join us on facebook
Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Reader Reviewed
Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson

Orkney Twilight

Part of the Sam Coyle Trilogy Series
Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

April 2015 Debut of the Month.

Our narrator is Sam, an eighteen-year old girl just accepted at Oxford, who goes with her father and a fellow school chum, Tom, to the Orkneys to ‘keep an eye’ on her dad for her mother is unable to go. We get odd little gems from Sam’s childhood as she grows up with a father who may be an undercover cop, a detective or even a spy. Whatever he is Sam has always known his work is secret. Now, with Tom, she turns detective herself and with the magic, history and myth of the Orkneys the backdrop, stalks her father becoming more and more worried. The menacing tension ratchets up and we follow trails and red-herrings with our heart in our mouth. A most enjoyable read.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. This debut crime novel explores the ambiguous world of undercover police work. Sam, the rebellious daughter of undercover policeman, Jim, is about to go to university. When the opportunity arises for her to return, with her father, to the scene of childhood holidays in Orkney she decides to go and find out more about his secretive world. Once there, she is determined to discover why he goes off on endless errands, what the meaning of his interest in Norse mythology implies and who he is meeting in secret. However, Sam’s inquisitiveness is drawing her into a dangerous world and she begins to suspect that she is being watched. Who can she trust? Moving between south London and Orkney, this compelling plot keeps the reader engaged not only as a chilling thriller but also as an exploration of father/daughter relationships and the impact of working life on family life.
~ Alison Smith

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lisa Redmond - 'Full of references to Norse mythology and the gorgeous twilight of an Orkney summer, perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Ann Cleves and Peter May.' Read full review >
  • Cathy Burman - 'the ending was very fast paced and unpredictable and I think that this book will appeal to readers who enjoy thrillers and mysteries.' Read full review >
  • Edel Waugh - 'I recommend this to everyone who likes a thrilling good spy story that will keep you guessing. You will love this!' Read full review >
  • Malcolm Heyhoe - 'with plenty of twists and turns and in the end Orkney Twilight is a satisfying slow-burner rather than a page-turning thriller.' Read full review >
  • Ray Orgill - 'It is a fascinating but believable book filled with dark happenings, none of which tell the truth about what is happening.' Read full review >
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'I enjoyed this book, read it in two days! You can tell by that it captured my imagination.' Read full review >
  • Debbie Patrick - 'I have no idea what is missing in the book but it just didn’t keep me as interested as I thought it should.' Read full review >
  • Jane Brown - 'This was a real page turner, scary and haunting; it keeps you guessing and the reader just has to read this book to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Joanne Baird - 'Intriguing story when a hidden past comes to was a well written book and I never felt it was one I couldn't finish.' Read full review >
  • Joy Bosworth - 'It's different.  Very slow except when at breakneck speed.' Read full review >
  • Joan Hill - 'Enigmatic, haunting and shadowy thriller set against the long summer twilight of beautiful Orkney. A must read for lovers of this genre.' Read full review >
  • Alan Brown - 'How can an author combine a teenage daughter, Orkney, different time frames, Norse mythology, teenage angst and a spy thriller. Read the book to see how brilliantly it can be done.' Read full review >
  • Ann Peet - 'Original stylish thriller...With the occasional interweaving of myths and folk tales from Orkney it makes a haunting and original story.' Read full review >
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'A real page turner but looking back, I am not sure what age of reader it was trying to attract.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Hamid - 'An atmospheric, and sometimes dark, thriller that draws you in towards its gripping climax... Overall, an exciting read though rather emotionally unengaging.' Read full review >
  • Ann - 'This is an intriguing story with believable characters in a world of secrets. Descriptions of the island, the London streets and an underground passageway in the capital are superb.' Read full review >
  • Sharon Matthews - 'An interesting idea set in an interesting place that didn't quite live up to the promise...However, I did like the author style and her characters and the book ending was satisfying so I would read other books by Clare Carson.' Read full review >
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, super scary thriller. Brilliant book, wanted to read right to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'The first three quarters were not as gripping as I’d hoped...However, the last quarter of the book once Sam, Tom and Jim had returned to London was a proper page-turner of a thriller.'  Read full review >
  • Ruth Carson - 'It was a well written book but disappointing as a thriller.' Read full review >

Win Books from the Manon Bradshaw Thriller Series!

Persons Unknown, the second book in Susie Steiner's crime thriller series, is now out in paperback and to mark the publication we are giving away paperback copies of both Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winners will be notified by 14 May 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018


Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson

Jim says he's an undercover policeman. His daughter Sam thinks he's a liar. On holiday in Orkney, beneath an endless midsummer sky, Sam spies on Jim as he runs secretive errands across the island. What did he take from the old watchtower on the edge of a cliff? Why is he so interested in Norse mythology? And why does Sam have the eerie feeling that she too is being watched? When Sam finally discovers the truth, it will draw her into a dangerous world of darkness and deception...An original and haunting thriller about fathers, daughters and the ghosts of the past.


'A bold and compelling first novel ... an interesting, explosive and successful mix'
Crime Review

. 'I was utterly entranced from start to finish, not only by the strength of the characterisation, but by the lyrical prose, underscored by the allusions to Norse myth and Scottish folklore and the beautiful realisation of location throughout ... Outstanding
Raven Crime Reads

. 'I was utterly entranced from start to finish, not only by the strength of the characterisation, but by the lyrical prose, underscored by the allusions to Norse myth and Scottish folklore and the beautiful realisation of location throughout ... Outstanding
Raven Crime Reads

. 'The author's writing style is unique and very good, I quickly became absorbed into this well planned and executed plot ... A brilliant debut thriller by an author who is definitely one to be watched

. 'An unusual book with an unusual heroine. Clare Carson has a rare insight into the world of the undercover cop as her father was one ... The pace is fast and the style reflects the character of Sam: slick and funny in places ... Very enjoyable

. 'A very well-written first novel ... an original and absorbing read
Literary Review

. 'Pulls you in from the start and doesn't let you go until the very last page. I found myself being swept away by the mystery and the excitement of the thriller twists ... I highly recommend it if you're up for an utterly thrilling read
Delightful Book Reviews

. 'Part spy thriller, part detective novel, part family drama and part coming of age story Orkney Twilight is a beautifully written evocative novel ... Full of references to Norse mythology and the gorgeous twilight of an Orkney summer

. 'An original, haunting thriller ... the author cleverly weaves the political struggles of 1980s Britain with the beauty of Orkney. The novel is a clever take on crime fiction and I'm looking forward to more from Clare Carson
The Press

& Journal (Aberdeen). 'First time author Clare Carson delivers a meaty, beautifully written and original thriller set in Thatcher's 1970s Britain featuring an engaging central character
Irish Independent

. 'Clare can definitely write; her lyrical descriptions of Orkney once the characters arrive are really evocative of the island's haunting beauty


About the Author

Clare Carson

Clare Carson is an anthropologist and works in international development, specialising in human rights. Her father was an undercover policeman in 1970s London.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th April 2015


Clare Carson

More books by Clare Carson
Author 'Like for Like'


Head of Zeus


352 pages


Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense



It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters