I Am Legend

by Richard Matheson

Part of the S.F. Masterworks Series

Dystopian Fiction Science Fiction eBooks of the Month

LoveReading Expert Review of I Am Legend

I Am Legend was one of the first, and certainly the most brilliant, fusions of horror and science fiction. Its powerful and disturbing reworking of the vampire myth has made it a classic and enduring novel that has had a profound impact on generations of writers.


I Am Legend Synopsis

An SF novel about vampires . . .


Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth . . . but he is not alone. Every other man, woman and child on the planet has become a vampire, and they are hungry for Neville's blood.


By day he is the hunter, stalking the undead through the ruins of civilisation. By night, he barricades himself in his home and prays for the dawn.

How long can one man survive like this?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780575094161
Publication date: 29th March 2010
Author: Richard Matheson
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback (b Format)
Pagination: 176 pages
Primary Genre Science Fiction
Other Genres:

What To Read After I Am Legend

The End of Men
The Running Man
The Chrysalids
The Death of Grass

Richard Matheson Press Reviews

'The most clever and riveting vampire novel since Dracula' Dean Koontz

'An inspiration to me' Stephen King

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780575094161
Publication date: 29/03/2010
Format: Paperback (b Format)

ISBN: 9780575081987
Publication date: 13/12/2007
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781481550956
Publication date: 01/01/2006
Format: Ebook

View All Editions

About Richard Matheson

Richard Matheson (1926-2013). He began publishing SF with his short story Born of Man and Woman which appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction in 1950. I Am Legend  was published in 1954 and subsequently filmed as The Omega Man starring Charlton Heston. Matheson wrote the script for the film The Incredible Shrinking Man, an adaptation of his second SF novel The Shrinking Man (published in 1956). The film won a Hugo award in 1958. He wrote many screenplays (e.g. The Fall of the House of Usher) as well as episodes of The Twilight Zone. He continued to write short ...

More About Richard Matheson

More Books By Richard Matheson

I Am Legend
I Am Legend
I Am Legend
View All Books By Richard Matheson

Share this book