it was also about teaching them to appreciate how the world looked to the perpetrator. Because if you can understand the way another person is seeing the world, then you have a shot at predicting what they will do next. - Click here to read the full letter.

If you like Emma Kavanagh you might also like to read books by Tana French, S. J. Watson and Nicci French.


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. A local hospital is under threat from an unidentified and dangerous gunman. Tasked with tracking down a potential murderer, Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is keen to succeed, particularly since Aden is still suffering from the effects of the shooting of a schoolboy, which has occasioned some guilt. Imogen, a psychologist, is hoping that after having recently been admitted to the hospital, that it will be a place of healing for her. But she considers that the gunmen has nothing to do with her…she is wrong. Emma Kavanagh proves to be extremely adept at handling this tense narrative, paying out the variety of climaxes at appropriate intervals.
~ Barry Forshaw

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Alison Bisping - 'A brilliant psychological thriller.'
  • Glenda Worth - 'A startling opening to a novel, grips you from the beginning. Every chapter is about a particular day either before or after the shooting spree.'
  • Sheila Dale - 'Amazing unputdownable book - loved it!'
  • Rachel Aygin - 'the entire novel is a puzzle, with the big reveal not happening until the last few pages - I never saw it coming!'
  • Debbie Wood - 'Interesting thriller which kept me guessing til the end. Even though I thought I knew 'who did it' - I was proved wrong!'
  • Edel Waugh - '. If you like a thrilling story with a good build up then get this as soon as it comes out.'
  • Clare Turner - 'Ms Kavanagh certainly has the gift of telling a good story, and I became involved with the characters and swept along by the narrative.'
  • Jane Brown - 'a fast paced, good psychological thriller. The author is up there with Nicci French and other great crime authors.'
  • Evelyn Barrett - 'Hidden is so polished and well-structured that it’s hard to believe that it is only Emma Kavanagh’s second book. There’ll surely be much more to enjoy from this accomplished author.'

Synopsis

Hidden by Emma Kavanagh

HE'S WATCHING - A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He's unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently. Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman - before it's too late.

SHE'S WAITING - To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety - both for her, and her young niece who's been recently admitted. She's heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he? As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman's next target will be. But he's there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks ...As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman's next target will be. But he's there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks...


Browse inside this book

About the Author

Emma Kavanagh

Emma Kavanagh was born and raised in South Wales. After graduating with a PhD in Psychology from Cardiff University, she spent many years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff and military personnel throughout the UK and Europe. Now she is lucky enough to be able to write for a living. She lives in South Wales with her husband and young son.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

23rd April 2015

Author

Emma Kavanagh

More books by Emma Kavanagh
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Century an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Hardback

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781780892047

They are bright, breezy and eager to offer a great book, then genuinely listen/respect the review one writes.

Maggie Crane

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools