rebus 30th anniversary debuts of the month
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson
  

Orkney Twilight

Part of the Sam Coyle Trilogy Series
Thriller / Suspense   Crime / Mystery   Debuts of the Month   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £14.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

April 2015 Debut of the Month.

Our narrator is Sam, an eighteen-year old girl just accepted at Oxford, who goes with her father and a fellow school chum, Tom, to the Orkneys to ‘keep an eye’ on her dad for her mother is unable to go. We get odd little gems from Sam’s childhood as she grows up with a father who may be an undercover cop, a detective or even a spy. Whatever he is Sam has always known his work is secret. Now, with Tom, she turns detective herself and with the magic, history and myth of the Orkneys the backdrop, stalks her father becoming more and more worried. The menacing tension ratchets up and we follow trails and red-herrings with our heart in our mouth. A most enjoyable read.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. This debut crime novel explores the ambiguous world of undercover police work. Sam, the rebellious daughter of undercover policeman, Jim, is about to go to university. When the opportunity arises for her to return, with her father, to the scene of childhood holidays in Orkney she decides to go and find out more about his secretive world. Once there, she is determined to discover why he goes off on endless errands, what the meaning of his interest in Norse mythology implies and who he is meeting in secret. However, Sam’s inquisitiveness is drawing her into a dangerous world and she begins to suspect that she is being watched. Who can she trust? Moving between south London and Orkney, this compelling plot keeps the reader engaged not only as a chilling thriller but also as an exploration of father/daughter relationships and the impact of working life on family life.
~ Alison Smith

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lisa Redmond - 'Full of references to Norse mythology and the gorgeous twilight of an Orkney summer, perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Ann Cleves and Peter May.' Read full review >
  • Cathy Burman - 'the ending was very fast paced and unpredictable and I think that this book will appeal to readers who enjoy thrillers and mysteries.' Read full review >
  • Edel Waugh - 'I recommend this to everyone who likes a thrilling good spy story that will keep you guessing. You will love this!' Read full review >
  • Malcolm Heyhoe - 'with plenty of twists and turns and in the end Orkney Twilight is a satisfying slow-burner rather than a page-turning thriller.' Read full review >
  • Ray Orgill - 'It is a fascinating but believable book filled with dark happenings, none of which tell the truth about what is happening.' Read full review >
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'I enjoyed this book, read it in two days! You can tell by that it captured my imagination.' Read full review >
  • Debbie Patrick - 'I have no idea what is missing in the book but it just didn’t keep me as interested as I thought it should.' Read full review >
  • Jane Brown - 'This was a real page turner, scary and haunting; it keeps you guessing and the reader just has to read this book to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Joanne Baird - 'Intriguing story when a hidden past comes to light...it was a well written book and I never felt it was one I couldn't finish.' Read full review >
  • Joy Bosworth - 'It's different.  Very slow except when at breakneck speed.' Read full review >
  • Joan Hill - 'Enigmatic, haunting and shadowy thriller set against the long summer twilight of beautiful Orkney. A must read for lovers of this genre.' Read full review >
  • Alan Brown - 'How can an author combine a teenage daughter, Orkney, different time frames, Norse mythology, teenage angst and a spy thriller. Read the book to see how brilliantly it can be done.' Read full review >
  • Ann Peet - 'Original stylish thriller...With the occasional interweaving of myths and folk tales from Orkney it makes a haunting and original story.' Read full review >
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'A real page turner but looking back, I am not sure what age of reader it was trying to attract.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Hamid - 'An atmospheric, and sometimes dark, thriller that draws you in towards its gripping climax... Overall, an exciting read though rather emotionally unengaging.' Read full review >
  • Ann - 'This is an intriguing story with believable characters in a world of secrets. Descriptions of the island, the London streets and an underground passageway in the capital are superb.' Read full review >
  • Sharon Matthews - 'An interesting idea set in an interesting place that didn't quite live up to the promise...However, I did like the author style and her characters and the book ending was satisfying so I would read other books by Clare Carson.' Read full review >
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, super scary thriller. Brilliant book, wanted to read right to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'The first three quarters were not as gripping as I’d hoped...However, the last quarter of the book once Sam, Tom and Jim had returned to London was a proper page-turner of a thriller.'  Read full review >
  • Ruth Carson - 'It was a well written book but disappointing as a thriller.' Read full review >

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson

Jim says he's an undercover policeman. His daughter Sam thinks he's a liar. On holiday in Orkney, beneath an endless midsummer sky, Sam spies on Jim as he runs secretive errands across the island. What did he take from the old watchtower on the edge of a cliff? Why is he so interested in Norse mythology? And why does Sam have the eerie feeling that she too is being watched? When Sam finally discovers the truth, it will draw her into a dangerous world of darkness and deception...An original and haunting thriller about fathers, daughters and the ghosts of the past.

Reviews

'A bold and compelling first novel ... an interesting, explosive and successful mix'
Crime Review

. 'I was utterly entranced from start to finish, not only by the strength of the characterisation, but by the lyrical prose, underscored by the allusions to Norse myth and Scottish folklore and the beautiful realisation of location throughout ... Outstanding
Raven Crime Reads

. 'I was utterly entranced from start to finish, not only by the strength of the characterisation, but by the lyrical prose, underscored by the allusions to Norse myth and Scottish folklore and the beautiful realisation of location throughout ... Outstanding
Raven Crime Reads

. 'The author's writing style is unique and very good, I quickly became absorbed into this well planned and executed plot ... A brilliant debut thriller by an author who is definitely one to be watched
Cosmochicklitan

. 'An unusual book with an unusual heroine. Clare Carson has a rare insight into the world of the undercover cop as her father was one ... The pace is fast and the style reflects the character of Sam: slick and funny in places ... Very enjoyable
CrimeSquad

. 'A very well-written first novel ... an original and absorbing read
Literary Review

. 'Pulls you in from the start and doesn't let you go until the very last page. I found myself being swept away by the mystery and the excitement of the thriller twists ... I highly recommend it if you're up for an utterly thrilling read
Delightful Book Reviews

. 'Part spy thriller, part detective novel, part family drama and part coming of age story Orkney Twilight is a beautifully written evocative novel ... Full of references to Norse mythology and the gorgeous twilight of an Orkney summer
LisaReadsBooks

. 'An original, haunting thriller ... the author cleverly weaves the political struggles of 1980s Britain with the beauty of Orkney. The novel is a clever take on crime fiction and I'm looking forward to more from Clare Carson
The Press

& Journal (Aberdeen). 'First time author Clare Carson delivers a meaty, beautifully written and original thriller set in Thatcher's 1970s Britain featuring an engaging central character
Irish Independent

. 'Clare can definitely write; her lyrical descriptions of Orkney once the characters arrive are really evocative of the island's haunting beauty
Bookbag

.


About the Author

Clare Carson

Clare Carson is an anthropologist and works in international development, specialising in human rights. Her father was an undercover policeman in 1970s London.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

9th April 2015

Author

Clare Carson

More books by Clare Carson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Head of Zeus

Format

Hardback
352 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
Debuts of the Month
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Thriller / suspense

ISBN

9781784080945

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools